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V. EMPLOYEE LEAVE TIME 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 
 

A. Overview of State of Texas Employee Leave System 

The employee leave system is considered an “exception-based system of 
timekeeping.” That is, an employee automatically accrues certain types and amounts of 
leave time monthly but is expected to report and account for any exception to the accrual. 
Each employee can view their Leave Balance Summary that reflects the employee’s 
current leave balances. Leave balances are calculated from the number of leave hours an 
employee has submitted in CAPPS. 

 
It is Fifteenth Court policy that every employee must request approval from his or 

her supervisor before being absent from work and submit the requested leave via CAPPS. 
 
When a non-exempt employee does not work 40 hours in a work week, and the 

Court has not been officially closed on a workday, a request for leave must be submitted 
via CAPPS to establish the amount of time excepted from that 40-hour work week. 

A request for leave submitted by the Chief Deputy Clerk, the Court Accountant, a 
Deputy Clerk, or a member of the administrative staff is to be signed by the Clerk of 
Court, or designee. 

Exempt employees also must submit requests for leave for any leave or sick time 
used. A law clerk’s request for leave is to be approved by the assigned Justice or Chief 
Staff Attorney. A staff lawyer’s request for leave is to be approved by the assigned Justice 
or designee. 

 
The Chief Justice approves requests for leave for the Clerk of Court and Chief Staff 

Attorney. 
 
B. Specific Types of State Leave 

1. Annual Leave 
 

Annual leave, or paid vacation time, is accrued monthly determined by length of 
service. Employees with less than two years of service accrue 8 hours of paid vacation 
time per month; employees with more than two years of service accrue nine (9) hours per 
month, up to 21 hours a month for a 35+ year employee. An employee may carry into a 
new fiscal year certain amounts of annual leave time up to an established maximum that, 
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if not used, automatically converts to sick leave. In CAPPS, an employee can run an 
Employee Monthly Time Report that will reflect when an employee is reaching an 
automatic conversion point. Additional information may be found on the website for 
the Employees Retirement System of Texas, www.ers.state.tx.us. 

 
Although annual leave accrues from the first date of employment, vacation with 

pay may not be taken until an employee has been continuously employed for six months. 
An employee who has been continuously employed for six months and who then resigns, 
is dismissed, or otherwise separates from state employment is entitled to be paid for 
accrued and unused vacation time. 

A request for leave must be submitted for approval by the employee’s supervisor 
in advance of the use of accrued vacation time or as soon as is practicable. 

 
2. Sick Leave 

A State employee accrues sick leave at the rate of 8 hours per month from the first 
day of employment. Unused accrued sick leave can be carried forward annually. Sick 
leave is available for an employee’s illness, injury, pregnancy and confinement, and for 
when an employee must care for a member of his or her immediate family who is actually 
ill. 

 
An employee who is absent from work due to an illness must notify the employee’s 

supervisor at the earliest practicable time. To be eligible for accumulated sick leave, with 
pay, for a continuous period of three or more working days, an employee must provide a 
doctor’s certification or an acceptable written statement of facts about the absence for the 
employee’s file. For less than three continuous days of sick leave without a reduction in 
pay, the Chief Justice has the discretion to require a doctor’s certificate or an acceptable 
written statement of facts about the absence. 

 
For medical/dental appointments, an employee should first request approval to be 

absent from work, and then submit a request for leave form for the actual amount of time 
the employee was away from the office. 

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/
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C. Compensatory Time 
 

1. Working More Than 40 Hours a Week 
 

The Fair Labor Standards Act applies to Texas employees. This means that a non- 
exempt employee is entitled to compensation for any hours worked in excess of 40 hours 
in one work week. Compensation may be in the form of either 1.5 hours credited per each 
hour worked in excess of 40 hours of compensatory time or, at the discretion of the 
employing state entity, pay at the rate of 1.5 times the regular pay in effect for the 
employee when the excess time was worked. The Fifteenth Court’s overtime policy only 
allows for the possibility of earning compensatory time off under specific circumstances; 
earning additional pay for overtime is not available. 

A non-exempt employee may only work 8 hours a day, unless the employee’s 
supervisor has approved a prior written request for work time in excess of 8 hours. Such 
written request must provide a detailed explanation of the reason(s) the employee finds it 
necessary to work longer than the usual workday, that is, why the employee has been 
unable to complete the work during the regular hours during the work week. When the 
employee claims compensatory time earned this way, the supervisor’s authorization must 
be provided for inclusion in the employee’s file. 

 
Paid leave or holidays taken during a work week are not counted as hours worked 

in determining FLSA overtime hours. Any compensatory time earned must be used within 
twelve months of the end of the work week in which it was earned, or the employee loses 
the time. The Fifteenth Court also requires an employee to exhaust any FLSA overtime 
hours before using annual leave. 

Compensatory time off for exempt employees is within the discretion of the judge 
to whom the exempt employee reports. 

 
2. Working National or State Holidays 

 
For each fiscal year, the State of Texas publishes a list of three types of holidays: 

national, state, and optional. An employee is entitled to a paid day off from work for each 
national or state holiday that does not fall on a Saturday or Sunday, and if the employee 
is not on unpaid leave. 

 
The Fifteenth Court is officially closed on all national holidays, the Friday after 

Thanksgiving Day, and December 24th and December 26th, when those days fall on a 
weekday. Days designated as state holidays are considered Skeleton Crew Holidays when 
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the Court is open and is required to have enough employees on duty to conduct its official 
business. 

 
An employee who works a Skeleton Crew Holiday is entitled to compensatory time 

off during the 12-month period following the date worked. Employees are required to 
give reasonable advance notice when taking this compensatory time, although the reason 
for the request is not required.  

 
Every year, the State designates some religious holidays such as Rosh Hashanah, 

Yom Kippur, and Good Friday that fall on weekdays as Optional Holidays. An employee 
may substitute an Optional Holiday for a Skeleton Crew Holiday during the same fiscal 
year as the Optional Holiday worked.  

 
In addition, the Chief Justice may allow an employee to observe Cesar Chavez Day 

as a state holiday, instead of another state holiday that falls on a weekday when the agency 
must remain open for business at minimum staffing levels (i.e. a Skeleton Crew Holiday). 

D. Emergency Leave 
 

POLICY GUIDELINES FOR EMERGENCY LEAVE PROGRAM (Tex. Gov’t 
Code §§ 661.252 & 661.902, 661.923) 

 
Program Purpose 

Pursuant to Texas Government Code § 661.252, the Fifteenth Court (Court) is 
providing staff with clear guidelines to establish under what circumstances an employee 
may be entitled to or granted emergency leave provided by Tex. Gov’t Code Chapter 661. 
The Court leave provisions are incorporated herein by reference and the following 
supplement is provided: 

Emergency Leave: The Chief Justice may grant emergency leave for a reason 
other than a reason described under section 661.902(a) of the Government Code, which 
provides emergency leave because of a death in the employee’s family. 

The Chief Justice shall grant emergency leave if 

1) the employee requests the leave; and 
2) the Chief Justice determines the employee has shown good cause for taking 

emergency leave; and 
3) the Chief Justice believes in good faith that the employee being granted the 

leave intends to return to the employee’s position upon expiration of the leave 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.252
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.923
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.252
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
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granted. 

Guidelines for emergency leave are provided below in this policy section. 

Not later than October 1 of each year, the Chief Justice or the Chief Justice’s 
designee shall report to the Comptroller the name and position of each Court employee 
granted more than 32 hours of emergency leave during the previous state fiscal year, 
the reason for the granting of such leave, and the total number of hours of emergency 
leave granted to the employee in the state fiscal year. 

Emergency Leave due to Death in the Family: The Chief Justice may grant 
reasonable time off with pay to a Court employee due to the death of the employee’s 
spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, or grandchild or a child, parent, sibling, 
grandparent, or grandchild of the employee’s spouse. For the purpose of this policy, the 
term sibling includes an employee’s stepbrother or stepsister. The employee, however, is 
not eligible for this leave if the employee is in an unpaid absence status at the time 
emergency leave is to commence. ( Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.902(a)) 

 
Emergency Leave due to Inclement Weather or Observance of a Holiday: The 

Chief Justice may grant emergency leave because the Court is closed due to weather 
conditions or in observance of a holiday. (Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.902(c)) 

Emergency Leave During Agency Investigation: The Chief Justice may grant 
emergency leave to a Court employee who is the subject of an investigation being 
conducted by the Court. The Court employee who is subject to an agency investigation is 
ineligible to receive leave for that reason under any other provision of Subchapter Z, 
Chapter 661 of the Government Code. Not later than the last day of each quarter, the 
Court shall report to the State Auditor and the Legislative Budget Board each Court 
employee who has been granted 168 hours or more of leave under this provision during 
the fiscal quarter. The report must include a brief statement as to the reason each such 
employee remains on leave. (Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.923) 

The Chief Justice of the Court may also grant emergency leave to a Court employee 
who is the victim of, or a witness to, an act or event that is the subject of a Court 
investigation. 

Medical and Mental Health Leave for Certain Veterans: A Court employee 
who is a veteran as defined by section 434.023(a) of the Government Code and is eligible 
to receive health benefits under a program administered by the Veterans Health 
Administration (VHA) of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs may be granted 
emergency leave without loss of vacation time, sick leave, earned overtime credit, or 
state compensatory time to obtain medical or mental health care administered by VHA, 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.923
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.434.htm#434.023
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including physical rehabilitation. Leave granted under this provision may not exceed 15 
days each fiscal year, unless the Chief Justice determines it is appropriate to grant 
additional days of emergency leave. ( Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.924) 

 
Guidelines and Procedures For Emergency Leave: 
1) The Chief Justice determines good cause. 
2) Sick leave and vacation leave accruals will continue during an employee’s use 

of emergency leave. 
3) A recipient’s approval for emergency leave does not prevent the employer 

from exercising its right to terminate the employee. 
4) The recipient of emergency leave is not to work elsewhere while on emergency 

leave. 
5) If the employee does not utilize the full grant of the emergency leave, then any 

remaining unused emergency leave expires upon the employee’s return to 
work. 

6) An employee will not be granted compensation for any unused emergency 
leave. 

 
E. Jury Duty 

 
Time off with pay is allowed to serve on a jury. After receiving a jury summons, 

an employee should notify the employee’s supervisor as soon as possible and provide a 
copy of the jury summons. When the employee returns to work following jury duty, the 
employee should provide the proof of jury service received from the trial court to Human 
Resources for inclusion in the employee’s file.    

 
F. Military Duty Leave 

Paid leave is granted for various types of military service. 

G. Voting 

The Fifteenth Court encourages all employees to exercise their right to vote in all 
elections and, pursuant to state statute, will allow an employee sufficient time off, without 
a deduction in salary or accrued leave, to vote in each national, state, and local election. 
The Fifteenth Court defines “sufficient time off” to mean not more than three (3) hours 
away from the employee’s workstation. 

 
H. Donation of Blood 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.924
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An employee is allowed sufficient time off with pay to donate blood up to four 
times in a fiscal year. The Fifteenth Court defines “sufficient time off” to mean not more 
than three (3) hours away from the employee’s desk. 

 
Before an employee takes time off to donate blood, a request for the time off must 

be approved in writing by the employee’s supervisor. On returning to work, an employee 
shall provide proof that the employee donated blood during the time off. If an employee 
fails to provide proof of the blood donation, the Fifteenth Court shall deduct the amount 
of time for which the employee was granted time off from the employee’s salary or 
accrued leave, whichever the employee chooses. ( Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.917) 

 
I. Employee Training/MCLE 

 
The time that an employee is allowed for attendance at training or minimum 

continuing legal education (MCLE) seminars is time for which the employee receives 
pay. 

 
VI. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 

The Department of Labor’s Fact Sheet 28 describes the rights and responsibilities 
of the employer and employee under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). 
Additional information may be found on the Department of Labor posters on bulletin 
boards in the break rooms. General information is set out below. 

 
A. Purpose of FMLA 

FMLA requires an employer to provide an eligible employee with up to 12 
workweeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during a 12-month period of time for certain 
family and medical reasons. An employee who takes FMLA must be returned to the same 
job, or a job with equivalent status, benefits, and pay. 

 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.917
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/28-fmla
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B. Availability of FMLA Unpaid Leave 

An eligible employee may take a total of 12 weeks unpaid FMLA leave for: 
 
• The birth of a son or daughter or placement of a son or daughter with the 

employee for adoption or foster care; 
• To care for a spouse, son, daughter, or parent who has a serious health condition; 
• For a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the 

essential functions of the employee’s job; or 
• For any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a spouse, son, daughter, 

or parent is a military member on covered active duty or call to covered active-
duty status. 

. 
C. Serious Health Condition 

A serious health condition is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or physical 
or mental condition that involves: 

• inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential care facility; 
• the absence of more than three calendar days from work that also involves 

continuing treatment by a health care provider; 
• any period of incapacity due to pregnancy, or for prenatal care; 
• a chronic serious health condition (e.g., asthma, diabetes, epilepsy, etc.); 
• a period of incapacity that is permanent or long-term, due to a condition for 

which treatment may not be effective (e.g., Alzheimer’s, stroke, terminal 
diseases); or 

• any absences to receive multiple treatments that would likely result in 
incapacity for more than three consecutive days if left untreated (e.g., 
chemotherapy, physical therapy, dialysis, etc.). 

 
D. Intermittent Leave or a Reduced Work Schedule 

FMLA permits the use of intermittent leave or work on a reduced schedule when: 

• medically necessary to care for a seriously ill family member, or because of the 
employee’s serious health condition; or 

• to care for a newborn or newly placed adopted or foster care child, if approved 
by the employer. 

E. State of Texas and the FMLA 
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1. Use of Paid and Unpaid Leave 
 

A State of Texas employee is entitled to FMLA leave if the employee has a total 
of at least 12 months of state service and has worked at least 1,250 hours during the 12-
month period immediately preceding the commencement of leave. A State employee is 
required to utilize all available paid vacation and sick leave while taking FMLA unpaid 
leave. Paid and unpaid leave are exhausted concurrently, not consecutively. 

 
However, when an employee on FMLA leave is also receiving temporary disability 

benefits payments or workers’ compensation benefits, the employee is not required to 
utilize paid vacation or sick leave concurrently with the FMLA leave. Tex. Gov’t Code 
§ 661.912 Family and Medical Leave Act. 

2. Health Insurance During FMLA Leave 
 

When all paid leave has been exhausted, the State will continue to pay its portion 
of the employee’s premium for coverage under the group health plan. During the unpaid 
FMLA leave period, the employee must pay the employee’s portion of the insurance 
premium above the state-paid portion. 

 
If an employee fails to return to work after taking FMLA leave, the State may 

recover the health care premiums it paid on behalf of the employee. 
 

3. Effect of FMLA Leave 

Service credit, annual leave, or sick leave is not earned for any full calendar months 
of leave without pay while on FMLA. This time is also not included in the calculation of 
the number of continuous months of employment for purposes of merit increases and 
leave. 

F. Parental Leave 

1. Purpose of Paid Parental Leave 

Under Texas Government Code § 661.9125, State employees who are eligible for 
leave under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLS) are entitled to Paid Parental Leave 
for the birth or adoption of a child. Employees are not required to use all available paid 
vacation and sick leave before taking paid parental leave. 

2. Leave Allowance 
 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.912
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.9125
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An eligible State of Texas Employee is entitled to the following Paid Parental Leave 
amounts: 

• 40 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee; 
• 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee’s spouse; 
• 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by a gestational surrogate; or 
• 20 days paid leave for the adoption of a child. 
 

3. Approval of Paid Parental Leave 
 

An employee must apply and be approved for FMLA leave for the birth or adoption 
of the child.  

 
4. Using Paid Parental Leave 

 
Paid Parental Leave starts after the birth of a child or at the time an adopted child is 

brought into the home and must be taken in a continuous block. Paid Parental Leave can 
only be used up to the date of the FMLA leave expiration.  Paid Parental Leave is used 
concurrently with FMLA leave and counts towards the maximum 480 hours an employee 
is entitled to under the FMLA. 

 
5. Unpaid Parental Leave of Absence 

 
Employees who do not qualify for family and medical leave under the FMLA are 

entitled to an unpaid parental leave of absence not exceeding 12 weeks for the birth of a 
child or the adoption or foster care placement of a child under the age of 3. An employee 
does not meet the FMLA eligibility requirement if: 

 
• The employee has worked for the State for less than 12 months; or 
• The employee has worked fewer than 1,250 hours during the 12-month period 

preceding the leave.  
 

The employee must first use all available and applicable paid vacation and sick 
leave while taking unpaid parental leave.  The remainder of the leave is unpaid. 

G. Fifteenth Court of Appeals and the FMLA 

1. Method Used to Calculate Eligibility 
 

Eligibility for the 12-week leave period is calculated for the 12-month period 
measured forward from the date any employee’s first FMLA leave begins. 
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2. Designation of Leave and Notice by Employer 

The Fifteenth Court must designate leave, paid or unpaid, as FMLA-qualifying 
and will provide notice to the employee of the designation. Once the Fifteenth Court has 
acquired knowledge that the leave is for an FMLA reason, the employee will be notified 
that any applicable accrued paid leave will be designated as FMLA leave, will be reported 
in the State’s timekeeping system as FMLA leave, and the leave will be counted against 
the 12-week FMLA leave entitlement. 

 
Notice of the designation should be provided to the employee within two business 

days. Leave cannot be retroactively designated as FMLA leave, unless the employee was 
absent for an FMLA reason, and the Fifteenth Court did not learn the reason until the 
employee’s return to work. 

 
3. Notice by the Employee 

When the need for FMLA leave is foreseeable, the employee is required to provide 
a written 30-day advance notice before the leave is to begin. The notice should include 
the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. Notice must also be provided as soon as 
practicable if the dates of the leave change, are extended, or were not initially known. 
When the need for FMLA leave is not foreseeable, notice must be provided “as soon as 
practicable” under the circumstances. As soon as practicable means under the particular 
circumstances, but, at the least, verbal notice should be provided within two business days 
of when the need for leave becomes known to the employee. 

 
Whether the need for FMLA leave is foreseeable or not, the employee should 

provide information sufficient to make the Fifteenth Court aware that the employee needs 
FMLA-qualifying leave, the anticipated timing and the duration. Failure to provide 
notice, with no reasonable excuse for the delay, may delay the taking of FMLA leave until 
at least 30 days after the date the employee provides the required notice. 

 
The Fifteenth Court may inquire further, if it is necessary to have more information 

about the need for the leave. Any medical information the employee provides will be 
stored in the employee’s confidential medical file and kept separate from the personnel 
file. 

 
4. Standard Leave Forms Required 

 
In addition to providing notice, an employee is required to follow the Fifteenth 

Court’s procedures for taking leave. 
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5. Medical Certification Required for Serious Health Condition 

For a serious health condition, the Fifteenth Court requires a medical certification 
confirming that such a condition exists. Once leave has been granted, the employee may 
be required to provide updated medical information on a periodic basis. To return to work 
when an absence was caused by a serious health condition, the employee must provide a 
“fitness-for-duty” certificate from the health care provider. 

6. Health Insurance 
 

Once the employee is on unpaid FMLA leave, to continue coverage under the 
State’s group health plan, the employee must make arrangements with the Court 
Administrator to pay the employee’s portion of the health insurance premium. 

 
VII. EMPLOYEE SICK LEAVE POOL POLICY 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 

The Employee Sick Leave Pool (the Pool) consists of accrued sick leave which is 
voluntarily donated to the Pool by eligible employees of the Fifteenth Court of Appeals. 
The Pool is intended to assist employees and their immediate families in dealing with a 
catastrophic illness or injury that forces them to exhaust all earned leave time or when the 
employee has exhausted all sick leave because of a previous donation of time to the Pool. 

 
A. Statutory Authority 

 
Pursuant to the provisions of Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.001-661.008, the Employee 

Sick Leave Pool Policy is established for the Fifteenth Court of Appeals. 

B. Definitions 
 

Employee means an individual, other than a state officer, employed by a state 
agency. 

Catastrophic has been defined by the Employees Retirement System of Texas as 
a severe condition or combination of conditions affecting the mental or physical health of 
the employee or the employee’s immediate family that requires the services of a licensed 
practitioner for a prolonged period of time and that forces the employee to exhaust all 
earned leave time and to lose compensation from the State. 

 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm
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Licensed practitioner means a practitioner, as defined in the Texas Insurance 
Code, who is practicing within the scope of the practitioner’s license. 

 
Immediate family means (1) an individual who resides in the same household as 

the employee and is related by kinship, adoption, or marriage; (2) a foster child of the 
employee who resides in the same household as the employee and who is under the 
conservatorship of the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services; (3) a minor 
child of the employee, regardless of whether the child lives in the same household. 

 
An employee may also apply for permission to withdraw time from the Pool for a 

spouse, child, or parent of the employee who is not included in the definition of immediate 
family, but who needs care and assistance as a direct result of a documented medical 
condition. Any such time requested and withdrawn is strictly limited to the time necessary 
to provide care and assistance for the documented medical condition. 

Earned leave time means all accrued sick, vacation, and compensatory time. 
 
Pool Administrator means the individual appointed by the governing body of a 

state agency to administer the agency’s sick leave pool. 
 

C. Administration of the Pool 

The Court Accountant will serve as the Pool Administrator and will develop:  

• mechanisms to transfer accrued sick leave into and out of the Pool;  

• rules and procedures for operation of the Pool; and  

• forms for contributing leave to, and using leave from, the Pool. 

 
D. General Provisions 

 
An employee of the Fifteenth Court of Appeals, other than a state official, is 

eligible to use time contributed to the Pool, if the employee has exhausted all the 
employee’s earned leave time because of (1) a catastrophic illness or injury or (2) a 
previous donation of time to the Pool and, the employee will be forced to lose 
compensation from the State. 

 
An employee may not receive sick leave from the Pool more than one-third of the 

total time in the Pool or 90 days, whichever is less. 
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An eligible employee may apply to the Pool Administrator for permission to 

withdraw leave time from the Pool for the employee’s own catastrophic illness or injury, 
or for a catastrophic illness or injury of a member of the employee’s immediate family. 

If the employee is seeking to withdraw time because of a catastrophic illness or 
injury, the employee must provide the Pool Administrator with a written statement from 
the licensed practitioner who is treating the employee or the employee’s immediate family 
member. 

 
The statement must provide sufficient information regarding the illness or injury 

to enable the Pool Administrator to evaluate the employee’s eligibility. If the Pool 
Administrator determines that the employee is eligible, the Pool Administrator shall (1) 
approve the transfer of time from the Pool to the employee and (2) credit the time to the 
employee on the Fifteenth Court’s leave records. 

An employee with a catastrophic illness or injury is not required to contribute to 
the Pool before the employee may apply to use Pool leave. 

 
An employee who uses leave from the Pool is not required to pay that leave time 

back to the Pool. 
 
If the employee is a contributing member of the Pool, the employee may apply to 

use the Pool for other than catastrophic illness or injury when the employee has exhausted 
the employee’s sick leave balance in the same fiscal year. Such employee may receive 
credit for only the number of hours they have contributed to the Pool in the same fiscal 
year for absences other than those caused by catastrophic illness or injury. 

 
An employee must exhaust all earned leave time before the employee is eligible to 

use leave from the Pool. However, an employee who is off work due to an on-the-job 
injury or illness is not required to exhaust annual or compensatory leave before becoming 
eligible to use leave from the Pool. 

 
An employee who has terminated from the Fifteenth Court due to retirement may 

withdraw Pool contributions within 90 days of rehire to the Fifteenth Court. Such 
employee may receive credit for only the number of hours the employee has contributed 
to the Pool in the same fiscal year as retirement. 

 
An employee absent on time withdrawn from the Pool may use the time as sick 

leave earned by the employee, and the employee is treated for all purposes as if the 
employee were absent on earned sick leave. 
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An employee’s request to withdraw time from the Pool more than once during a 

fiscal year will be reviewed by the Pool Administrator on the facts and documentation 
submitted specific to the necessity for the multiple requests. The facts and documentation 
supporting the request will be submitted to Human Resources and the Chief Justice before 
a final decision is made to grant or deny the additional withdrawal of time. 

 
The estate of a deceased employee is not entitled to payment for unused time 

withdrawn by the employee from the Pool. 

E. Contributing Sick Leave to the Pool 
 

Contributions to the Pool are strictly voluntary on the part of each employee but 
Employees are encouraged to contribute to the Pool. 

 
An employee may contribute to the Pool one or more days of the employee’s 

accrued sick leave. The Pool Administrator shall credit the Pool with the amount of time 
contributed by the employee and shall deduct a corresponding amount of time from the 
employee’s earned sick leave as if the employee had used the time for personal purposes. 

 
A contribution to the Pool by an active employee must be in increments of eight 

hours, but a retiring employee may contribute accrued sick leave in increments of less 
than eight hours. A retiring employee may designate the number of the retiring 
employee’s accrued sick leave hours to be used for retirement credit and the number of 
the retiring employee’s accrued sick leave hours to be donated to the Pool. An employee 
who makes a contribution to the Pool may not stipulate who is to receive that contribution. 
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