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IMPORTANCE OF REPORTING 
 
The monthly report is designed to collect statistics on court activity that can be used by the judicial, legislative, 
and executive branches of government to analyze judicial needs related to jurisdiction and structure. The 
monthly report is not designed to record 100% of the courts’ responsibilities and may not provide the full 
picture of what courts do. Instead, it provides a snapshot based on specific data points required to be collected 
by the OCA through legislative or judicial administrative action. 

 
LEGAL REQUIREMENTS 

 
Section 71.035(b) of the Texas Government Code requires each judge, clerk, or other court official to report 
information pertaining to the civil and criminal business transacted by the municipal court(s) as required by the 
Texas Judicial Council. 
 
Sections 171.1 and 171.2 of the Texas Administrative Code require submission of court activity reports each 
month to the Texas Judicial Council by no later than 20 days after the end of the month for which statistics 
are reported. 

Electronic Reporting 

All courts are required to submit the report online unless the court has requested and obtained a waiver for 
good cause. (See Section 171.8 of the Texas Administrative Code.) Waivers are good for 1 year but may be 
renewed. 

Reports may be entered electronically by 1 of 2 methods: 
a) manually entering the reports into the Court Activity Reporting and Directory System 

(http://card.txcourts.gov), OR 
 b) uploading an XML file into the system.  

 
Courts that have obtained an electronic reporting waiver may continue mailing, faxing, or emailing the report to 
OCA for data entry.  

Paper Reporting 
 

Courts that have obtained an electronic reporting waiver may continue mailing, faxing, or emailing the report to 
OCA for data entry. The Official Municipal Court Monthly Report form is to be used to report the activity of 
the municipal court during each 1-month period. NOTE: Reports generated from a case management system 
should be an exact replica of the monthly report form—i.e., all categories should follow the order on the 
monthly report, no categories should be added or omitted, and no data should appear in areas that are shaded 
on the form. 
 
On the front page, please complete the appropriate blanks identifying the month and year for the data being 
reported; the name of your court; the names of the presiding judge and court clerk; the court’s mailing address, 
fax number, email address, and website address (if available); and the name of the person that prepared the 
report, as well as his or her telephone number. (If appropriate, please provide a second phone number where 
that person can be reached during business hours.) 
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 
You must submit a report each month, even if your court had no activity.  
 
To file a “No Activity” report: 
 

 If you are reporting online, log in to the online reporting system and select Add New Monthly Report. 
Select the month and year for which you are filing a report. For each relevant section of the report 
(criminal, civil, juvenile/minor, and other), check the “No Activity” box near the top of the page, and 
fill in the Prepared By line at the bottom of the page. 

 
 If you are reporting on paper, you may indicate that you had no activity by writing a large zero, “X,” 

or “No Activity” across the statistical part of the form. 
 
Include only that activity that occurred during the month for which you are submitting a report. If you 
need to make changes to the information for a previous month, you must edit your online report (if you report 
online) or file an amended report (if you report on paper).  
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CRIMINAL SECTION 
Municipal Class C Misdemeanors 

 
This section is divided into six case categories: violations of state traffic laws, violations of state parking laws, 
violations of city ordinances involving traffic or parking, Penal Code violations, violations of other state laws, 
and other city ordinance violations. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The number of criminal cases is based on the number of individual violations charged.  
 
If the same defendant has been charged for more than 1 violation, each violation shall be counted. For instance, if a 
person received a citation with 4 violations charged, count this as 4 cases. 
 

TRAFFIC MISDEMEANORS 
 

Cases relating to motor vehicle operation or ownership for which the maximum punishment does 
not involve confinement in jail or prison (i.e., class C misdemeanors).   

 
Non-Parking.  Cases involving violations of the provisions of Title 7, Transportation 
Code and related statutes that do not involve parking (e.g., speeding, passing a school bus, 
driving without a valid inspection sticker, driving with an expired or no driver’s license). 
NOTE: Do not include Violations of Promise to Appear here. 
 
Parking.  Cases involving violations of Sections 545.301 through 545.304, Chapter 681 or 
Chapter 683, Transportation Code and related statutes concerning the improper stopping, 
standing, or parking of a vehicle (e.g., parking in an intersection, parking within 15 feet of 
a fire hydrant, parking where an official sign prohibits parking). NOTE: Report civil 
violations of parking or stopping ordinances in the Civil Section of the report.  
 
City Ordinance. Cases involving violations of traffic or parking-related ordinances 
enacted by municipalities that are not already covered by state statute. 

 
NON-TRAFFIC MISDEMEANORS 
 
Cases not involving traffic or parking violations for which the maximum punishment does not 
involve confinement in jail or prison (i.e., class C misdemeanors). 

 
Penal Code.  Cases involving laws enacted by the Texas Legislature that are set out in the 
Penal Code (e.g., disorderly conduct, public intoxication, theft of property valued at less 
than $100). NOTE: Include Failure to Appear (Sec. 38.10, Penal Code) cases here. 
 
Other State Law.  Cases involving laws enacted by the Texas Legislature that are set out 
in statutes other than the Penal Code (e.g., Alcoholic Beverage Code, Education Code, 
Health and Safety Code, Human Resources Code, Occupations Code, Water Code, etc.). 
NOTE: Include Violation of Promise to Appear cases here. 
 
City Ordinance.  Cases involving ordinances enacted by municipalities (e.g., building 
codes, zoning laws, dog ordinances). Ordinance violations involving litter, fire safety, 
zoning, public health, and sanitation are punishable by fines only, up to a maximum of 
$2,000. Punishment for violation of other types of city ordinances is limited to fines only, 
not to exceed $500, that are not already covered by state statute. 
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NOTES: 
 
In this section, report only those cases over which the court exercises jurisdiction:  
 
 Including all criminal juvenile/minor cases and parent contributing to nonattendance cases, which are 

also reported in the Juvenile/Minor Activity Section. 
 
 Excluding: matters handled by the judge as a magistrate (e.g., emergency protective orders, 

administration of warnings to adults or juveniles, search warrants, arrest warrants, property hearings), 
unless the court has jurisdiction over the case and the case is filed in the court. If the court does not have 
jurisdiction, report any relevant activity in the Additional Court Activity (magistrate duties) section. 

 
Line 1. CASES PENDING FIRST OF MONTH (Sum of Lines 1a and 1b.) 

Report all misdemeanor cases previously filed in which a judgment had not been entered at the 
beginning of the month.  

 
These figures should be the same as those reported for Cases Pending End of Month (Lines 12a and 
12b) on the prior month’s report. If the number of cases pending at the first of the month does 
not equal the number of cases pending at the end of the previous month, a docket adjustment 
must be entered. A docket adjustment is the difference between the number of cases pending at the 
end of the previous month and the number of cases pending at the beginning of the current month.  

 
Example: 
 
If the number of cases pending at the end of the month is smaller than the number 
pending at the beginning of the current month, enter a positive number in the 
appropriate blank.  For example, if 825 parking cases were pending at the end of April 
but 830 were pending as of May 1, "5" (825 + 5 = 830) should be entered in the 
docket adjustment line under Parking in the report for May. 
 
If the number of cases pending at the end of the month is larger than the number 
pending at the beginning of the current month, enter a negative number in the 
appropriate blank.  For example, if 900 Penal Code cases were pending at the end of 
April but 890 were pending as of May 1, "-10" (900 - 10 = 890) should be entered in 
the docket adjustment line under Penal Code in the report for May. 

 
Note: OCA staff will calculate and enter the docket adjustment(s) for reports submitted on paper. 

 
Line 1a. Active Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that were active 
at the beginning of the month. 

 
“Active cases” are cases awaiting entry of a judgment that the court can move to 
adjudication (entry of a judgment). 

 
Line 1b. Inactive Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered at the beginning 
of the month that had been classified as inactive (cases in which further court 
proceedings/activities could not continue). 
 
(See Line 11—Placed on Inactive Status for definition of an inactive case.) 
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Line 2. NEW CASES FILED DURING MONTH 

Report the number of new, original criminal violations filed for each case category. Include all new 
cases filed this month, even if a judgment was entered in the case this month.   

 
Line 3. CASES REACTIVATED 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that had previously been 
placed in an inactive pending status, but for which further court proceedings can now be resumed so 
that a judgment may be entered in the case, including: 

 
 Cases in which the defendant was apprehended  

o and posted bond to appear at court or 
o was arraigned and magistrated;  

 Cases in which the warrant was returned unexecuted, but the case is being reactivated for 
dismissal due to the statute of limitations expiring or because the defendant is deceased;  

 Cases that had been reported to the OmniBase (Texas Department of Public Safety) program, to 
the Scofflaw program (Texas Department of Motor Vehicles), to the Nonresident Violator 
Compact Program, or to a collections agency for failure to appear: 

o That were reactivated because the defendant appeared and the case was set for an 
appearance or trial, 

o That were reactivated because the defendant submitted a guilty or nolo plea to the court, 
whether or not the fine was paid; and 

o That were reactivated because the defendant submitted a payment or other amount without 
a plea being entered (see definition in Line 6—Uncontested Dispositions); 

o That were reactivated because the case was dismissed. 
  

NOTES:  
 Reactivated cases are reported under the same offense reported when the original case was filed. 
 Reactivated cases are reported even if a judgment was also entered in the case during the month. 
 An inactive case MUST be reactivated before it can be counted as disposed. 

 
Line 4. ALL OTHER CASES ADDED 

Report the number of cases added to the docket in a manner other than the filing of a new, original 
case. Include cases in which: 
 a motion for new trial is granted in a case that had previously been reported as disposed of; 
 an appeal, including cases remanded for final satisfaction of judgment and sentence; and 
 other similar matters which are not reported elsewhere. 

 
Line 5. TOTAL CASES ON DOCKET 

The sum of active cases pending at the beginning of the month; new cases filed; cases reactivated; 
and all other cases added equals Total Cases on Docket. 
 

Lines 1a + 2 + 3 + 4 = 5 
 

FINAL DISPOSITIONS: 
 
A disposition is reported when the case is adjudicated (the judge signs the final judgment or a sentence is 
otherwise imposed). The date of disposition is the date the final judgment/order was signed.  
 
Report only 1 disposition per case. 
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Line 6. DISPOSITIONS PRIOR TO COURT APPEARANCE OR TRIAL 

A. Uncontested Dispositions 
 

Report the number of cases in which a guilty or nolo contendere plea was entered without a 
plea being entered in open court. The case is reported when judgment is entered, 
whether or not the fine and other obligations of the case have been met. 
 
Include: 
 
 Cases in which the defendant submitted a guilty or nolo contendere plea without appearing 

before a judge in open court; and 
 

 Payment of a fine or other amount accepted by the court without a plea being entered. Per 
Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 27.14(c):   
 
In a misdemeanor case for which the maximum possible 
punishment is by fine only, payment of a fine or an amount 
accepted by the court constitutes a finding of guilty in open 
court as though a plea of nolo contendere had been entered by 
the defendant and constitutes a waiver of a jury trial in 
writing. 
 
Include payments submitted by mail, by electronic means, or in person. This includes 
cases in which full payment is made, a partial payment is made, or a payment plan is 
arranged.  

 
B. Cases Dismissed by Prosecution 

 
Report the number of cases that were dismissed pursuant to a motion by a prosecutor (or 
dismissed by the court without a motion from the prosecutor) before the defendant’s court 
appearance or trial or without the defendant appearing in court. Cases dismissed at a 
defendant’s court appearance or trial should be reported on Line 7C. 
 
Examples include: 

o Motions to dismiss based on defendant providing evidence of defense to 
prosecution (proof of valid driver’s license, proof of vehicle inspection certificate, 
or child passenger safety seat defense): 

o Failure to display driver’s license (T.C., Sec. 521.025), 
o Failure to have commercial license in possession while operating a commercial 

motor vehicle (T.C., Sec. 522.011), 
o Failure to secure child in child passenger safety seat system (T.C., Sec. 

545.4121), or 
o Failure to display valid motor vehicle inspection certificate (T.C., Sec. 

548.602). 
 

o Cases dismissed for lack of jurisdiction: 

o case was filed in wrong court (e.g., Class B misdemeanor, wrong jurisdiction) or 
o case has an invalid charge. 

o Miscellaneous reasons for dismissal: 
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o case was filed against a child eligible for diversion (for offenses committed on or after 
January 1, 2025 (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.308 (e)); 

o complaint filed by school district did not comply with requirements of Section 
25.0915(b), Education Code (for failure to attend cases filed prior to Sept. 1, 2015); 

o probable cause exists that child has mental illness, disability or lack of capacity; 
o interest of justice; 
o plea bargaining; 
o insufficient evidence; 
o complaining witness is uncooperative; 
o case is being refiled; 
o case was filed without contact information; 
o passage of time/statute of limitations;  
o deceased, etc. 

 
NOTE: Do not include dismissals after completion of a driving safety course, after deferred 
disposition, or any other compliance dismissal. Report these in Line 8. 

 
Line 7. FINAL DISPOSITIONS IN OPEN COURT OR AT TRIAL 

A. CONVICTIONS 

1) Guilty Plea or Nolo Contendere 
 
Include: 
 
 Cases in which a guilty or nolo contendere plea was entered in open court. Include:  

 cases in which the defendant pleaded guilty or nolo contendere in open court and 
 cases in which the defendant pleaded guilty or nolo contendere after the start of a trial; 

 
 Cases in which the defendant pleaded guilty or nolo contendere while in jail;  

 
 Cases in which the defendant entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere as part of a driver’s 

safety program or deferred disposition order, failed to meet the requirements, and was 
ultimately convicted of the offense after the required show cause hearing. 

 
 Cases in which the judge forfeited a cash bond in open court for the fine and court costs if 

the defendant signed a conditional plea of nolo contendere and waiver of jury trial and failed 
to appear according to the terms of release (Article 45.044, Code of Criminal Procedure).  
 

The case is reported when the final judgment is entered, whether or not the fine 
and other obligations of the case have been met. 
 

2) By the Court 
Report the number of cases in which the defendant pleaded not guilty and was tried and 
found guilty by the judge. 
 
Also include cases in which the defendant was found guilty by the judge but was sentenced 
to deferred disposition, the defendant failed to meet the requirements of the deferral and was 
ultimately convicted of the offense. 

 
3) By the Jury 

Report the number of cases in which the defendant pleaded not guilty and was tried and 
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found guilty by a jury. 
 

B. ACQUITTALS 

1) By the Court 
Report the number of cases in which the defendant was tried and found not guilty by the 
judge. 

 
2) By the Jury 

Report the number of cases in which the defendant was tried and found not guilty by the jury. 
  

C. CASES DISMISSED BY PROSECUTION 

Report the number of cases that were dismissed during the month pursuant to a motion by a 
prosecutor (or dismissed by the court without a motion from the prosecutor) at a defendant’s 
court appearance or trial, including pretrials. 
 
Examples include: 

o Motions to dismiss based on defendant providing evidence of defense to 
prosecution (proof of valid driver’s license, proof of vehicle inspection certificate, 
child passenger safety seat defense): 

o Failure to display driver’s license (T.C., Sec. 521.025), 
o Failure to have commercial license in possession while operating a commercial 

motor vehicle (T.C., Sec. 522.011), 
o Failure to secure child in child passenger safety seat system (T.C., Sec. 

545.4121), or 
o Failure to display valid motor vehicle inspection certificate (T.C., Sec. 

548.602). 

o Cases dismissed for lack of jurisdiction: 

o case was filed in wrong court (e.g., Class B misdemeanor, wrong jurisdiction) or 
o case has invalid charge. 

 
o Miscellaneous reasons for dismissal: 

o complaint filed by school district did not comply with requirements of Section 
25.0915(b), Education Code (for failure to attend cases filed prior to Sept. 1, 2015); 

o probable cause exists that child/defendant has mental illness, disability or lack of 
capacity; 

o dismissal of parent contributing to nonattendance authorized by Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 45.0531 (authorized on or after Sept. 1, 2015);  

o interest of justice; 
o plea bargaining; 
o insufficient evidence; 
o complaining witness is uncooperative; 
o case is being refiled; 
o unable to locate the defendant; 
o passage of time/statute of limitations;  
o deceased, etc. 

 
Also include cases in which the judge grants a defendant’s motion to quash complaint (to set 
aside and dismiss). 
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Line 8. COMPLIANCE DISMISSALS 

Report the number of cases dismissed during the month due to completion of a court-ordered 
program and/or satisfaction of other requirements.  Report all other dismissals on Line 6B or Line 
7C. 

 
NOTES:   
 Do not report a case as dismissed until all requirements for dismissal have been met and the 

charge is dismissed by final written judgment. 
 A case must be reported in only 1 category below. 

 
A. After Driving Safety Course 

Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant completed a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training and safety course 
for a state traffic law offense as provided by Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.0511. 

 
B. After Deferred Disposition 

Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because:  

 the defendant successfully completed a deferred sentence as provided by Code of 
Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.051. or 

 in failure to attend school cases (filed prior to Sept. 1, 2015) as provided by Code of 
Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.054,  

(1) the court finds that the individual has successfully complied with the conditions 
imposed on the individual by the court; or 

(2) the individual presents to the court proof that the individual has obtained a high 
school diploma or a high school equivalency certificate. 

C. After Teen Court 
Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant successfully completed a teen court program as provided by Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 45.052. 

 
D. After E-Cigarette and Tobacco Awareness Course 

Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant successfully completed an e-cigarette and tobacco awareness course as provided by 
Health and Safety Code, Sec. 161.253.  

 
E. After Treatment for Chemical Dependency  

Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant successfully completed a court-ordered treatment program for chemical dependency 
(abuse of alcohol or a controlled substance), as provided by Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 
45.053, and Health and Safety Code, Ch. 462.  

 
Note: The dismissal authorized by Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.053, does not include an 
expense fee that may be collected at the end of a deferral. If the expense fee is being charged, 
report the case as a dismissal After Deferred Disposition. 

 



 

 
10 

 
 
F.   After Proof of Financial Responsibility 

Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant produced evidence of financial responsibility as provided by Transportation Code, 
Sec. 601.193. 
 

G. All Other Transportation Code Compliance Dismissals 
Report the number of cases that were dismissed by final judgment during the month because the 
defendant successfully produced evidence of compliance with requirements other than those 
listed in the previous compliance dismissal categories. Applicable offenses include: 
 
 Failing to display license plate on front and rear of vehicle (T.C., Sec. 504.943(d)); 

 Failing to display registration insignia on vehicle (T.C., Sec. 502.473(d)); 

 Driving with an expired motor vehicle registration (T.C., Sec. 502.407(b)); 

 Attaching or displaying a registration insignia for another registration period (T.C., Sec. 
502.475(c); 

 Attaching or displaying a license plate that is obscured or is for another registration period 
(T.C., Sec. 504.945(d); 

 Driving with expired driver’s license (T.C., Sec. 521.026) or commercial driver’s license or 
permit (T.C., Sec. 522.011); 

 Expired disabled placard (T.C. 681.013); 

 Fails to give notice of change of address or name (T.C., Sec. 521.054(d)); 

 Violates special restrictions or endorsements imposed on driver’s license (T.C., Sec. 
521.221(d)); 

 Operates vehicle that is not properly equipped (T.C., Sec. 547.004(c)); and 

 Driving with an expired inspection certificate (T.C., Sec. 548.605). 

 
Line 9. ALL OTHER DISPOSITIONS 

Report any judgments not clearly identifiable as any of the above categories.  
 
Examples include: 
 
 Transfer to juvenile court (mandatory or discretionary) (Family Code, Sec. 51.08(b)(1) or 

(2)) or 
 Probationary or compliance dismissals that do not fit into 1 of the categories above. 

 
  Line 10. TOTAL CASES DISPOSED 
 

Report the total number of cases in which a judgment was entered during the month. Total Cases 
Disposed equals the sum of Lines 6, 7, 8 and 9. 

 

Line 11. PLACED ON INACTIVE STATUS 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that were placed in an 
inactive pending status because further court proceedings are not able to proceed.  



 

 
11 

This category includes: 
 
 Cases in which a warrant of arrest has been issued; 
 Cases reported to the OmniBase (Texas Department of Public Safety) program, to the Scofflaw 

program (Texas Department of Motor Vehicles), or to a collections agency for failure to appear; 
 Cases in which a defendant is being held elsewhere on state or federal charges; 
 Cases in which the defendant is otherwise unavailable for adjudication. 

 
Line 12. CASES PENDING END OF MONTH (Sum of Lines 12a and 12b.) 

Report the total number of cases previously filed in which a judgment had not been entered at the 
end of the month.  

 

Line 12a. Active Cases 

Report the number of cases that were classified as active and awaiting entry of a 
judgment at the end of the month. 

Line 5 minus the sum of Lines 10 & 11 = Line 12a 
 

Line 12b. Inactive Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered at the end of 
the month that had been classified as inactive (cases in which further court 
proceedings/activities could not continue). 
 

Line 1b minus Line 3 plus Line 11 = Line 12b 
 

Line 13. SHOW CAUSE AND OTHER REQUIRED HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of show cause or contempt hearings held pursuant to Art. 45.045 (prior to 
issuance of capias pro fine), Art. 45.050 (juveniles), 45.051(c-1) (deferred disposition), or 45.0511(i) 
(driver’s safety), Code of Criminal Procedure, for failure to satisfy the judgment or to comply with 
the requirements for deferred disposition or driver’s safety course.   
  
All cases set for a show cause hearing should be included regardless of the outcome of the hearing 
and whether the defendant appeared or not, except cases in which the case was disposed of before 
the show cause hearing (i.e., the defendant appeared at the clerk window with or mailed in the 
compliance documentation, paid the case in full, or set up a payment plan). Report these cases in the 
appropriate disposition category. 

 
Notes: 
 
 Cases in which the defendant failed to appear and the judge imposed the fine: also report the 

case as disposed in Line 7.A.1—Convictions—Guilty Plea or Nolo Contendere.  
 
 Cases in which the defendant failed to appear prior to the issuance of a capias pro fine and the 

judge issued the capias pro fine: also report the case in Line 3, Capiases Pro Fine Issued of the 
Additional Court Activity section.   

 
 

 

 



 

 
12 

 

Line 14. CASES APPEALED 

Report the number of criminal cases for which an appeal from the final judgment of the court was 
filed. 

 
A. After Trial 
 

Report the number of cases appealed following a trial before the court or jury. 
 
B. Without Trial   

 
Report the number of cases appealed following a plea of guilty or no contest in non-record 
courts.
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                               CIVIL/ADMINISTRATIVE SECTION 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Line 1. CASES PENDING FIRST OF MONTH (Sum of Lines 1a and 1b.) 

Report all civil or administrative cases previously filed in which a judgment had not been entered 
at the beginning of the month. 

These figures should be the same as those reported for Cases Pending End of Month (Lines 14a and 
14b) on the prior month’s report. If the number of cases pending at the first of the month does 
not equal the number of cases pending at the end of the previous month, a docket adjustment 
must be entered. A docket adjustment is the difference between the number of cases pending at the 
end of the previous month and the number of cases pending at the beginning of the current month.  

 
Example: 
 

If the number of cases pending at the end of the month is smaller than the number 
pending at the beginning of the current month, enter a positive number in the 
appropriate blank.  For example, if 825 civil cases were pending at the end of April 
but 830 were pending as of May 1, "5" (825 + 5 = 830) should be entered in the 
docket adjustment line under Civil Cases in the report for May. 

If the number of cases pending at the end of the month is larger than the number 
pending at the beginning of the current month, enter a negative number in the 
appropriate blank.  For example, if 900 civil cases were pending at the end of April 
but 890 were pending as of May 1, "-10" (900 - 10 = 890) should be entered in the 
docket adjustment line under Civil Cases in the report for May. 

Note: OCA staff will calculate and enter the docket adjustment(s) for reports submitted on 
paper. 

 
Line 1a. Active Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that were active 
at the beginning of the month. 

A civil case, unlike a criminal case, does not depend on the number of persons involved.  A single civil case is 
counted and reported when: 
 
1. A civil complaint or citation is filed (no matter how many parties are involved), or  
 
2.   An original petition is filed (no matter how many parties are involved). 

 
CIVIL CASES 

 
Cases involving all complaints, citations or suits within the civil or administrative jurisdiction of 
the municipal court, including red light camera, vehicle parking and stopping (Transportation 
Code, Ch. 682), dangerous dog, substandard building, water conservation, and abandoned motor 
vehicle cases, as well as any other cases involving the enforcement of health and safety and 
nuisance abatement ordinances. Also include bond forfeiture (nisi) proceedings conducted 
pursuant to Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 22.02. 
 

At this time, the Civil Section of the report cannot adequately capture information on truancy cases. Judicial Council will be 
re-evaluating all information being collected from the trial courts on the monthly court activity reports in the future and 
reporting of additional information on truancy cases will be addressed at that time. 
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“Active cases” are cases awaiting entry of a judgment that the court can move to 
adjudication (entry of a judgment). 

 
Line 1b. Inactive Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered at the beginning 
of the month that had been classified as inactive (cases in which further court 
proceedings/activities could not continue). 
 

 (See Line 14—Placed on Inactive Status for definition of an inactive case.) 
 
Line 2. NEW CASES FILED DURING THE MONTH 

Report the total number of new cases filed during the month. Include all new cases filed this month, 
even if a judgment was entered in the case this month.   

 
Line 3. CASES REACTIVATED 

Report the number of cases that had previously been placed in an inactive pending status, but for 
which further court proceedings and activities can now be resumed so that a judgment may be 
entered in the case. 

Examples include: 
 Reinstated cases; 
 Cases returned from arbitration; 
 Cases in which a bankruptcy stay has been lifted; and 
 Cases removed from abatement for any other reason. 

 
NOTE: Reactivated cases are reported even if a judgment was also entered in the case during the 

month. 
 
Line 4. ALL OTHER CASES ADDED 

Report the number of cases added to the docket in a manner other than the filing of a new, original 
case. Include cases in which: 

(1) a motion for new trial is granted in a case that had previously been reported as disposed of 
and 

(2) other similar matters which are not reported elsewhere. 
 

Line 5. TOTAL CASES ON DOCKET 

To calculate the Total Cases on Docket, add the active cases pending at the beginning of the month, 
new cases filed, other cases reaching docket, and reactivated cases. 

Lines 1a + 2 + 3 + 4 = Line 5 
 

DISPOSITIONS: 
 
For purposes of this report, a disposition is reported when the case is adjudicated (the judge or hearing 
officer signs the final judgment). The date of disposition is the date the final judgment was signed.  
 
Report only 1 disposition per case. 
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Line 6. UNCONTESTED CIVIL FINES OR PENALTIES 

Report the number of cases in which the defendant paid a civil fine or penalty without appearing 
for open court or an administrative hearing (e.g., paying citation for civil parking offense). 
Include payments submitted by mail, by electronic means, or in person. 
 

Line 7. DEFAULT JUDGMENTS 

Report the number of cases in which the judgment was reached by default—the defendant, though 
served, failed to appear and answer, and judgment by default was granted in favor of the plaintiff. 
 

Line 8. AGREED JUDGMENTS 

Report the number of cases in which the court entered a judgment based upon the agreement of the 
parties involved in the suit. 
 

Line 9. TRIAL OR HEARING BY JUDGE OR HEARING OFFICER 

Report the number of cases in which the decision was reached after a trial or hearing by the judge or 
a hearing officer, without a jury. 
 

Line 10. TRIAL BY JURY 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment was entered after trial based on the verdict of a jury. 
 
Line 11. CASES DISMISSED FOR WANT OF PROSECUTION 

Report the number of cases dismissed because the plaintiff or petitioner did not appear or otherwise 
made no effort to pursue his case. 
 

Line 12. ALL OTHER DISPOSITIONS 

 Report any dispositions not clearly identifiable as any of the above categories.   
 
Line 13. TOTAL CASES DISPOSED 

Report the total number of cases disposed during the month. Total Cases Disposed equals the sum of 
Lines 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12. 

 
Line 14. PLACED ON INACTIVE STATUS 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that were placed in an 
inactive pending status because further court proceedings and activities could not continue. 
 
This category includes, but is not limited to: 

 Cases ordered to arbitration; 
 Cases in which a notice or suggestion of bankruptcy is filed;  
 Cases delayed due to the Soldiers’ & Sailors’ Civil Relief Act;  
 Cases in which a suggestion of death is filed; and 
 All other cases ordered abated by a judge. 

 
Line 15. CASES PENDING END OF MONTH (Sum of Lines 15a and 15b.) 

Line 15a. Active Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered that were 
classified as active and awaiting entry of a judgment at the end of the month. 
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Line 5 minus the sum of Lines 13 & 14 = Line 15a 
 

Line 15b. Inactive Cases 

Report the number of cases in which a judgment had not been entered at the end of 
the month that had been classified as inactive (cases in which further court 
proceedings/activities could not continue). 

Line 1b minus Line 3 plus Line 14 = Line 15b 
 

Line 16. CASES APPEALED 

Report the number of cases for which an appeal from the final judgment of the court was filed. 
 

A. After Trial 
B. Without Trial 

 

JUVENILE/MINOR ACTIVITY 
 

NOTE: Activity reported in Lines 1 through 16 below should also be reported, where appropriate, in the 
Criminal Section. 

 
Line 1. TRANSPORTATION CODE CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases filed in which the person (under 17 years of age) was charged with an 
offense listed under Transportation Code, Section 729.001. 
 

Line 2. NON-DRIVING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CODE CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases filed in which a minor (under 21 years of age) was charged with an 
offense under the Alcoholic Beverage Code that did not involve driving (e.g., Sec. 106.02, Purchase 
of Alcohol by a Minor; Sec. 106.025, Attempt to Purchase Alcohol by a Minor; Sec. 106.04, 
Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor; Sec. 106.05, Possession of Alcohol by a Minor; and Sec. 
106.07, Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor). Also include Sec. 49.02, Public Intoxication—
punishment for which is prescribed under the Alcoholic Beverage Code. 

 
Line 3. DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases filed in which a minor (under 21 years of age) was charged with an 
offense under Alcoholic Beverage Code, Sec. 106.041, Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a 
Minor. 

 
Line 4. DRUG PARAPHERNALIA CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases filed in which a minor (under 18 years of age) was charged with an 
offense under Health and Safety Code, Sec. 481.125(a), Possession of Drug Paraphernalia.  

 
Line 5. TOBACCO AND E-CIGARETTE CASES FILED  

Report the number of cases filed in which a minor (under 21 years of age) was charged with an 
offense under Health and Safety Code, Sec. 161.252, Possession, Purchase, Consumption or Receipt 
of Cigarettes, E-Cigarettes, or Tobacco Products by Minors Prohibited. This includes the offense of 
displaying false proof of age to obtain possession of, purchase, or receive a cigarette, e-cigarette, or 
tobacco product. 
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Line 6. TRUANCY CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases filed for truant conduct under Family Code Sec. 65.003(a), if your court 
is a truancy court.  

 
Line 7. EDUCATION CODE CASES FILED  

Report the number of cases filed in which the child was charged with an offense provided in the 
Education Code. Examples of offenses under the Education Code are Sec. 37.102, Rules (Enacted by 
School Board); Sec. 37.107, Trespass on School Grounds; Sec. 37.122, Possession of Intoxicants on 
Public School Grounds; Sec. 37.124, Disruption of Classes; and Sec. 37.126, Disruption of 
Transportation.  
 

Line 8. VIOLATION OF LOCAL DAYTIME CURFEW ORDINANCE CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases in which a person under 17 years of age was charged with violation of a 
local daytime curfew ordinance adopted under Local Government Code, Sec. 341.905 or Sec. 
351.903.  
 
Note: Only cases involving violation of a “daytime” curfew should be reported; cases involving 
violations of a nighttime curfew should not be reported here. 
 
H.B. 1819 repealed Local Government Code, Sec. 341.905 and Sec. 351.903, effective 
September 1, 2023. 

 
Line 9. ALL OTHER NON-TRAFFIC, FINE-ONLY CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases in which a person under 17 years of age was charged with a non-traffic 
offense punishable only by a fine that does not fall within any of the other categories above 
(Lines 1 through 7). 

 
Line 10. TRANSFER TO JUVENILE COURT 

a. Mandatory Transfer 
Report the number of cases in which the court waived its original jurisdiction and referred a 
person under 17 years of age to juvenile court pursuant to:  

o Family Code Sec. 51.08(b)(1)(A): complaint alleged violation of offense under Penal 
Code Sec. 43.261 (Electronic Transmission of Certain Visual Material Depicting Minor);  

o Family Code Sec. 51.08(b)(1)(B): the child had previously been convicted of: A) 2 or 
more misdemeanors punishable by fine only other than a traffic offense; B) 2 or more 
violations of a penal ordinance of a political subdivision other than a traffic offense; or C) 
 1 or more of each of the types of misdemeanors described in A) or B); or 

o Family Code Sec. 51.08(f): court had previously dismissed a complaint because of 
determination relating to child’s mental illness, disability or lack of capacity. 

 
Note: A court that has implemented a juvenile case manager program under Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 45.056, may, but is not required to, waive its original jurisdiction. Courts in this 
situation should report all transfers to juvenile court in the Discretionary Transfer category. 
 

b. Discretionary Transfer 
Report the number of cases in which the court waived its original jurisdiction and referred a 
person under 17 years of age to juvenile court pursuant to Family Code, Sec. 51.08(b)(2). 

 



 

 
18 

Line 11. ACCUSED OF CONTEMPT AND REFERRED TO JUVENILE COURT (DELINQUENT 
CONDUCT)  

Report the number of incidents in which the court refers a person under 17 years of age to juvenile 
court for delinquent conduct because the child failed to obey an order of the court under 
circumstances that would constitute contempt of court. See Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 
45.050(c)(1), and Family Code, Sec. 65.251 
 

Line 12. HELD IN CONTEMPT BY CRIMINAL COURT (FINED AND/OR DENIED DRIVING 
PRIVILEGES) 

Report the number of incidents in which the court holds a child in contempt, fines a child, or denies 
the child driving privileges because the child failed to obey an order of the court under circumstances 
that would constitute contempt of court. See Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.050(c)(2) and 
Family Code Sec. 65.251. 
 
Do not include license suspensions required by Alcoholic Beverage Code, Sec. 106.115(d), for 
failure to complete an alcohol awareness program or perform the required hours of community 
service. (Note: These suspensions are reported to the Department of Public Safety on form DIC-15.) 
 

Line 13. JUVENILE STATEMENT MAGISTRATE WARNINGS 

a. Warnings Administered 
Report the number of times the judge, as magistrate, gave juveniles charged with Juvenile 
Justice Code (Title 3, Family Code) violations official explanations of their right to counsel, 
right to remain silent, etc. If at the same time the judge also took the juvenile’s statement or 
confession, report this event under Statements Certified. 
 

b. Statements Certified 
Report the number of juvenile statements certified by the judge as required by Family Code, Sec. 
51.095(a)(1)(D). 

 
Line 14. DETENTION HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of juvenile detention hearings conducted by the judge during the month while 
acting as a substitute juvenile judge in a magistrate capacity in accordance with Family Code, 
Section 54.01. 
 

Line 15. ORDERS FOR NONSECURE CUSTODY ISSUED 

Report the number of orders for nonsecure custody issued during the month for juveniles in 
accordance with Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.058. 

 
Line 16. PARENT CONTRIBUTING TO NONATTENDANCE CASES FILED 

Report the number of cases in which the parent of a child was charged with contributing to 
nonattendance of school under Education Code, Sec. 25.093. 
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ADDITIONAL COURT ACTIVITY 
The lower portion of the monthly report form is designed to collect information: 1) reflecting the activity of 
municipal judges acting in the capacity of a magistrate; or 2) identified by the Texas Judicial Council as 
additional information that is important to collect from municipal courts. 

Line 1. MAGISTRATE WARNINGS  

NUMBER GIVEN 

Report the number of times during the month that the judge, as a magistrate, gave adult defendants 
charged with an offense an official explanation of their right to counsel, right to remain silent, etc., as 
provided by Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 15.17, for the following offenses: 

A. Class C Misdemeanors 
B. Class A and B Misdemeanors 
C. Felonies 
 

If the defendant was charged with more than 1 offense in a single incident, count only 1 
magistration. If the multiple offenses involved more than 1 level of case category listed above, 
report the 1 magistration under the category of the most serious offense alleged. 
 

If the defendant was magistrated for charges involving multiple, separate incidents, count a 
magistration for each incident. If an incident involved multiple charges, report only 1 magistration 
for that incident. If the multiple offenses involved more than 1 level of case category listed above, 
report the 1 magistration under the category of the most serious offense alleged. 

 

NUMBER OF REQUESTS FOR COUNSEL 

Report the number of requests for appointment of counsel that were made by defendants during the 
magistrate warnings reported above.  

A. Class A and B Misdemeanors 
B. Felonies 
 
If the defendant was charged with more than 1 offense in a single incident, count only 1 request for 
counsel. If the multiple offenses involved more than 1 level of case category listed above, report 
the 1 request for counsel under the category of the most serious offense alleged. 
 
If the defendant was magistrated for charges involving multiple, separate incidents, count a request 
for counsel for each incident. If an incident involved multiple charges, report only 1 request for 
counsel for that incident. If the multiple offenses involved more than 1 level of case category listed 
above, report the 1 request for counsel under the category of the most serious offense alleged. 

 
NOTE: Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 15.17(e), requires: In each case in which a person 
arrested is taken before a magistrate as required by Subsection (a), a record shall be made of: 

(1) the magistrate informing the person of the person's right to request 
appointment of counsel; 

(2) the magistrate asking the person whether the person wants to request 
appointment of counsel; and 

(3) whether the person requested appointment of counsel. 
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Line 2. ARREST WARRANTS ISSUED 

A. Class C Misdemeanors  

Report the number of arrest warrants issued by the court during the month in Class C 
misdemeanor cases. 

B. Class A and B Misdemeanors  

Report the number of arrest warrants issued by the judge acting as a magistrate during the 
month in Class A or B misdemeanor cases. 

C. Felonies  

Report the number of arrest warrants issued by the judge acting as a magistrate during the 
month in felony cases.   

 

Line 3. CAPIASES PRO FINE ISSUED 

Report the number of capiases pro fine issued during the month, pursuant to Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 45.045, for a defendant’s failure to pay fines and costs after judgment and sentence. 

 

Line 4. SEARCH WARRANTS ISSUED 

Report the number of search warrants the judge, as a magistrate, issued during the month that 
allowed law enforcement officers to search a premises or person or to collect blood specimens. 

 

Line 5. WARRANTS FOR FIRE, HEALTH AND CODE INSPECTIONS ISSUED 

Report the number of search warrants issued, pursuant to Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 18.05, to 
a fire marshal, health officer, or code enforcement official of the state or of any county, city, or other 
political subdivision to allow the inspection of any specified premises to determine the presence of a 
fire or health hazard or unsafe building condition or a violation of any fire, health, or building 
regulation, statute, or ordinance. 
 

Line 6. EXAMINING TRIALS CONDUCTED 

Report the number of preliminary hearings on felony cases conducted by the judge during the month 
to determine whether, upon the basis of the evidence produced at such a hearing, the defendant 
should be bound over to the grand jury or should be discharged from custody (Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 16.01). 

 

Line 7. EMERGENCY MENTAL HEALTH HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of hearings for emergency mental health commitments the judge held during the 
month as provided by Health and Safety Code, Sec. 573.012. 
 

Line 8. MAGISTRATE’S ORDERS FOR EMERGENCY PROTECTION 

Report the number of emergency protection orders issued by the judge, as a magistrate, under Code 
of Criminal Procedure, Art.17.292. 

 

Line 9. MAGISTRATE’S ORDERS FOR IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE 

Report the number of orders issued by the judge, as a magistrate, under Code of Criminal Procedure, 
Art. 17.441, requiring a defendant to have an ignition interlock device installed in his or her vehicle 
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and not operate any motor vehicle unless it is equipped with that device. 
 

Line 10. ALL OTHER MAGISTRATE’S ORDERS ISSUED REQUIRING CONDITIONS FOR 
RELEASE ON BOND 

Report the number of other orders issued by the judge, as a magistrate, requiring conditions for 
release on bond under Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 17, except for the Magistrate’s Orders for 
Ignition Interlock Device reported in Line 8. Include: 

 Conditions related to victim or community safety (Art. 17.40);  
 Conditions where a child is the alleged victim (Art. 17.41); 
 Home curfew and electronic monitoring (Art. 17.43); 
 Home confinement, electronic monitoring, and drug testing (Art. 17.44); 
 AIDS and HIV instruction (Art. 17.45); 
 Conditions for a defendant charged with stalking (Art. 17.46);  
 Conditions requiring submission of a specimen (Art. 17.47); and 
 Conditions for defendant charged with offense involving family violence (Art. 17.49). 

 

Line 11. DRIVER’S LICENSE DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of hearings held by the judge during the month pursuant to Transportation Code, 
Sec. 521.300, to determine whether there is enough evidence to justify suspension or revocation of a 
person’s driver’s license by the Department of Public Safety for habitual violations or inability to 
safely operate a motor vehicle. 
 
NOTE: This does not apply to license suspensions for Alcoholic Beverage Code, tobacco, failure to 
attend school, or similar offenses involving juveniles/minors.   
 

Line 12. DISPOSITION OF STOLEN PROPERTY HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of hearings held by the judge during the month pursuant to Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Ch. 47, to determine the right to possession of stolen property. 

 

Line 13. PEACE BOND HEARINGS HELD 

Report the number of hearings held by the judge during the month to determine whether a peace 
bond should be issued per Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 7.03, regardless of when the complaint 
was filed, or when (or whether) a warrant was issued, or an order requiring the peace bond (if any) 
was entered. 
 
Since the judge handles peace bonds as a magistrate, rather than as the judge of the municipal court, 
peace bonds should not be counted in another section of the report. 
 

Line 14. CASES IN WHICH FINE AND COURT COSTS ARE SATISFIED BY COMMUNITY 

SERVICE 

Report the number of cases in which community service or a tutoring program was completed to 
discharge a fine and/or court costs as provided by the Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.049 or 
45.0492. Report these cases when the fine and court costs have been satisfied in full. 
 
NOTE: “Court costs” includes fees (e.g., judicial support fee, jury reimbursement fee, etc). 
Do not include cases in which community service was mandatory for the offense and was 
ordered as part of the sentence (e.g., alcohol and tobacco related offenses). 
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A. Partial Satisfaction 

Report the number of cases in which the community service partially satisfied the fine or 
court costs. 

B. Full Satisfaction 

Report the number of cases in which the community service fully satisfied the fine or court 
costs. 

 

Line 15. CASES IN WHICH FINE AND COURT COSTS SATISFIED BY JAIL CREDIT 

Report the number of cases in which jail credit was applied to partially or fully discharge a fine or 
court costs. Report these cases when the fine and court costs have been satisfied in full, even if 
the defendant is on a deferral and other obligations in the case have not yet been satisfied. 
 
NOTE: “Court costs” includes fees (e.g., judicial support fee, jury reimbursement fee, etc). 
 

Line 16. CASES IN WHICH FINE AND COURT COSTS WAIVED FOR INDIGENCY 

Report the number of cases in which a fine or court costs were partially or fully waived for indigency 
or the child defendant received a finding of undue hardship during the month (Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Art. 45.0491). 
 

Line 17. AMOUNT OF FINES AND COURT COSTS WAIVED FOR INDIGENCY 

Report the total amount of fines and court costs waived during the month for indigency or the child 
defendant received a finding of undue hardship (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 43.091). Report 
the amount waived even if the defendant is on a deferral and other obligations in the case have 
not yet been satisfied. 
 

Line 18. TOTAL FINES, COURT COSTS AND OTHER AMOUNTS COLLECTED 

Report the amount of court-related money collected by the court during the month. Include fines, 
fees, court costs; Omnibase fees1; forfeited bonds; fees for copies, etc. 

Do not include amounts retained by a private collections agency for service fees2; amounts assessed; 
jail credit; community service or tutoring program credit; or amounts collected that are not related to 
court operations (e.g., overdue library book fees; parking permits, licenses or other parking revenue 
not related to parking violations). 
 

A. Retained by City 

Report the amount of money collected during the month that was deposited into city funds. 
Include the city’s portion of any fee that is divided by statute between the city and the State.  
 

  Examples:  
 

 Court costs adopted by city ordinance: 

 
1 Authorized by Transportation Code, Ch. 706. The OmniBase program is not considered a collections contract. It is a 
contract with the Department of Public Safety to provide information necessary for the department to deny renewal of 
drivers’ licenses.  
2 Fees authorized by Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 103.0031. 
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 a fee not to exceed $25 for executing certain warrants (Article 45.203, C.C.P.); 
 building security fee; 
 technology fee;  
 a juvenile case manager fee; and 
 service fees for collection of fines, costs, and bonds by credit card or electronically 

 Special expense fee for granting deferred disposition or driving safety course, or a $10 
administrative fee for granting a driver’s safety course 

 Dismissal fees 
 City’s portion of State Judicial Support Fee (10 percent of fee) 
 Court costs and fees collected for the Child Safety Fund 
 Court cost for truancy prevention and diversion fund 
 Traffic fund court cost (Section 542.403, T.C.) 
 Arrest fee (Art. 102.011(a), C.C.P.) 
 Warrant fee 
 Teen Court fees 
 Witness, defendant, parents of a juvenile, or jury summons fees 
 Jury fee 
 Expunction fee 
 City’s portion of restitution fee 
 City’s portion of time payment fee 
 City’s portion of over gross weight violation court costs and fines 
 City’s portion of excess motor carrier fines 
 City’s portion of administrative fee for OmniBase program 
 Travel costs to convey prisoner or to execute process 
 Insufficient funds fees (bad/returned checks) 
 Fees for copies, etc. 

 

Do not include amounts that may be eventually retained by the city or remitted to the State but 
rebated back to the city as a service fee if the city is compliant in reporting to the Comptroller. 
These should be reported on Line 18B (below). 

 

B. Remitted to State 

Report the amount of money collected during the month that is designated to be remitted to the 
State. Include amounts that may be eventually retained by the city or remitted to the State but 
rebated back to the city as a service fee if the city is compliant in reporting to the Comptroller.  
 
Examples: 

 
 Consolidated Court Cost 
 State Traffic Fine 
 State Juror Reimbursement Fee 
 State Judicial Support Fee 
 Indigent Defense Representation Fee 
 State portion of Arrest Fee, if relevant (Art. 102.011(a), C.C.P.) 
 State portion of Warrant Fee, if relevant 
 Driving Record Fee 
 State’s portion of restitution fee 
 State’s portion of time payment fee 
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 State’s portion of over gross weight violation court costs and fines 
 State’s portion of excess motor carrier fines 
 State’s portion of administrative fee for OmniBase program, etc. 

 
C. Total 

 Report the amount of court-related money collected by the court during the month. 

Include all amounts reported in A and B above, as well as amounts sent directly to other 
entities such as school districts, OmniBase, etc.  


