## Supreme Court of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 24-9042

## **Emergency Order Authorizing Modification of Time Periods** in Certain Justice Courts Affected by Disaster

## **ORDERED** that:

- 1. Hurricane Beryl struck Texas on Monday, July 8, 2024. On July 5, 2024, Acting Governor Dan Patrick preemptively declared a state of disaster in 40 counties, and on July 6, 2024, he expanded the declaration to 81 additional counties.
- 2. Court proceedings in some counties have been and continue to be affected by the disaster because of closures of courts and clerks' offices and difficulties with access, electricity, internet, travel, and communication by lawyers, parties, and others.
- 3. Upon request by local judicial leaders and pursuant to Section 22.0035(b) of the Texas Government Code, justice courts in Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Matagorda, and Montgomery counties that have been prevented from complying with a deadline in a civil case because the court's normal operations have been disrupted by the disaster may:
  - a. consider the disaster as good cause under Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 500.5 for extending a time period in the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure or local rules, including appeal and new trial deadlines, until July 26, 2024; and
  - b. postpone statutory deadlines until July 26, 2024, if the court finds that the postponement is necessary to facilitate the orderly resumption of the court's normal operations.
  - 4. This Order expires on July 26, 2024, unless extended by the Court.
  - 5. The Clerk of the Supreme Court is directed to:
    - a. post a copy of this Order on www.txcourts.gov;
    - b. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State; and

- c. send a copy of this Order to the Governor, the Attorney General, and each member of the Legislature.
- 6. The State Bar of Texas is directed to take all reasonable steps to notify members of the Texas bar of this Order.

Dated: July 12, 2024.

At PRIL
Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice
Delra H. Lehrman
Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
Jeffrey S. Boyd, Justice
John P. Devine, Justice
James D. Blacklock, Justice
Sett Buelow
J Brett Busby, Justice
Jane N. Bland, Justice
Jane N. Bland, Justice
Rebeca A. Huddle, Justice
Evan A. Young, Justice
Evan A. <b>Mo</b> un <b>g</b> , Justice