

OFFICE OF COURT ADMINISTRATION

MEGAN LAVOIE Administrative Director

JUDICIAL SALARIES

The salary of Texas judges varies by court level and years of service. The state base salary of a district judge (\$140,000) serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service and for calculating the minimum salaries of the appellate, county court at law, and statutory probate court justices and judges. The following is a summary of judicial salaries in Texas effective through August 31, 2025.

DISTRICT COURT JUDGES

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1) and 659.012(b))

	State	State Longevity	Maximum County	Total Maximum
Years of Service	Salary	Рау	Supplement	Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$140,000	\$0	\$18,000	\$158,000
4-8 years	\$154,000	\$0	\$18,000	\$172,000
8+ years	\$168,000	\$0	\$18,000	\$186,000
12+ years (Longevity)	\$168,000	\$8,400	\$18,000	\$194,400

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A district judge is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

District Judge County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1), 659.012(e), and 32.001)

District judges are eligible to receive up to \$18,000 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount over \$18,000 will result in the district judge's state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between district court and court of appeals justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(1), Tex. Government Code.

BUSINESS COURT JUDGES (Effective September 1, 2024)

		State
	State	Longevity
Years of Service	Salary	Pay
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$140,000	\$0
4-8 years	\$154,000	\$0
8+ years	\$168,000	\$0
12+ years (Longevity)	\$168,000	\$8,400

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1), 659.012(b), and 25A.011)

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A business court judge is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1) and 32.001)

Business court judges are not eligible to receive county supplements.

COURT OF APPEALS JUSTICES

$1^{\text{st}} - 14^{\text{th}}$ Appellate Districts

	Charles	State	Maximum	Total
Years of Service	State Salary	Longevity Pay	County Supplement	Maximum Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$154,000	\$0	\$9,000	\$163,000
4-8 years	\$169,400	\$0	\$9,000	\$178,400
8+ years	\$184,800	\$0	\$9,000	\$193,800
12+ years (Longevity)	\$184,800	\$9,240	\$9,000	\$203,040

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(2))

The base salary of a justice on a court of appeals is 110% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of a court of appeals is entitled to an additional \$2,500 in their base salary.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county

Judicial Salaries, Updated June 2024 Page 3

court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A court of appeals justice is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

Court of Appeals Justice County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(2), 659.012(e), and 31.001)

Court of appeals justices are eligible to receive up to \$9,000 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount over \$9,000 will result in the justice's state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between court of appeals and supreme court justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(2), Tex. Government Code.

		State
	State	Longevity
Years of Service	Salary	Рау
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$163,000	\$0
4-8 years	\$178,400	\$0
8+ years	\$193,800	\$0
12+ years (Longevity)	\$193,800	\$9,240

15TH APPELLATE DISTRICT (Effective September 1, 2024)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(3))

The base salary of a justice on the 15th Court of Appeals is \$5,000 less than 120% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of the 15th Court of Appeals is entitled to an additional \$2,500.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A justice on the 15th Court of Appeals is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

Court of Appeals Justice County Supplement: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(3) and 31.001) Justices on the 15th Court of Appeals are not eligible to receive county supplements.

	State	State Longevity	Total Maximum
Years of Service	Salary	Pay	Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$168,000	\$0	\$168,000
4-8 years	\$184,800	\$0	\$184,800
8+ years	\$201,600	\$0	\$201,600
12+ years (Longevity)	\$201,600	\$10,080	\$211,680

SUPREME COURT JUSTICES AND COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS JUDGES

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(a)(3))

The base salary of a justice on the Supreme Court of Texas and a judge on the Court of Criminal Appeals is 120% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of the Supreme Court of Texas and the presiding judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals are entitled to an additional \$2,500 in their base salary.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in the Judicial Retirement System Plan I or Plan II while serving as a state district, business, or appellate court judge or justice, and years of service as a judge or full-time associate judge of a district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, part-time associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 659.012(b))

A judge or justice on the Court of Criminal Appeals or the Supreme Court of Texas is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge or justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

COUNTY COURT AT LAW JUDGES (CCAL)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005)

Years of Service	Minimum County Salary (assuming maximum District Judge county supplement)*	Maximum County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$157,000	\$193,400
4-8 years	\$171,000	\$193,400
8+ years	\$185,000	\$193,400
12+ years	\$185,000**	\$193,400

*If a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of \$18,000, the minimum county salary amount for a CCAL judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed (\$18,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

**If a district judge in the county with comparable years of service is receiving state longevity pay (\$8,400 – Gov't Code Sec. 659.0445(b)), the minimum county salary is \$193,400. (See Office of the Attorney General Opinion No. KP-0339 (Oct. 23, 2020)).

Judicial Salaries, Updated June 2024 Page 5

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

A CCAL judge's minimum salary is \$1,000 less than the sum of the annual salary for a district judge with comparable years of service as the CCAL judge plus any state and county contributions and supplements paid to a district judge in the county. This is a minimum salary – a CCAL judge may receive a higher salary than the minimum to which the CCAL judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes of this calculation: 1) the total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Government Code, by a district judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the CCAL judge's county only contributes a portion or none of the district judge's supplement amount; 2) if a district judge in the county receives state longevity pay under Sec. 659.0445(b) of the Government Code, this amount should be included when calculating the minimum salary for a CCAL judge with 12 or more years of service, and 3) the salary paid to a regional presiding judge for his or her service as a regional presiding judge is not considered a state or county supplement or contribution).

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a-2))

A CCAL judge's maximum salary is \$1,000 less than the highest salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus longevity). For the 2020-21 biennium, a CCAL judge's maximum salary is \$193,400 ([DJ Salary of \$168,000 + County Supplement of \$18,000 + Longevity Pay of \$8,400] - \$1,000).

Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of service as a justice or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Government Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, business court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0005(a-1))

A CCAL judge is entitled to the increased salary on the first day of the county's fiscal year following the date the CCAL judge becomes eligible for the higher salary.

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0015)

The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each CCAL judge in the county is set at 60% of a district judge's base pay. The state contribution remains the same regardless of which salary tier the CCAL judge falls under. Because a district judge's base pay is \$140,000, the amount of the state contribution provided to the counties is \$84,000.

STATUTORY PROBATE COURT JUDGES (SPC)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023)

Years of Service	Minimum County Salary (assuming maximum District Judge county supplement)*	Maximum County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary)	\$158,000	\$193,400
4-8 years	\$172,000	\$193,400
8+ years	\$186,000	\$193,400
12+ years	\$186,000**	\$193,400

*If a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of \$18,000, the minimum county salary amount for a SPC judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed (\$18,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

**If a district judge in the county with comparable years of service is receiving state longevity pay (\$8,400 – Gov't Code Sec. 659.0445(b)), the minimum county salary is \$193,400. (See Office of the Attorney General Opinion No. KP-0339 (Oct. 23, 2020)).

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

A SPC judge's minimum salary is an amount equal to the sum of the annual salary for a district judge with comparable years of service as the SPC judge plus any state and county contributions and supplements paid to a district judge in the county. This is a minimum salary – a SPC judge may receive a higher salary than the minimum to which the judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes of this calculation: 1) the total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Gov't Code, by a district judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the SPC judge's county only contributes a portion or none of the district judge's supplement amount; 2) if a district judge in the county receives state longevity pay under Sec. 659.0445(b) of the Government Code, this amount should be included when calculating the minimum salary for a SPC judge with 12 or more years of service, and 3) the salary paid to a regional presiding judge or the presiding judge of the statutory probate courts in the state for their service as presiding judges is not considered a state or county supplement or contribution.)

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a-2))

A SPC judge's maximum salary is \$1,000 less than the highest salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus longevity). For the 2020-21 biennium, a SPC judge's maximum salary is \$193,400 ([DJ Salary of \$168,000 + County Supplement of \$18,000 + Longevity Pay of \$8,400] - \$1,000).

Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of service as a justice or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court, or as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or county attorney. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Government Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, business court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023(a-1))

A SPC judge is entitled to the increased salary on the first day of the county's fiscal year following the date the SPC judge becomes eligible for the higher salary.

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.00211)

The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each SPC judge in the county is set at 60% of a district judge's base pay. The state contribution remains the same regardless of which salary tier the SPC judge falls under. Because a district judge's base pay is \$140,000, the amount of the state contribution provided to the counties is \$84,000.