Supreme Court of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 24-9028

Order Approving Fiscal Year 2024-2025 Budget of the State Bar of Texas and Promulgating Statutory Fee Increase

WHEREAS, the State Bar of Texas has petitioned the Supreme Court of Texas to review and approve its budget for the fiscal year 2024-2025; and

WHEREAS, the Court has reviewed such proposed budget; and

WHEREAS, it appears to the Court that all procedural antecedents have been complied with, including the public hearing and the notice to the membership; and

WHEREAS, it appears to the Court that the proposed budget should be approved; and

WHEREAS, the State Bar Board of Directors approved a fee increase of 10 percent by unanimous vote at its April 19, 2024 meeting pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 81.022(a-4); and

WHEREAS, the Court finds that no fee increase has been made by the State Bar Board of Directors in a six-year period and that such increase will not exceed 10 percent pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 81.022(a-4);

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that the proposed budget for fiscal year 2024-2025 of the State Bar of Texas, as submitted to this Court, is hereby approved and the State Bar fee increases shown below and approved by the State Bar Board of Directors on April 19, 2024 shall be effective for the 2025-2026 budget cycle:

For lawyers, including non-residents, who are licensed:

- less than three years, the previous \$68.00 fee is increased to \$74.00;
- from three to less than five years, the previous \$148.00 fee is increased to \$162.00; and
- at least five years, the previous \$235.00 fee is increased to \$258.00.

For lawyers who are:

- inactive, the previous \$50.00 fee is increased to \$55.00; and
- at least seventy years of age in the calendar year, the previous \$0 fee is to remain \$0.

The 2025-2026 budget shall reflect these changes and that budget will be considered further by this Court in the State Bar's budget process in 2025.

DATED this 28th day of May, 2024.

JUSTICE DEVINE and JUSTICE BLACKLOCK dissent.

Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice

Jeffrey S. Boyd, Justice

John P. Devine, Justice

James D. Blacklock, Justice

Brett Busby, Justice

ane N. Bland, Justice

Rebeca A. Huddle, Justice

Evan A. Young, Justice