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National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) 

The National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) is a centralized computer system 
providing information to federal firearms licensees (FFLs) on whether a prospective purchaser is 
eligible to receive or possess firearms. Before transferring a firearm to a non-licensed individual, 
an FFL must contact NICS for a background check on the prospective transferee. NICS then checks 
automated databases and, in cases where additional information is needed, makes follow-up 
requests to law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, or courts that may have relevant information 
demonstrating whether the individual is prohibited from receiving a firearm under state or federal 
law. NICS has 3 business days to determine whether a proposed gun transfer is prohibited. If NICS 
has not been able to make a definitive determination within that time frame, the FFL may lawfully 
transfer the firearm. 

 
House Bill 3352 (2009)   

House Bill 3352 (now codified at sections 411.052 and 411.0521 of the Government Code and 
section 574.088 of the Health and Safety Code) was passed by the 81st Texas Legislature in 2009 
to comply with and implement the requirements of the federal NICS Improvement Amendments 
Act of 2007. It requires district and county clerks to report federal prohibited person information 
as defined in Section 411.052 Government Code to the Texas Criminal Justice Information System 
(CJIS) maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The bill also requires district and 
county clerks to report to CJIS all relevant cases in which an order was previously issued from 
September 1, 1989 through August 31, 2009. 

 
 

Senate Bill 728 (2023) 
 

On June 25, 2022, the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act was signed into law. One of the most 
prominent changes to federal law under the Act was enhancing the review process for juvenile 
mental health record checks when a prospective buyer of firearms initiates a purchase from a 
Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL). The Act amended the definition of disqualifying mental health 
adjudications to include juveniles aged 16 years or older. 

 
Effective September 1, 2023, Senate Bill 728 was passed by the 88th Texas Legislature to align with 
federal law. Amending Government Code Sections 411.052(a) and 411.0521 as well as Family Code 
Section 58.007(a), it 

• Maintains the criteria for reporting an incapacitated adult under guardianship at age 18 or 
older; 
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• Changes the definition of a federal prohibited person to an individual “who is at least 16 
years of age” in the case of 
o a person ordered by a court to receive inpatient mental health services; 
o a person acquitted in a criminal case by reason of insanity or lack of mental 

responsibility; 
o a person determined to have an intellectual disability and committed by a court for 

long-term placement in a residential care facility; and 
o a person determined to be incompetent to stand trial. 

• Adds to the definition of a federal prohibited person a child involved in a juvenile case 
who is at least 16 years of age and has been 
o found unfit to proceed as a result of mental illness or an intellectual disability; 
o found not responsible for the child’s conduct as a result of mental illness or an 

intellectual disability; 
o ordered by a court to receive inpatient mental health services as a result of mental 

illness; or 
o committed by a court to a residential care facility as a result of an intellectual disability. 

Why Reporting is Important 

After the April 2007 shooting tragedy at Virginia Tech, it became apparent that very few mental 
health records had been made available to the FBI for background checks. The NICS Improvement 
Amendments Act of 2007 was passed to address the gap in information available to NICS about 
prohibiting mental health adjudications and commitments and other prohibiting factors. In 
addition, it required the automation of records to reduce delays for law-abiding gun purchasers. 
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NICS Reporting Chart 

Note: It is the signed court order or receipt of a mandate from an appellate court reversing the order in 
the cases below that trigger the reporting requirement. 

Cases to Report Case Status Patient Status Facilities Report 
Due 

1. Mental Health or Intellectual Disability Commitments – 16 years of age or older 
a. Court-Ordered Mental Order for court- Court-ordered temporary or 

extended inpatient mental 
health commitment 

State hospitals, Within 30 
Health Commitment ordered inpatient private hospitals, days of 
(Health and Safety commitment signed Veterans’ Affairs court order 
Code, Chapter 574) & filed hospitals, etc. to NICS 

 Order granting relief May petition for relief from N/A Within 30 
 from a firearms 

disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

days of court 
order to 
NICS 

   
 

 
b. Commitment to Long- 

Term Residential Care 
(Health and Safety 
Code, Subchapter C, 
Chapter 593) 

 
Order for 
commitment signed 
& filed 

 
 

Intellectually disabled 

State supported 
living center or 
ICF-IID 
component of the 
Rio Grande Ctr 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

 
N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

2. Criminal Cases – Adults (17 years or older) or Juveniles (under 17 years of age) Certified as an Adult 
 

 
a. Incompetency to Stand 

Trial (Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Chapter 
46B) 

 
Order of 
determination of 
incompetency to 
stand trial; order 
extending previously 
ordered commitment 

Found incompetent to stand 
trial, including mental illness 
or intellectual disability – 
released on bail or 
committed to treatment 
facility or jail-based 
competency restoration 
program 

Outpatient or jail- 
based 
competency 
restoration 
program, mental 
health facility, or 
residential care 
facility 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

 
b. Acquittal for reasons of 

insanity or lack of 
mental responsibility 
(Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Chapter 
46C) 

 
Final acquittal 
disposition reflecting 
insanity or lack of 
mental responsibility 

 
 
 

Insanity or lack of mental 
responsibility 

 
Regardless of 
order for 
inpatient 
treatment or 
residential care 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS and 
within 5 
days of 
disposition 
(to CJIS) 

NICS REPORTING CHART 
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Cases to Report Case Status Patient Status Facilities Report 
Due 

3. Juvenile Cases (Delinquent Conduct or Conduct Indicating a Need for Supervision) – 16 years of age 
 
 
 

 
a. Unfit to Proceed 

(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapter C or 
Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 574) 

 

 
Court finding or jury 
verdict regarding 
unfitness to proceed 
due to mental illness 
or intellectual 
disability 

 
 
 

 
Mental illness or intellectual 
disability 

Placed in 
outpatient 
program or 
private inpatient 
psychiatric facility; 
commitment to 
mental health 
facility; or 
commitment to 
residential care 
facility 

 
 

 
Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

 
N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

b. Not Responsible for 
Conduct (Family Code, 
Chapter 55, Subchapter 
D) 

Court finding or jury 
verdict regarding lack 
of responsibility due 
to mental illness or 
intellectual disability 

 
Mental illness or intellectual 
disability 

Regardless of 
order for 
inpatient 
treatment or 
residential care 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

c. Court-Ordered Mental 
Health Commitment 
(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapters B, C, or 
D or Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 574) 

Order for court- 
ordered inpatient 
commitment signed 
& filed 

Court-ordered temporary or 
extended inpatient mental 
health commitment 

State hospitals, 
private hospitals, 
etc. 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

 
N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

d. Commitment to Long- 
Term Residential Care 
(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapter C or D 
or Health and Safety 
Code, Subchapter C, 
Chapter 593) 

Order for 
commitment signed 
& filed 

 
Intellectually disabled 

State supported 
living center or 
ICF-IID 
component of the 
Rio Grande Ctr 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

 
N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 
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Cases to Report Case Status Patient Status Facilities Report 
Due 

4. Guardianships of an Adult - 18 years of age or older 
 
 
 

 
Court Appointed Guardian 
of Incapacitated Adult 
(Estates Code, Title 3) 

Order appointing 
permanent or 
temporary guardian 
signed & filed 

Incapacitated adult who 
lacks mental capacity to 
manage his/her affairs, 
requiring guardian of the 
person, estate, or person 
and estate 

 

 
None specified 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

 
Order granting relief 
from firearm 
disability signed (EC 
§1202.201) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
guardianship was 
terminated because the 
person’s capacity was 
completely restored 

 

 
N/A 

 
Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

5. Reversal of Order by Appellate Court 
 
 
 

 
Reversal of order 

 
 

 
Mandate issued by 
appellate court 

 
 
 

 
N/A 

 
 
 

 
N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
receipt of 
mandate 
from 
appellate 
court by 
clerk 

Do Not Report 

1. Guardianship of minors 4. Commitment orders for temporary or extended 
outpatient mental health services 

2. Orders for emergency mental health detentions, 
admissions, or warrants; order of protective 
custody (mental health) 

5. Applications for court-ordered inpatient mental health 
services that are transferred to another county to re-file 
or to hear your original filing 

3. Voluntary mental health commitments 6. Court-ordered inpatient chemical dependency or alcohol 
services 

7. Juvenile (Delinquent Conduct or Conduct Indicating 
a Need for Supervision) cases in which the 
respondent is under 16 years of age 
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Cases to Report 

The following types of cases must be reported: 
 

• Commitments of individuals 16 years or older for temporary or extended inpatient mental 
health services under Chapter 574, Health and Safety Code or Chapter 55, Family Code. 
This includes individuals involuntarily committed to state hospitals, private hospitals, 
Veterans’ Affairs hospitals, etc.; 

 
• Commitments of individuals 16 years or older determined to have intellectual disabilities 

requiring long-term placement in a residential care facility under Chapter 593, Health and 
Safety Code or Chapter 55, Family Code; 

 
• Acquittals in criminal cases for reasons of insanity or lack of mental responsibility, 

whether or not the person was ordered to receive inpatient treatment or residential care 
under Chapter 46C, Code of Criminal Procedure;  

 
• Criminal cases in which a person is found to be incompetent to stand trial under Chapter 

46B, Code of Criminal Procedure; 
 

• Juvenile cases in which a child at least 16 years of age is found to be unfit to proceed under 
Subchapter C, Chapter 55, Family Code; 

 
• Juvenile cases in which a child at least 16 years of age is found not responsible for the 

child’s conduct under Subchapter D, Chapter 55, Family Code; and 
 

• Cases in which the court appoints a guardian of an incapacitated adult individual under 
Title 3, Estates Code, based on the determination that the person lacks the mental capacity 
to manage his/her affairs (adult guardianships of the person, estate, or person and estate, 
including temporary guardianships). 

 
Note: It is the signed COURT ORDER in each of the cases above that triggers the reporting 
requirement. DO NOT REPORT based on the filing of a medical or psychological examination 
report presented as evidence; there must be an order filed by the court. 

DO NOT REPORT: 

• Guardianships of minors; 
• Emergency mental health detentions, admissions or warrants; 
• Orders of protective custody; 
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• Voluntary commitments; 
• Commitments for temporary or extended outpatient mental health services; 
• Applications for court-ordered inpatient mental health services that are forwarded to 

another county to re-file or to hear your original filing; and 
• Court-ordered inpatient chemical dependency or alcohol services. 

 
Information related to reporting mental health commitments, criminal cases, and adult 
guardianships is reviewed in greater detail in the following sections. 

 
Mental Health Commitments 

Court ordered involuntary mental health commitments of individuals age 16 or older for 
temporary or extended inpatient mental health services, including persons committed to state 
hospitals, private hospitals, Veterans’ Affairs hospitals, etc. must be reported. This requirement 
also includes the following scenarios: 

• If an individual has more than one commitment order, all should be reported. 
• If a court initially issues a temporary commitment order and then later issues an extended 

commitment order (or another temporary commitment order), each commitment order 
is reported. 

• The initial commitment order for extended mental health services and a renewal order 
for extended mental health services are each reported. 

The clerk must file a new case for each application for court-ordered inpatient mental health 
services, whether temporary or extended, and assign a new cause number to each. However, 
some clerks are filing multiple applications for commitment orders for the same individual under 
the same cause number. In those counties where the same cause number (e.g., 12345) is used for 
multiple applications for commitment orders for the same individual, the clerk should report each 
order into CJIS/NICS by adding a numerical suffix, such as a dash and a “1” (e.g., “-1”) after the 
cause number (e.g., 12345-1) to designate the initial commitment order, a “-2” for the second 
commitment order (e.g., 12345-2), etc. 
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Criminal Cases 

Report cases in which a defendant (including a juvenile tried as an adult) was acquitted for 
reasons of insanity or lack of mental responsibility, whether the person was ordered to receive 
inpatient treatment or residential care under Chapter 46C, Code of Criminal Procedure. Also 
report cases in which a defendant is found to be incompetent to stand trial under Chapter 46B, 
Code of Criminal Procedure. 

A signed court order triggers the reporting requirement for these cases; do not report the cases 
based solely on a medical or psychological examination report, there must be an order based on 
the findings in the examination. 

In a case in which a defendant is found by the court to remain incompetent and ordered to 
continue to be committed, the judicial finding that the defendant remains incompetent is not 
reported – only the original incompetency finding is reported. However, the order continuing the 
defendant’s commitment is reported. This type of order is commonly called a “criminal 
commitment.” If the clerk does not give a separate cause number to the “criminal commitment” 
order, then the clerk should report the criminal commitment order under the original criminal 
cause number into CJIS/NICS by adding a numerical suffix, such as a dash and a “1” (e.g., “-1”) 
after the cause number (e.g., 12345-1) to designate the criminal commitment order. 

If a person found incompetent to stand trial is later found competent, the NICS entry for that 
person remains in the database. Section 411.0521 of the Government Code states that the duty 
of a clerk to prepare and forward information is not affected by any subsequent appeal of the 
court order, any subsequent modification of the court order, or the expiration of the court order. 
To regain his/her rights to obtain or possess a firearm, the person must petition the court that 
entered the prohibiting order and present evidence during a hearing demonstrating that he/she 
is no longer a danger to public safety. 

 
Adult Guardianships 

Cases in which the court appoints a guardian of an incapacitated adult individual under Title 3, 
Estates Code, based on the determination that the person lacks the mental capacity to manage 
his/her affairs (adult guardianships of the person, estate, or person and estate, and 
temporary guardianships) must be reported. This requirement also includes the following 
scenarios: 

• Report guardianship cases in which Texas Health and Human Services is appointed as the 
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guardian of an incapacitated adult. 
• Report cases in which a guardian of the person or guardian of the person and estate is 

appointed for a person found to be partially incapacitated. 
• Report cases in which a guardian of the person or guardian of the person and estate was 

appointed, even if the court later issued an order closing the guardianship after decreeing 
that the person was restored to full legal capacity. These cases must still be reported; 
however, effective January 1, 2014, a person whose guardianship was terminated 
because the person’s capacity was completely restored may file an application with the 
court that created the guardianship for an order requesting the removal of the person’s 
disability to obtain or possess a firearm (see Section 1202.201 of the Estates Code). The 
person who is the subject of the order will need to submit the order to FBI/NICS to be 
removed from the database. 

Do not report guardianships of minors. If the subject of a minor guardianship becomes an adult, 
the minor guardianship should still not be reported. Instead, an application for adult guardianship 
should be filed, if relevant. If an adult guardianship is granted, the adult guardianship must then 
be reported to CJIS. 

Do not report the appointment of a successor guardian. (Note: Sometimes a judge may refer to 
a successor guardian as an alternate guardian.) Although a successor guardian is appointed, the 
order does not create a new guardianship, it modifies the existing guardianship. 

 
Data to Report 

All records must contain the following information: 
• Court ORI 
• Case Number 
• Case Type 
• Court Date (Date of order/judgment) 
• First Name (Note: Generic names (i.e. Jane Doe) or initials only (i.e., J. Doe) are not accepted by the FBI.) 
• Last Name (Note: Generic names (i.e. John Doe) or initials only (i.e. John D.) are not accepted by the FBI.) 
• Date of Birth (Note: All three fields of the DOB (MMDDYYYY) must be filled out and have valid data.) 
• Sex 
• Race (Note: you may select “Unknown”) 

 
The following fields are optional: 
• State Identification Number 
• Social Security Number 
• Driver License Number 
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Report all fields possible. While the identifying number fields are optional, they are important 
in accurately identifying the individual who is the subject of the prohibiting order and should 
be reported when available. 

 
New Cases 

New cases are cases in which the court issued a reportable order on or after September 1, 2009. 
These cases must be entered into CJIS not later than 30 days after the date of the court order. If 
an appellate court reverses an order previously reported, the entry in CJIS must be cancelled by 
the clerk not later than 30 days after the clerk receives the mandate from the appellate court. 

Clerks should capture and report all required data elements for new cases. Changes to processes, 
forms, and case management systems may be needed to capture the information required for case 
entry into CJIS within the 30-day timeframe. 

 
Older Cases 
 
When House Bill 3352 was enacted in 2009, it required clerks to submit by September 1, 2010 
records for cases in which an order was issued on or after September 1, 1989 and before 
September 1, 2009. Although this deadline has passed, older cases must still be entered until all 
required reporting is completed. 

The clerk can research which older cases are reportable by: 

• Running reports from the case management system to identify cases that may need 
to be reported; and 

• Reviewing docket books to find potentially reportable cases and preparing a list of 
those cases. 

If a list is generated from the case management system or by reviewing docket books, the clerk 
must review the actual case files to confirm each reportable case. For example, in a mental health 
case, the signed commitment order for inpatient treatment must be reviewed. After a case is 
confirmed to be reportable, the clerk will obtain the data required for record entry from the case 
file (case number, court date, case type, first name, last name, date of birth, sex, race and any 
available identifiers). 
 
For those clerk offices where lists cannot be generated from the case management system or the 
review of docket books, each case file must be reviewed to determine which cases meet the 
criteria to be reported. 
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Mental Health Information Sheet 

A Mental Health Information sheet is recommended for collecting the necessary information to 
enter mental health cases into the NICS database. See Appendix A for a sample form. The court 
can require the form to be submitted with each mental health case that is filed. 

Guardianship Information Sheet 

A Guardianship Information sheet is recommended for collecting the necessary information to 
enter adult guardianship cases into the NICS database. See Appendix B for a sample form. The 
court can require the form to be submitted with each adult guardianship case that is filed. 

How to Find Missing Identifiers 

For cases that are missing required identifying information, additional research should be 
conducted to find the missing information. All available data sources, such as the case 
management system, jail records, and skip tracing databases should be used to obtain the missing 
identifying information. In addition, clerks in nearby counties may be contacted to determine if 
they have any additional information on the individuals. Keep a list of cases with insufficient 
identifiers for entry into CJIS/NICS, if the information becomes available later. 

 
How to Report Cases in CJIS 

The NICS Indices Entry (NIE) User Guide is produced by DPS and can be found at:  

Texas NICS Indices Entry Reporting | Department of Public Safety 

 
Zero Reports 
 
For each month in which there are no reportable cases, the clerk must enter a “zero report” into 
CJIS to be considered in compliance with reporting requirements. A zero report must be entered 
for each ORI under which a clerk reports, regardless of whether the court is a designated to hear 
Mental Health cases. Please see the NICS User Guide for reporting instructions. 
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Responding to Inquiries from the FBI 

NICS has 3 business days to determine whether a proposed firearm transfer is prohibited. If NICS 
has not been able to make a definitive determination within that time frame, the federal firearm 
licensee may lawfully transfer the firearm. 

The NICS Section of the FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division may contact clerks for 
additional or clarifying information if additional research is needed on a potential match of the 
prospective firearm transferee’s descriptive information to that of record information located in 
NICS. It is critical for the clerk to respond to NICS inquiries as soon as possible to help NICS meet 
their 3 business day requirement. If NICS does not get a response to their request for additional 
or clarifying information, the sale of the firearm can proceed. 

Data Validation and Audits 

The FBI requires DPS to conduct validations on the data submitted to NICS. DPS pulls a sample of 
cases for a county, then asks the clerk to submit documentation (court orders) validating the NICS 
entry. It is important to respond to the NICS validation request in a timely manner. If counties do 
not comply with the validation request, the FBI will purge all NICS records for that county. 

 
An FBI audit is more detailed than the validation process. For audits, the FBI requires a copy of the 
court order for each entry selected for audit, so that they can ensure the entry is valid and meets 
statutory authority. The FBI requires compliance with audits for anyone that submits records to 
their databases. If a clerk does not provide a copy of the requested order(s), the clerk will receive 
a letter from the FBI and DPS stating that he/she has failed the audit. The clerk must respond by 
stating the corrective actions that will be taken. Clerks who fail to correct and submit the requested 
order(s) can be cut off from participating in the NICS database. 

Record Retention Requirements 

Record Retention Schedules specifically for mental health-related cases reported to CJIS/NICS are 
addressed under several different record series (e.g., criminal, probate, commitment, and 
admission to state care) which have different retention periods. Although the current retention 
periods for these case records is generally long, caution would favor a permanent retention period 
so that essential records would be available if needed for establishing a person’s identity, resolving 
some other issue relating to a person’s ability to obtain or possess firearms, or situations in which 
a person seeks relief from a firearms disability. 
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As part of the original review, the issue of records related to entry of the required pieces of 
information was raised. Title 37 of the Texas Administrative Code, Sec. 27.141, mandates the clerk 
of the court to enter the required information electronically via the website provided by DPS. If the 
clerk creates a “report” with the information and uses it to enter the information, that report is 
transitory information (record number GR1000-50) with a retention period of AV, or as long as 
administratively valuable. The report is not essential to fulfill statutory obligations or document 
government functions; the info is collected from the case papers for the sole purpose of facilitating 
entry into CJIS. Clerks may destroy these reports after they enter the information. 

 
In summary, 

• Records series already exist for the case papers that resulted in a person being reportable; 
• Petitions for orders for relief from firearms disability and hearing papers are civil case 

papers that fall under records retention series for civil case papers; 
• A report collecting the 12 required data elements for entry in the NICS website is a 

transitory record and does not have to be retained after entry. 

There is no penalty for keeping the records longer than the legally required minimum – any record 
may be kept permanently if that policy is adopted internally at a county or district clerk’s office. 

 
Best Practices 

A recommended best practice is to segregate the NICS mental health-related records from other 
case records and maintain them in a location that is easy to access. Ease of access is important if 
the FBI requests additional or clarifying information to determine whether a person is eligible to 
purchase a firearm. 

Another record retention best practice, for cases in which the clerk has located personal 
identifying information from other databases or sources (such as case management system, jail 
and skip tracing records), is to make photocopies of the personal identifying information obtained 
from those databases or sources and keep those copies in the file for the case that is reported to 
CJIS/NICS. [Note: It was a recommendation of the NICS Record Improvement Task Force that clerks 
search other databases and sources when personal identifying information is not in the case file.] 

Relief from Disability 

Relief from disability refers to the process by which individuals who have lost the right to purchase 
a firearm (i.e., individuals entered into the CJIS/NICS database) can petition the court to restore 
their right to purchase a firearm. Individuals that were entered into the CJIS/NICS database must 
go through the relief from disability process to be removed from the database. 
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Mental Health 

Section 574.088 of the Health and Safety Code provides for the relief from disabilities in mental 
health cases. A person who is discharged from court-ordered mental health services may petition 
the court that entered the commitment order for an order stating that the person qualifies for 
relief from a firearms disability. Section 574.088 provides detailed information about the 
proceeding that must be held, and the findings required to restore a person’s right to purchase a 
firearm. If all requirements are met, the individual’s NICS record may be cancelled through CJIS. 
To complete the record cancellation in a case in which a proceeding has been held and all 
appropriate findings and an order granting relief from disability are entered in the record, answer 
“Y” to the Relief from Disabilities question in CJIS/NICS. 

Guardianship 

Section 1202.201 of the Estates Code permits a person whose guardianship was terminated 
because the person’s capacity was completely restored to file an application with the court that 
created the guardianship for an order requesting the removal of the person’s disability to 
purchase a firearm. Section 1202.201 provides detailed information about the proceeding that 
must be held, and the findings required to restore a person’s right to purchase a firearm. If all 
requirements are met and an order granting relief from disability is entered by the court, the 
individual’s NICS record may be cancelled through CJIS/NICS. To complete the record cancellation 
in a case in which a proceeding has been held and all appropriate findings are entered in the 
record, answer “Y” to the Relief from Disabilities question. 

Canceling a Record in the CJIS/NICS Database 

When cancelling a record in the NICS indices one of the following Cancellation Reasons must be 
selected.  

• Invalid NICS Entry (after additional review, audit) 
• Deceased 
• Relief of Disabilities Court Order 
• Correction with Re-Entry 
• Supporting Documentation Not Available 
• Reported to/is in III/CCH (Only for MCFV Entries) 
• Other (Rarely Used) 

If Other is selected as the cancellation reason, an explanation is required. In addition, if the record 
is Mental Health/Guardianship, select Yes or No from the drop down for the Relief from 
Disabilities question.  
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The Relief from Disabilities question will only appear with Other selection - all other Cancellation 
Reasons have a default description.  Select Cancel Record to remove the entry.  

For additional information on canceling a record, follow the instructions in the NICS Indices Entry 
(NIE) User Guide.  

 

Additional Questions 

For questions about what type of cases to report, contact Court Services, Office of Court Administration, 
at courtservices@txcourts.gov  or 512-463-2417. 

 
For NICS Reporting questions and record validation, contact your CJIS Field Auditor directly or the CJIS 
Field Audit Unit: CJISJJIS@dps.texas.gov 

 
For questions about CJIS access and ORIs, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety- EDR Unit, at 
GRP_CJIS_SITE@dps.texas.gov. 
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Appendix A- Sample Mental Health Information Sheet 
 

CAUSE NO. <CAUSE #> 
THE STATE OF TEXAS 
FOR THE BEST INTEREST 
AND PROTECTION OF 

§ IN THE <COURT NAME> 

<PROPOSED PATIENT INITIALS> § OF 
THE PROPOSED PATIENT § <COUNTY NAME> COUNTY, TEXAS 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

1. Applicant’s name:   
Address:  
Telephone:  
Cell number:  

2. Patient’s Unit (if applicable):   
3. Relationship, if any, to patient:   
4. Patient’s gender:   
5. Patient’s age and date of birth:   
6. Patient’s DL# or State-issued ID: (either give the number or indicate with your initials that you were unable to ID) 

Number:  OR Initial if unable to ID:   
7. Patient’s SSN#: (either give the number or indicate with your initials that you were unable to get the SSN) 

Number:  OR Initial if unable to get SSN:   
8. Patient’s race:  Caucasian  Black  Hispanic  Asian 

 Two or More Races  Unknown 
9. If patient is a minor or the subject of a guardianship, the parent(s), managing conservator(s), 

or guardian(s), and their address for service: 
 

10. Who is responsible for costs and expenses? Please complete this section. 
( ) Hospital; indicate name of hospital:   

 
(  ) Healthcare District  (  ) <COUNTY NAME> County 
(  ) Other County**:   

If a County other than <COUNTY NAME> is guaranteeing costs, give County name above, and add the following 
information below (1) Person you spoke with, (2) Court and court number represented, (3) telephone number, and (4) 
when contacted. **Attach Paperwork from Transferring County** 

 
 

11. Physician/Psychiatrist, if any, treating patient:   

12. Prior psychiatric/chemical dependency history:   
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13. The proposed patient has the following pending criminal charges: 
 

14. Current temporary expiration date: or extended expiration date:   
15. How entered hospital? Check one, and attach required back-up: 

 Emergency without warrant (attach Mental Health Unit copies) 
 Emergency with a warrant (attach copy) 
 Voluntary 
If originally voluntary and facility is now seeking a commitment, check appropriate reason, 
and attach required back-up: 
 Written request for release (attach copy) 
 Absent without authorization (attach letter from treating physician) 
 Unable to consent to treatment (attach letter from treating physician) 
  Refuses to consent to treatment (physician must complete item 10 on physician’s 

certificate) 
16. Date, time, and circumstances of emergency detention: 

 

 

 

 

17. Acts leading to application: 
 

 

 

 

18. Witnesses’ names, addresses, and phone numbers: 
 

 

Family contact:   
 

19. What mental health facility or chemical dependency treatment facility is proposed patient 
going to? If private facility, consent must be obtained (attach letter of confirmation): 

 

20. Person or agency who is to transport patient: 
 

SIGNED AND DATED THIS day of , 20 . 

 

TEXAS COLLEGE OF PROBATE JUDGES March 2020 Applicant 
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Appendix B—Sample Guardianship NICS Information Sheet 

Guardianship Reporting Form (Sec. 411.052, Government Code) 

Cause No.   

Name of Ward:    

Date of Birth:   

Gender (circle): Male Female 

Race:    

Social Security #:   

TX Driver’s License/ID #:   

Date Guardianship Granted:   

Type of Guardianship (circle all that apply): 

Temporary 

Person Only 

Permanent 

Estate Only 

 
 

 
Person & Estate 

Full guardianship (no rights retained by ward)? Yes No 

Limited guardianship (some rights retained by ward)? Yes No 

If yes, rights retained by ward: 
   

Driving? Yes No 

Voting? Yes No 

Other (describe):   

Basis for Guardianship (circle all that apply): 

Mental retardation Autism Mental Illness Stroke 

Alzheimer’s Dementia Head Injury Parkinson’s Disease  

Other (explain)   
 
 
 

The information requested above is necessary for compliance with Government Code, Sec. 411.052, Federal Firearm Reporting. This 

information is confidential and will not be made part of the Court’s file in the referenced guardianship matter. 

 
 

TEXAS COLLEGE OF PROBATE JUDGES March 2020 
 


