

OFFICE OF COURT ADMINISTRATION

MEGAN LAVOIE
Administrative Director

JUDICIAL SALARIES

The salary of Texas judges varies by court level and years of service. The state base salary of a district judge (\$175,000) serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service and for calculating the minimum salaries of the appellate, county court at law, and statutory probate court justices and judges. It is also used as the basis for determining additional salary and supplements for certain judicial officers. The following is a summary of judicial salaries in Texas effective September 1, 2025.

DISTRICT COURT JUDGES

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(1), 659.012(b), 659.0445, and 32.001)

Years of Service	State Salary	State Longevity Pay	Maximum County Supplement	Total Maximum Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$175,000	\$0	\$25,000	\$200,000
4-8 years	\$192,500	\$0	\$25,000	\$217,500
8+ years	\$210,000	\$0	\$25,000	\$235,000
12+ years (Longevity)	\$210,000	\$10,500	\$25,000	\$245,500

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A district judge is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

District Judge County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1), 659.012(e), and 32.001)

District judges are eligible to receive up to \$25,000 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount over \$25,000 will result in the district judge's state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between district court and court of appeals justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(1), Tex. Gov't Code.

BUSINESS COURT JUDGES

		Addt'l State	State Longevity	
Years of Service	State Salary	Salary	Pay	Total Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$175,000	\$25,000	\$0	\$200,000
4-8 years	\$192,500	\$25,000	\$0	\$217,500
8+ years	\$210,000	\$25,000	\$0	\$235,000
12+ years (Longevity)	\$210,000	\$25,000	\$10,500	\$245,500
Administrative Presiding Judge	\$12,250			
Add'l Salary				

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(1), 659.012(a-1), 659.012(b), 659.012(d-1), 659.012(e), 659.0445, and 25A.011)

The state salary of a business court judge consists of a base salary equal to the base salary paid to a district court judge with comparable years of service plus additional salary from the state in an amount equal to the maximum annual county supplement a district judge is eligible to receive under Sec. 659.012(a)(1), currently \$25,000. Business Court judges are not entitled to county supplements. The administrative presiding judge of the business court is entitled to an additional \$12,250 from the state.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A business court judge is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

COURT OF APPEALS JUSTICES

1ST – 14TH APPELLATE DISTRICTS

		State	Maximum	
	State	Longevity	County	Total
Years of Service	Salary	Pay	Supplement	Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$192,500	\$0	\$12,500	\$205,000
4-8 years	\$211,750	\$0	\$12,500	\$224,250
8+ years	\$231,000	\$0	\$12,500	\$243,500
12+ years (Longevity)	\$231,000	\$11,550	\$12,500	\$255,050
Chief Justice Add'l Salary	\$13,475			

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(2), 659.012(a)(5), and 659.0445)

The base salary of a justice on a court of appeals is 110% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of a court of appeals is entitled to an additional salary of \$13,475 from the state.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A court of appeals justice is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

Court of Appeals Justice County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(2), 659.012(e), and 31.001)

Court of appeals justices are eligible to receive up to \$12,500 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount over \$12,500 will result in the justice's state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between court of appeals and supreme court justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(2), Tex. Gov't Code.

15TH APPELLATE DISTRICT

Years of Service	State Salary	State Longevity Pay	Total Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$205,000	\$0	\$205,000
4-8 years	\$225,500	\$0	\$225,500
8+ years	\$246,000	\$0	\$246,000
12+ years (Longevity)	\$246,000	\$12,300	\$258,300
Chief Justice Add'l Salary	\$14,350		

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(3), 659.012(a)(5), and 659.0445)

The base salary of a justice on the 15th Court of Appeals is \$5,000 less than 120% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of the 15th Court of Appeals is entitled to an additional \$14,350 from the state.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A justice on the 15th Court of Appeals is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

Court of Appeals Justice County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(3) and 31.001)

Justices on the 15th Court of Appeals are not eligible to receive county supplements.

SUPREME COURT JUSTICES AND COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS JUDGES

Years of Service	State Salary	State Longevity Pay	Total Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$210,000	\$0	\$210,000
4-8 years	\$231,000	\$0	\$231,000
8+ years	\$252,000	\$0	\$252,000
12+ years (Longevity)	\$252,000	\$12,600	\$264,600
Chief Justice/Presiding Judge Add'l Salary	\$14,700		

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Secs. 659.012(a)(4), 659.012(a)(5), and 659.0445)

The base salary of a justice on the Supreme Court of Texas and a judge on the Court of Criminal Appeals is 120% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of the Supreme Court of Texas and the presiding judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals are entitled to an additional \$14,700 from the state.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A judge or justice on the Court of Criminal Appeals or the Supreme Court of Texas is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge or justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

COUNTY COURT AT LAW JUDGES (CCAL)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005)

Years of Service	Minimum County Salary** (assuming maximum District Judge county supplement)*	Maximum County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$199,000	\$244,500
4-8 years	\$216,500	\$244,500
8+ years	\$234,000	\$244,500
12+ years	\$234,000**	\$244,500

^{*}If a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of \$25,000, the minimum county salary amount for a CCAL judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed (\$25,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

^{**}If a district judge in the county with comparable years of service is receiving state longevity pay (\$10,500 – Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.0445(b)), the minimum county salary is \$244,500. (See Office of the Attorney General Opinion No. KP-0339 (Oct. 23, 2020)).

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

A CCAL judge's minimum salary is \$1,000 less than the sum of the annual salary for a district judge with comparable years of service as the CCAL judge plus any state and county contributions and supplements paid to a district judge in the county. This is a minimum salary – a CCAL judge may receive a higher salary than the minimum to which the CCAL judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes of this calculation: 1) the total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Gov't Code, by a district judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the CCAL judge's county only contributes a portion or none of the district judge's supplement amount; 2) if a district judge in the county receives state longevity pay under Sec. 659.0445(b) of the Government Code, this amount should be included when calculating the minimum salary for a CCAL judge with 12 or more years of service, and 3) the salary paid to a regional presiding judge for his or her service as a regional presiding judge is not considered a state or county supplement or contribution).

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a-2))

A CCAL judge's maximum salary is \$1,000 less than the highest salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus longevity). For the 2025-26 biennium, a CCAL judge's maximum salary is \$244,500 ([DJ Salary of \$210,000 + County Supplement of \$25,000 + Longevity Pay of \$10,500] - \$1,000).

Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of service as a justice or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, business court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a-1))

The effective date of an increase to a CCAL judge's minimum salary depends on the reason for the increase. An increase in the judge's minimum salary resulting from the accrual of years of service required for the higher salary is effective on the first day of the county's fiscal year following the date the CCAL judge accrues the years of service required for the increase. An increase in the minimum salary of a CCAL judge due to an increase in the salary of a district judge in the county (e.g., legislative increase, increase in county supplement, state longevity pay) becomes effective on the same day that the district judge's increase becomes effective.

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0015)

The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each CCAL judge in the county is set at 60% of a district judge's base pay. The state contribution remains the same regardless of which salary tier the CCAL judge falls under. Because a district judge's base pay is \$175,000, the amount of the state contribution provided to the counties is \$105,000.

STATUTORY PROBATE COURT JUDGES (SPC)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023)

Years of Service	Minimum County Salary** (assuming maximum District Judge county supplement)*	Maximum County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$200,000	\$244,500
4-8 years	\$217,500	\$244,500
8+ years	\$235,000	\$244,500
12+ years	\$235,000 **	\$244,500

^{*}If a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of \$25,000, the minimum county salary amount for a SPC judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed (\$25,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

A SPC judge's minimum salary is an amount equal to the sum of the annual salary for a district judge with comparable years of service as the SPC judge plus any state and county contributions and supplements paid to a district judge in the county. This is a minimum salary — a SPC judge may receive a higher salary than the minimum to which the judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes of this calculation: 1) the total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Gov't Code, by a district judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the SPC judge's county only contributes a portion or none of the district judge's supplement amount; 2) if a district judge in the county receives state longevity pay under Sec. 659.0445(b) of the Government Code, this amount should be included when calculating the minimum salary for a SPC judge with 12 or more years of service, and 3) the salary paid to a regional presiding judge or the presiding judge of the statutory probate courts in the state for their service as presiding judges is not considered a state or county supplement or contribution.)

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a-2))

A SPC judge's maximum salary is \$1,000 less than the highest salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus longevity). For the 2025-26 biennium, a SPC judge's maximum salary is \$244,500 ([DJ Salary of \$210,000 + County Supplement of \$25,000 + Longevity Pay of \$10,500] - \$1,000).

Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of service as a justice or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, business court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a-1))

The effective date of an increase to a SPC judge's minimum salary depends on the reason for the increase. An increase in the judge's minimum salary resulting from the accrual of years of service required for the higher salary is effective on the first day of the county's fiscal year following the date the SPC judge accrues the years of service required for the increase. An increase in the minimum salary of a SPC judge due to an increase in the salary of a district judge in the county (e.g., legislative increase, increase in county supplement, state longevity pay) becomes effective on the same day that the district judge's increase becomes effective.

^{**}If a district judge in the county with comparable years of service is receiving state longevity pay (\$10,500 – Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.0445(b)), the minimum county salary is \$244,500. (See Office of the Attorney General Opinion No. KP-0339 (Oct. 23, 2020)).

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.00211)

The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each SPC judge in the county is set at 60% of a district judge's base pay. The state contribution remains the same regardless of which salary tier the SPC judge falls under. Because a district judge's base pay is \$175,000, the amount of the state contribution provided to the counties is \$105,000.

CONSTITUTIONAL COUNTY JUDGES

Years of Service	State Salary Supplement	
0-4 years	\$31,500	
4-8 years	\$34,650	
8+ years	\$37,800	

State Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 26.006(a))

A constitutional county court judge is entitled to an annual salary supplement from the state in an amount equal to 18 percent of the annual salary paid to a district judge with comparable years of service as the county judge as set by the General Appropriations Act in accordance with Tex. Gov't Code Section 659.012 if at least 18 percent of the: (1) functions that the judge performs are judicial functions; or (2) total hours that the judge works are in the performance of judicial functions.

LOCAL ADMINISTRATIVE DISTICT JUDGE SUPPLEMENT

# OF COURTS		PERCENTAGE OF DISTRICT JUDGE	\$ Amount
MIN	Max	BASE SALARY	7 AWOUNT
0	2	0%	\$0
3	4	3%	\$5,250
5	9	5%	\$8,750
10 +	-	7%	\$12,250

State Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(d))

A district judge who serves as a local administrative district judge under Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 74.091 is entitled to additional annual compensation from the state equal to a certain percentage of a district judge's base salary based on the number of courts in the county.