IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 94- 9049

APPROVAL OF LOCAL RULES
OF THE 31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

ORDERED:

Pursuant to Rule 3a of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, the Supreme Court approves the
following local rules, which have been submitted to this Court:-

Local Rules of Practice of the 31st Judicial District, dated February 1, 1994.

The approval of these rules is temporary, pending further orders of the Court.
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OFFICE OF COURT
ADMINISTRATION

CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL

As presiding judge of the administrative judicial region covering the affected counties,
I approve the local rules of the 31st District Court dated February 1, 1994.
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WHEELER COUNTY
Local Rules of Practice
of :
The 31st Judicial District of Texas

Rule 1

Rule 1.10. Time Standards for Case Processing

The 31st Judicial District Court of Wheeler County, Texas
adopts the time standards for disposition of cases as established
by the Constitution, Statutes, or by Rule of the Supreme Court
Rules of Judicial Administration, as follows:

a. Criminal Cases
As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal
Procedure. :
b. Civil Cases Other Than Family Law
1. Civil Jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
2. Civil Non-jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
c. Complex Cases

It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special
circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

d. Family Law Cases

1. Contested Family Law cases
Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

2. Uncontested Family Law Cases
Within 3 monhths from appearance date or within 3
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

3. Failure to Timely File Required Documents
The failure to timely file the inventories and
appraisement, affidavits, or statements or proposed
‘property divisions, may result, in addition to
other sanctions provided by law, in the continuance
of temporary support or in the discontinuance of
same, depending on the party failing to comply with
these rules.

Rule 1.11 Court Sessions

Each Monday of every sixth week, and following said Monday by
twenty-four days, each Thursday of every sixth week is set aside
for the trial of uncontested matters, with the first priority given
to family cases, on a first come-first serve basis.

The Court Administrator shall set the docket for this day.
All other settings will be made by the District Judge, with the



notification to be made by the Attorney requesting setting.
Rule 1.14. Request for Settings - Non-jury Cases

a. At any time after the filing of an answer upon the
request of any party or the Judge’s own motion, the Court
Administrator, acting upon the direction of the Judge, shall set
the case for trial on the non-jury docket.

b. When requesting a setting for a non-jury trial, the
approximate length of time required for the trial shall be given in
order to facilitate scheduling.

c. The request for a non-jury trial setting may be made by
telephone or by mail.

Rule 1.20. Dismissal Dockets, Involuntary Dismissal

a. A dismissal docket shall periodically be made regarding
cases that have been idle for a substantial period of time. Notice
of such dismissals shall be pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure. Any request in response to a dismissal notice
must be made in writing and must be filed with the clerk and a copy
sent to the District Judge. Failure to appear ready at any setting
made following such request will result in immediate dismissal.

b. In each calendar month, the Court Administrator shall
prepare, and the Court Clerk shall mail to each attorney of record
(or if there be no attorney for any party, to such party) in each
domestic relations case (annulment, divorce, and modification of
custody, visitation and support) which has been on file more than
1l year, the following notice:

NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE

Pursuant to the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Local
Rules of the Court, the above cause will be dismissed for want
of prosecution unless a written request for setting is made
within 15 days of the mailing of this notice.

When, after such notice, a written request for setting is
made, the case shall be set for a day certain and shall be tried on
such day or shall be dismissed.

When a case 1s dismissed, the Clerk shall notify the parties
or their attorneys of such dismissal and the date of same.

Rule 3.13. Motion for Continuance

a. No agreed continuance by attorneys after a case is set is
permitted without approval of the Court. Except for a showing of
good cause for a continuance, the case will automatically be placed
Last on the jury request list.

PURSUANT TO RULE 141, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, IF A JURY
CASE IS SETTLED OR CONTINUED WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF TRIAL



SETTINGS, THE PARTIES MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY THE COST OF SUMMONING
AN UNUSED JURY PANEL.

b. No party shall be entitled to rely upon an agreement
entered into between parties or counsel to pass or continue a case
unless such agreement is reduced to writing and approved by the
Court.

Rule 3.14. Motion for Default Judgment

All requests for settings for default judgments shall be made
by telephone, in person, or by mail from the movant after the
-appearance date of the defendant has passed. A hearing date and
time shall be set by the Court Administrator.

Rule 3.19. Pre-Trial Conferences

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference
pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court
may order such a conference if it appears from the Clerk’s file
that the case has remained inactive for 180 days. The court may
enter an order following each pre-trial conference which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Rule 3.27. Jury Charges, Witness List and Exhibits

Counsel for each party will submit a proposed Charge of the:
Court, Witness List and List of Exhibits to the Court no later than
noon on the Wednesday prior to the jury week for which the case is
set for trial.

Rule 6.14. Appearance of Defendant and Counsel/Court Attendance
(Criminal)

Immediately upon employment or court appointment, the defense
attorney shall give written notice thereof to the District Attorney
and the District Clerk stating the name of the accused, the
offense(s) charged and cause number, if known. The Clerk will note
the attorney’s name on the docket sheet and indicate whether he/she
is retained or Court appointed.

Rule 6.15. Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel (Criminal)

No attorney will be allowed to withdraw from a case without
there first being a hearing to determine the reason if the motion
is granted so the Defendant can fully be advised of his rights, and
the last known address of the Defendant is provided by the
withdrawing attorney. '

A lawyer who has entered an appearance and becomes counsel of
record; by being retained, by signing a bail bond, or by
appointment may not withdraw as counsel of record except by
permission of the Court.



Rule 6.18. Docket Calls/Announcements (Criminal)

The State must appear at all docket calls to announce "ready"
or "not ready." Unless an announcement of "ready" for trial is
made in writing or by phone not less than one (1) nor more than
seven (7) days prior to docket call, the defendant shall appear at
docket call. An announcement of ready is a representation to the
Court, signed by the defense attorney and the defendant that the
defendant is available for trial and has actually received notice
of the setting for which the announcement is made.

Rule 6.19. Continuance/Resetting Postponement (Criminal)

No case will be continued without a written motion for
continuance, unless the attorneys for both sides agree to a
continuance then only upon receiving a resetting date from the
Court Administrator.

Rule 6.20. Plea Bargains (Criminal)

The District Attorney shall advise the Judge, in advance of
trial, of the results of any plea bargain negotiations in a pending
criminal case.

Rule 6.22. Speedy Trial (Criminal)

Justice demands the speedy disposition of all criminal cases.

All Felony cases should be set for trial no later than 45 days
after” indictment or arrest whichever period is longer.

Cases not reached on the date set may be carried from day to
day at the discretion of the trial judge.

The trial preference for docketed cases shall be as follows:

Cases in which:

a. The defendant is incarcerated in the Wheeler County Jail.
b. A child is the victim.

c. A crime of violence is alleged.

All other cases will be tried in order of their age. The

oldest cases shall be tried first.
Rule 6.26. Witnesses/Evidence (Criminal)

Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence will govern matters
pertaining to witnesses and evidence.

Rule 6.28. Jury Trials (Civil and Criminal)

dury arguments are to be conducted from the lectern and the
attorney should refrain from walking about in front of the jury and



sitting on tables, etc.
Rule 6.32 Judgments/Orders

Judgments will be prepared as required by Article 42.01 C.C.P.
Rule 10.13. Conduct/Decorum of Person in Court

(1) All persons in the courtroom during the pendency of any
hearing shall be attentive to the proceedings of this Court and
shall refrain from any action which is disruptive of the Court
proceedings. When court is in session, all persons shall quietly
be seated in the places provided. All men shall remove hats and
caps.

There shall be:

(a) No reading of newspaper or magazines during the court
proceedings;

(b) No bringing of bottles, paper cups, or beverage
containers into the courtroom, except with the specific
consent of the Court;

(c) No bringing of edibles in the courtroom (at any time);
(d) No propping of feet on tables, chairs or benches;
(e) No sitting on tables, railing, desks or arms of chairs;

(f) No person shall walk through' the courtroom while any
proceedings are being held (or in court session);

(g) No making noises or talking which interferes with the
court procedure; and '

(h) No smoking.

(2) No person should by any facial expression, shaking of the
head or any other conduct, exhibit approval or disapproval of any
testimony elicited or any statement or transaction which has
occurred in the Courtroom.

Conduct Required of Court Officers

In addressing the Court, lawyers shall rise and remain
standing at their positions at counsel table. They shall not
approach the Bench except with permission or upon request of the
Court. When the Court is addressing an attorney, that attorney
shall rise and remain standing until the Court finishes speaking.

Lawyers shall not lean on the Bench or appeér to engage the
Court in a confidential manner.



All male attorneys shall wear coats and ties, and all female
attorneys shall wear equally formal attire while in attendance of
the Court, unless otherwise permitted by the Court.

Lawyers shall advise their clients and witnesses of the
formalities of the Court and seek their full cooperation. It is
not intended that the clients and witnesses shall wear coats and
ties, but may wear casual dress.

All counsel are admonished to respect the letter and spirit of all
canons of ethics including particularly those dealing with
discussion of cases with representatives of the press or radio and
discussion of the facts or law of the case with the Court outside
of the Courtroom and not in the presence of opposing counsel.

All remarks of Counsel to the Court shall be addressed to the
Court and not to the Judge as an individual.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE:

Please be informed that: You must supply a stamped self-
addressed envelope for copies or receipts to be returned to you.

Any fees or statement in regard to this schedule are subject
to change at the discretion of the District Clerk of Wheeler
County, Texas.

Adopted:

% .

M° KENT SIMS
31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE

COURT PERSONNEL

31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE COURT ADMINISTRATOR

M. Kent Sims Debbie M. Haning
806-826-5501 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)
COURT REPORTER COURT BAILIFF

J. Larry Porton Wayne C. Carter
806-826-3455 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

DISTRICT CLERK
Sherri Jones (by appointment)
806-826-5931 (Wheeler)



ROBERTS COUNTY
Local Rules of Practice
of
The 31lst Judicial District of Texas

Rule 1

Rule 1.10. Time Standards for Case Processing

The 31st Judicial District Court of Roberts County, Texas
adopts the time standards for disposition of cases as established
by the Constitution, Statutes, or by Rule of the Supreme Court
Rules of Judicial Administration, as follows:

a. Criminal Cases
As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal
Procedure.
b. Civil Cases Other Than Family Law
1. Civil Jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
2. Civil Non-jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
c. Complex Cases

It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special
circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

d. Family Law Cases

1. Contested Family Law cases
Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

2. Uncontested Family Law Cases
Within 3 months from appearance date or within 3
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

3. Failure to Timely File Required Documents
The failure to timely file the inventories and
appraisement, affidavits, or statements or proposed
property divisions, may result, in addition to
other sanctions provided by law, in the continuance
of temporary support or in the discontinuance of
same, depending on the party failing to comply with
these rules.

Rule 1.11 Court Sessions

Each Monday of every sixth week, and following said Monday by
twenty-four days, each Thursday of every sixth week is set aside
for the trial of uncontested matters, with the first priority given
to family cases, on a first come-first serve basis.

The Court Administrator shall set the docket for this day.
All other settings will be made by the District Judge, with the



notification to be made by the Attorney requesting setting.
Rule 1.14. Request for Settings - Non-jury Cases

a. At any time after the filing of an answer upon the
request of any party or the Judge’s own motion, the Court
Administrator, acting upon the direction of the Judge, shall set
the case for trial on the non-jury docket. '

b. When requesting a setting for a non-jury trial, the
approximate length of time required for the trial shall be given in
order to facilitate scheduling.

c. The request for a non-jury trial setting may be made by
telephone or by mail. '

Rule 1.20. Dismissal Dockets, Involuntary Dismissal

a. A dismissal docket shall periodically be made regarding
cases that have been idle for a substantial period of time. Notice
of such dismissals shall be pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure. Any request in response to a dismissal notice
must be made in writing and must be filed with the clerk and a copy
sent to the District Judge. Failure to appear ready at any setting
made following such request will result in immediate dismissal.

b. In each calendar month, the Court Administrator shall
prepare, and the Court Clerk shall mail to each attorney of record
(or if there be no attorney for any party, to such party) in each
domestic relations case (annulment, divorce, and modification of
custody, visitation and support) which has been on file more than
1l year, the following notice: _
NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE
Pursuant to the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Local
Rules of the Court, the above cause will be dismissed for want
of prosecution unless a written request for setting is made
within 15 days of the mailing of this notice.

When, after such notice, a written request for setting is
made, the case shall be set for a day certain and shall be tried on
such day or shall be dismissed.

When a case is dismissed, the Clerk shall notify the parties
or their attorneys of such dismissal and the date of same.

Rule 3.13. Motion for Continuance

a. No agreed continuance by attorneys after a case is set is
permitted without approval of the Court. Except for a showing of
good cause for a continuance, the case will automatically be placed
Last on the jury request list.

PURSUANT TO RULE 141, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, IF A JURY
CASE IS SETTLED OR CONTINUED WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF TRIAL



SETTINGS, THE PARTIES MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY THE COST OF SUMMONING
AN UNUSED JURY PANEL.

b. No party shall be entitled to rely upon an agreement
entered into between parties or counsel to pass or continue a case
unless such agreement is reduced to writing and approved by the
Court.

Rule 3.14. Motion for Default Judgment

All requests for settings for default judgments shall be made
by telephone, in person, or by mail from the movant after the
appearance date of the defendant has passed. A hearing date and
time shall be set by the Court Administrator.

Rule 3.19. Pre-Trial Conferences

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference
pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court
may order such a conference if it appears from the Clerk’s file
that the case has remained inactive for 180 days. The court may
enter an order following each pre-trial conference which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Rule 3.27. Jury Charges, Witness List and Exhibits

Counsel for each party will submit a proposed Charge of the
Court, Witness List and List of Exhibits to the Court no later than
noon on the Wednesday prior to the jury week for which the case is
set for trial. :

Rule 6.14. Appearance of Defendant and Counsel/Court Attendance
(Criminal)

Immediately upon employment or court appointment, the defense
attorney shall give written notice thereof to the District Attorney
and the District Clerk stating the name of the accused, the
offense(s) charged and cause number, if known. The Clerk will note
the attorney’s name on the docket sheet and indicate whether he/she
is retained or Court appointed.

Rule 6.15. Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel (Criminal)

No attorney will be allowed to withdraw from a case without
there first being a hearing to determine the reason if the motion
is granted so the Defendant can fully be advised of his rights, and
the last known address of the Defendant is provided by the
withdrawing attorney.

A lawyer who has entered an appearance and becomes counsel of
record; by being retained, by signing a bail bond, or by
appointment may not withdraw as counsel of record except by
permission of the Court.



Rule 6.18. Docket Calls/Announcements (Criminal)

The State must appear at all docket calls to announce "ready"
or "not ready." Unless an announcement of "ready" for trial is
made in writing or by phone not less than one (1) nor more than
seven (7) days prior to docket call, the defendant shall appear at
docket call. An announcement of ready is a representation to the
Court, signed by the defense attorney and the defendant that the
defendant is available for trial and has actually received notice
of the setting for which the announcement is made.

Rule 6.19. Continuance/Resetting Postponement (Criminal)

No case will be continued without a written motion for
continuance, unless the attorneys for both sides agree to a
continuance then only upon receiving a resetting date from the
Court Administrator.

Rule 6.20. Plea Bargains (Criminal)

The District Attorney shall advise the Judge, in advance of
trial, of the results of any plea bargain negotiations in a pending
criminal case.

Rule 6.22. Speedy Trial (Criminal)
Justice demands the speedy disposition of all criminal cases.

All Felony cases should be set for trial no later than 45 days
after indictment or arrest whichever period is longer.

Cases not reached on the date set may be carried from day to
day at the discretion of the trial judge.

The trial preference for docketed cases shall be as follows:
Cases in which:

a. The defendant is incarcerated in the Roberts County Jail.

b. A child is the victim.
c. A crime of violence is alleged.
All other cases will be tried in order of their age. The

oldest cases shall be tried first.
Rule 6.26. Witnesses/Evidence (Criminal)

Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence will govern matters
pertaining to witnesses and evidence.

Rule 6.28. Jury Trials (Civil and Criminal)

Jury arguments are to be conducted from the lectern and the



attorney should refrain from walking about in front of the jury and
sitting on tables, etc.

Rule 6.32 Judgments/Orders
Judgments will be prepared as required by Article 42.01 C.C.P.
Rule 10.13. Conduct/Decorum of Person in Court

(1) All persons in the courtroom during the pendency of any
hearing shall be attentive to the proceedings of this Court and
shall refrain from any action which is disruptive of the Court
proceedings. When court is in session, all persons shall quietly
be seated in the places provided. All men shall remove hats and
caps.

There shall be:

(a) No reading of newspaper or magazines during the court
proceedings;

(b) No bringing of bottles, paper cups, or beverage
containers into the courtroom, except with the specific
consent of the Court;

(c) No bringing of edibles in the courtroom (at any time);
(d) No propping of feet on tables, chairs or benches;
(e) No sitting on tables, railing, desks or arms of chairs;

(f) No person shall walk through the courtroom while any
proceedings are being held (or in court session);

(g) No making noises or talking which interferes with the
court procedure; and

(h) No smoking.

(2) No person should by any facial expression, shaking of the
head or any other conduct, exhibit approval or disapproval of any
testimony elicited or any statement or transaction which has
occurred in the Courtroom.

Conduct Required of Court Officers

In addressing the Court, lawyers shall rise and remain
standing at their positions at counsel table. They shall not
approach the Bench except with permission or upon request of the
Court. When the Court is addressing an attorney, that attorney
shall rise and remain standing until the Court finishes speaking.

Lawyers shall not lean on the Bench or appear to engage the
Court in a confidential manner.



All male attorneys shall wear coats and ties, and all female
attorneys shall wear equally formal attire while in attendance of
the Court, unless otherwise permitted by the Court.

Lawyers shall advise their clients and witnesses of the
formalities of the Court and seek their full cooperation. It is
not intended that the clients and witnesses shall wear coats and
ties, but may wear casual dress.

All counsel are admonished to respect the letter and spirit of all
canons of ethics including particularly those dealing with
discussion of cases with representatives of the press or radio and
discussion of the facts or law of the case with the Court outside
of the Courtroom and not in the presence of opposing counsel.

All remarks of Counsel to the Court shall be addressed to the
Court and not to the Judge as an individual.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE:

Please be informed that: You must supply a stamped self-
addressed envelope for copies or receipts to be returned to you.

Any fees or statement in regard to this schedule are subject
to change at the discretion of the District Clerk of Roberts
County, Texas.

Adopted:

Ils Lo

M. KENT SIMS
31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE’

COURT PERSONNEL

31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE COURT ADMINISTRATOR

M. Kent Sims _ Debbie M. Haning
806-826-5501 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)
COURT REPORTER COURT BAILIFF

J. Larry Porton Wayne C. Carter
806-826-3455 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

DISTRICT CLERK
Jackie Jackson
806-868-2341 (Miami)



LIPSCOMB COUNTY
Local Rules of Practice
of
The 31st Judicial District of Texas

Rule 1

Rule 1.10. Time Standards for Case Processing

The 31st Judicial District Court of Lipscomb County, Texas
adopts the time standards for disposition of cases as established
by the Constitution, Statutes, or by Rule of the Supreme Court
Rules of Judicial Administration, as follows:

a. Criminal Cases
As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal
Procedure.
b. Civil Cases Other Than Family Law
1. Civil Jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
2. Civil Non-jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
c. Complex Cases .

It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special
circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

d. Family Law Cases

1. Contested Family Law cases
Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

2. Uncontested Family Law Cases
Within 3 months from appearance date or within 3
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

3. Failure to Timely File Required Documents
The failure to timely file the inventories and
appraisement, affidavits, or statements or proposed
property divisions, may result, in addition to
other sanctions provided by law, in the continuance
of temporary support or in the discontinuance of
same, depending on the party failing to comply with
these rules.

Rule 1.11 Court Sessions

Each Monday of every sixth week, and following said Monday by
twenty-four days, each Thursday of every sixth week is set aside
for the trial of uncontested matters, with the first priority given
to family cases, on a first come-first serve basis.

The Court Administrator shall set the docket for this day.
All other settings will be made by the District Judge, with the



notification to be made by the Attorney requesting setting.
Rule 1.14. Request for Settings - Non-jury Cases

a. At any time after the filing of an answer upon the
request of any party or the Judge’s own motion, the Court
Administrator, acting upon the direction of the Judge, shall set
the case for trial on the non-jury docket.

b. When requesting a setting for a non-jury trial, the
approximate length of time required for the trial shall be given in
order to facilitate scheduling.

c. The request for a non-jury trial setting may be made by
telephone or by mail.

Rule 1.20. Dismissal Dockets, Involuntary Dismissal

a. A dismissal docket shall periodically be made regarding
cases that have been idle for a substantial period of time. Notice
of such dismissals shall be pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure. Any request in response to a dismissal notice
must be made in writing and must be filed with the clerk and a copy
sent to the District Judge. Failure to appear ready at any setting
made following such request will result in immediate dismissal.

b. In each calendar month, the Court Administrator shall
prepare, and the Court Clerk shall mail to each attorney of record
(or if there be no attorney for any party, to such party) in each
domestic relations case (annulment, divorce, and modification of
custody, visitation and support) which has been on file more than
1 year, the following notice:

NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE

Pursuant to the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Local
Rules of the Court, the above cause will be dismissed for want
of prosecution unless a written request for setting is made
within 15 days of the mailing of this notice.

When, after such notice, a written request for setting is
made, the case shall be set for a day certain and shall be tried on
such day or shall be dismissed.

When a case is dismissed, the Clerk shall notify the parties
or their attorneys of such dismissal and the date of same.

Rule 3.13. Motion for Continuance

a. No agreed continuance by attorneys after a case is set is
permitted without approval of the Court. Except for a showing of
good cause for a continuance, the case will automatically be placed
Last on the jury request list.

PURSUANT TO RULE 141, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, IF A JURY
CASE IS SETTLED OR CONTINUED WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF TRIAL



SETTINGS, THE PARTIES MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY THE COST OF SUMMONING
AN UNUSED JURY PANEL.

b. No party shall be entitled to rely upon an agreement
entered into between parties or counsel to pass or continue a case
unless such agreement is reduced to writing and approved by the
Court.

Rule 3.14. Motion for Default Judgment

All requests for settings for default judgments shall be made
by telephone, in person, or by mail from the movant after the
appearance date of the defendant has passed. A hearing date and
time shall be set by the Court Administrator.

Rule 3.19. Pre-Trial Conferences

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference
pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court
may order such a conference if it appears from the Clerk’s file
that the case has remained inactive for 180 days. The court may
enter an order following each pre-trial conference which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Rule 3.27. Jury Charges, Witness List and Exhibits

Counsel for each party will submit a proposed Charge of the
Court, Witness List and List of Exhibits to the Court no later than
noon on the Wednesday prior to the jury week for which the case is
set for trial.

Rule 6.14. Appearance of Defendant and Counsel/Court Attendance
(Criminal)

Immediately upon employment or court appointment, the defense
attorney shall give written notice thereof to the District Attorney
and the District Clerk stating the name of the accused, the
offense(s) charged and cause number, if known. The Clerk will note
the attorney’s name on the docket sheet and indicate whether he/she
is retained or Court appointed.

Rule 6.15. Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel (Criminal)

No attorney will be allowed to withdraw from a case without
there first being a hearing to determine the reason if the motion
is granted so the Defendant can fully be advised of his rights, and
the last known address of the Defendant is provided by the
withdrawing attorney.

A lawyer who has entered an appearance and becomes counsel of
record; by being retained, by signing a bail bond, or by
appointment may not withdraw as counsel of record except by
permission of the Court.



Rule 6.18. Docket Calls/Announcements (Criminal)

The State must appear at all docket calls to announce "ready"
or "not ready." Unless an announcement of "ready" for trial is
made in writing or by phone not less than one (1) nor more than
seven (7) days prior to docket call, the defendant shall appear at
docket call. An announcement of ready is a representation to the
Court, signed by the defense attorney and the defendant that the
defendant is available for trial and has actually received notice
of the setting for which the announcement is made.

Rule 6.19. Continuance/Resetting Postponement (Criminal)

No case will be continued without a written motion for
continuance, unless the attorneys for both sides agree to a
continuance then only upon receiving a resetting date from the
Court Administrator. '

Rule 6.20. Plea Bargains (Criminal)

The District Attorney shall advise the Judge, in advance of
trial, of the results of any plea bargain negotiations in a pending
criminal case.

Rule 6.22. Speedy Trial (Criminal)

Justice demands the speedy disposition of all criminal cases.

All Felony cases should be set for trial no later than 45 days
after indictment or arrest whichever period is longer.

Cases not reached on the date set may be carried from day to
day at the discretion of the trial judge.

The trial preference for docketed cases shall be as follows:

Cases in which:

a. The defendant is incarcerated in the Lipscomb County
Jail.

b. A child is the victim.

c. A crime of violence is alleged.

All other cases will be tried in order of their age. The

oldest cases shall be tried first.
Rule 6.26. Witnesses/Evidence (Criminal)

Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence will govern matters
pertaining to witnesses and evidence.

Rule 6.28. Jury Trials (Civil and Criminal)

Jury arguments are to be conducted from the lectern and the



attorney should refrain from walking about in front of the jury and
sitting on tables, etc.

Rule 6.32 Judgments/Orders
Judgments will be prepared as required by Article 42.01 C.C.P.
Rule 10.13. Conduct/Decorum of Person in Court

(1) All persons in the courtroom during the pendency of any
hearing shall be attentive to the proceedings of this Court and
shall refrain from any action which is disruptive of the Court
proceedings. When court is in session, all persons shall quietly
be seated in the places provided. All men shall remove hats and
caps.

There shall be:

(a) No reading of newspaper or magazines during the court
proceedings;

(b) No bringing of bottles, paper cups, or beverage
containers into the courtroom, except with the specific
consent of the Court;

(c) No bringing of edibles in the courtroom (at any time);
(d) No propping of feet on tables, chairs or benches;
(e) No sitting on tables, railing, desks or arms of chairs;

(f) No person shall walk through thé courtroom while any
proceedings are being held (or in court session);

(g) No making noises or talking which interferes with the
court procedure; and

(h) No smoking.

(2) No person should by any facial expression, shaking of the
head or any other conduct, exhibit approval or disapproval of any
testimony elicited or any statement or transaction which has
occurred in the Courtroom.

Conduct Required of Court Officers

In addressing the Court, lawyers shall rise and remain
standing at their positions at counsel table. They shall not
approach the Bench except with permission or upon request of the
Court. When the Court is addressing an attorney, that attorney
shall rise and remain standing until the Court finishes speaking.

Lawyers shall not lean on the Bench or appear to engage the
Court in a confidential manner.



All male attorneys shall wear coats and ties, and all female
attorneys shall wear equally formal attire while in attendance of
the Court, unless otherwise permitted by the Court.

Lawyers shall advise their clients and witnesses of the
formalities of the Court and seek their full cooperation. It is
not intended that the clients and witnesses shall wear coats and
ties, but may wear casual dress.

All counsel are admonished to respect the letter and spirit of all
canons of ethics 1including particularly those dealing with
discussion of cases with representatives of the press or radio and
discussion of the facts or law of the case with the Court outside
of the Courtroom and not in the presence of opposing counsel.

All remarks of Counsel to the Court shall be addressed to the
Court and not to the Judge as an individual.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE:

Please be informed that: You must supply a stamped self-
addressed envelope for copies or receipts to be returned to you.

Any fees or statement in regard to this schedule are subject
to change at the discretion of the District Clerk of Lipscomb
County, Texas.

Adopted:

'

M. KENT SIMS
31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE

COURT PERSONNEL

31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE
M. Kent Sims
806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

COURT REPORTER
J. Larry Porton _
806-826-3455 (Wheeler)

DISTRICT CLERK
Coeta Sperry
806-862-3091 (Lipscomb)

COURT ADMINISTRATOR
Debbie M. Haning
806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

COURT BAILIFF
Wayne C. Carter
806-826-5501 (Wheeler)



HEMPHILL COUNTY
Local Rules of Practice
of
The 31st Judicial District of Texas

Rule 1

Rule 1.10. Time Standards for Case Processing

The 31st Judicial District Court of Hemphill County, Texas
adopts the time standards for disposition of cases as established
by the Constitution, Statutes, or by Rule of the Supreme Court
Rules of Judicial Administration, as follows:

a. Criminal Cases
As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal
Procedure.
b. Civil Cases Other Than Family Law
1. Civil Jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
2. Civil Non-jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
c. Complex Cases

It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special
circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

d. Family Law Cases

1. Contested Family Law cases
Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

2. Uncontested Family Law Cases
Within 3 months from appearance date or within 3
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

3. Failure to Timely File Required Documents
The failure to timely file the inventories and
appraisement, affidavits, or statements or proposed
property divisions, may result, in addition to
other sanctions provided by law, in the continuance
of temporary support or in the discontinuance of
same, depending on the party failing to comply with
these rules.

Rule 1.11 Court Sessions '

Each Monday of every sixth week, and following said Monday by
twenty-four days, each Thursday of every sixth week is set aside
for the trial of uncontested matters, with the first priority given
to family cases, on a first come-first serve basis.

The Court Administrator shall set the docket for this day.
All other settings will be made by the District Judge, with the



notification to be made by the Attorney requesting setting.
Rule 1.14. Request for Settings - Non-jury Cases

a. At any time after the filing of an answer upon the
request of any party or the Judge’s own motion, the Court
Administrator, acting upon the direction of the Judge, shall set
the case for trial on the non-jury docket.

b. When requesting a setting for a non-jury trial, the
approximate length of time required for the trial shall be given in
order to facilitate scheduling.

c. The request for a non-jury trial setting may be made by
telephone or by mail.

Rule 1.20. Dismissal Dockets, Involuntary Dismissal

a. A dismissal docket shall periodically be made regarding
cases that have been idle for a substantial period of time. Notice
of such dismissals shall be pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure. Any request in response to a dismissal notice
must be made in writing and must be filed with the clerk and a copy
sent to the District Judge. Failure to appear ready at any setting
made following such request will result in immediate dismissal.

b. In each calendar month, the Court Administrator shall
prepare, and the Court Clerk shall mail to each attorney of record
(or if there be no attorney for any party, to such party) in each
domestic relations case (annulment, divorce, and modification of
custody, visitation and support) which has been on file more than
1 year, the following notice:

NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE

Pursuant to the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Local
Rules of the Court, the above cause will be dismissed for want
of prosecution unless a written request for setting is made
within 15 days of the mailing of this notice.

When, after such notice, a written request for setting is
made, the case shall be set for a day certain and shall be tried on
such day or shall be dismissed.

When a case is dismissed, the Clerk shall notify the parties
or their attorneys of such dismissal and the date of same.

Rule 3.13. Motion for Continuance

a. No agreed continuance by attorneys after a case is set is
permitted without approval of the Court. Except for a showing of
good cause for a continuance, the case will automatically be placed
Last on the jury request list.

PURSUANT TO RULE 141, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, IF A JURY
CASE IS SETTLED OR CONTINUED WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF TRIAL



SETTINGS, THE PARTIES MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY THE COST OF SUMMONING
AN UNUSED JURY PANEL.

b. No party shall be entitled to rely upon an agreement
entered into between parties or counsel to pass or continue a case
unless such agreement is reduced to writing and approved by the
Court.

Rule 3.14. Motion for Default Judgment

All requests for settings for default judgments shall be made
by telephone, in person, or by mail from the movant after the
appearance date of the defendant has passed. A hearing date and
time shall be set by the Court Administrator. '

Rule 3.19. Pre-Trial Conferences

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference
pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court
may order such a conference if it appears from the Clerk’s file
that the case has remained inactive for 180 days. The court may
enter an order following each pre-trial conference which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Rule 3.27. Jury Charges, Witness List and Exhibits

Counsel for each party will submit a proposed Charge of the
Court, Witness List and List of Exhibits to the Court no later than
noon on the Wednesday prior to the jury week for which the case is
set for trial.

Rule 6.14. Appearance of Defendant and Counsel/Court Attendance
(Criminal)

Immediately upon employment or court appointment, the defense
attorney shall give written notice thereof to the District Attorney
and the District Clerk stating the name of the accused, the
offense(s) charged and cause number, if known. The Clerk will note
the attorney’s name on the docket sheet and indicate whether he/she
is retained or Court appointed.

Rule 6.15. Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel (Criminal)

No attorney will be allowed to withdraw from a case without
there first being a hearing to determine the reason if the motion
is granted so the Defendant can fully be advised of his rights, and
the last known address of the Defendant is provided by the
withdrawing attorney.

A lawyer who has entered an appearance and becomes counsel of
record; by being retained, by signing a bail bond, or by
appointment may not withdraw as counsel of record except by
permission of the Court.



Rule 6.18. Docket Calls/Announcements (Criminal)

The State must appear at all docket calls to announce "ready"
or "not ready." Unless an announcement of "ready" for trial is
made in writing or by phone not less than one (1) nor more than
seven (7) days prior to docket call, the defendant shall appear at
docket call. An announcement of ready is a representation to the
Court, signed by the defense attorney and the defendant that the
defendant is available for trial and has actually received notice
of the setting for which the announcement is made.

Rule 6.19. Continuance/Resetting Postponement (Criminal)

No case will be continued without a written motion for
continuance, unless the attorneys for both sides agree to a
continuance then only upon receiving a resetting date from the
Court Administrator.

Rule 6.20. Plea Bargains (Criminal)

The District Attorney shall advise the Judge, in advance of
trial, of the results of any plea bargain negotiations in a pending
criminal case.

Rule 6.22. Speedy Trial (Criminal)

Justice demands the speedy disposition of all criminal cases.

All Felony cases should be set for trial no later than 45 days
after indictment or arrest whichever period is longer.

Cases not reached on the date set may be carried from day to
day at the discretion of the trial judge.

The trial preference for docketed cases shall be as follows:
Cases in which:

a. The defendant is incarcerated in the Hemphill County

b. A enild is the victim.

c

A crime of violence is alleged.

All other cases will be tried in order of their age. The
oldest cases shall be tried first.

Rule 6.26. Witnesses/Evidence (Criminal)

Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence will govern matters
pertaining to witnesses and evidence.

Rule 6.28. Jury Trials (Civil and Criminal)

Jury arguments are to be conducted from the lectern and the



attorney should refrain from walking about in front of the jury and
sitting on tables, etc.

Rule 6.32 Judgments/Orders
Judgments will be prepared as required by Article 42.01 C.C.P.
Rule 10.13. Conduct/Decorum of Person in Court

(1) All persons in the courtroom during the pendency of any
hearing shall be attentive to the proceedings of this Court and
shall refrain from any action which is disruptive of the Court
proceedings. When court is in session, all persons shall quietly
be seated in the places provided. All men shall remove hats and
caps.

There shall be:

(a) No reading of newspaper or magazines during the court
proceedings;

(b) No bringing of bottles, paper cups, or beverage
containers into the courtroom, except with the specific
consent of the Court;

(c) No bringing of edibles in the courtroom (at any time);
(d) No propping of feet on tables, chairs or benches;
(e) No sitting on tables, railing, desks or arms of chairs;

(f) No person shall walk through the courtroom while any
proceedings are being held (or in court session);

(g) No making noises or talking which interferes with the
court procedure; and

(h) No smoking.

(2) No person should by any facial expression, shaking of the
head or any other conduct, exhibit approval or disapproval of any
testimony elicited or any statement or transaction which has
occurred in the Courtroom.

Conduct Required of Court Officers

In addressing the Court, lawyers shall rise and remain
standing at their positions at counsel table. They shall not
approach the Bench except with permission or upon request of the
Court. When the Court is addressing an attorney, that attorney
shall rise and remain standing until the Court finishes speaking.

Lawyers shall not lean on the Bench or appear to engage the
Court in a confidential manner.



All male attorneys shall wear coats and ties, and all female
attorneys shall wear equally formal attire while in attendance of
the Court, unless otherwise permitted by the Court.

Lawyers shall advise their clients and witnesses of the
formalities of the Court and seek their full cooperation. It is
not intended that the clients and witnesses shall wear coats and
ties, but may wear casual dress.

All counsel are admonished to respect the letter and spirit of all
canons of ethics including particularly those dealing with
discussion of cases with representatives of the press or radio and
discussion of the facts or law of the case with the Court outside
of the Courtroom and not in the presence of opposing counsel.

All remarks of Counsel to the Court shall be addressed to the
Court and not to the Judge as an individual.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE:

Please be informed that: You. must supply a stamped self-
addressed envelope for copies or receipts to be returned to you.

Any fees or statement in regard to this schedule are subject
to change at the discretion of the District Clerk of Hemphill
County, Texas.

Adopted:

M’ KENT SIMS
31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE

COURT PERSONNEL

31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE COURT ADMINISTRATOR

M. Kent Sims _ Debbie M. Haning
806-826-5501 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)
COURT REPORTER " COURT BAILIFF

J. Larry Porton Wayne C. Carter
806-826-3455 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

DISTRICT CLERK
Davene Hendershot
806-323-6212 (Canadian)



GRAY COUNTY
Local Rules of Practice
of
The 31st Judicial District of Texas

Rule 1

Rule 1.10. Time Standards for Case Processing

The 31st Judicial District Court of Gray County, Texas adopts
the time standards for disposition of cases as established by the
Constitution, Statutes, or by Rule of the Supreme Court Rules of
Judicial Administration, as follows:

a. Criminal Cases
As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal
Procedure.
b. Civil Cases Other Than Family Law
1. Civil Jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
2. Civil Non-jury Cases
Within 12 months from appearance date.
c. Complex Cases

It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special
circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

d. Family Law Cases

1. Contested Family Law cases
Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

2. Uncontested Family Law Cases
Within 3 months from appearance date or within 3
months from the expiration of the waiting period
provided by the Family Code where such is required,
whichever is later.

3. Failure to Timely File Required Documents
The failure to timely file the inventories and
appraisement, affidavits, or statements or proposed
property divisions, may result, in addition to
other sanctions provided by law, in the continuance
of temporary support or in the discontinuance of
same,. depending on the party failing to comply with
these rules.

Rule 1.11 Court Sessions

Each Monday of every sixth week, and following said Monday by
twenty-four days, each Thursday of every sixth week is set aside
for the trial of uncontested matters, with the first priority given
to family cases, on a first come-first serve basis.

The Court Administrator shall set the docket for this day.
All other settings will be made by the District Judge, with the



notification to be made by the Attorney requesting setting.
Rule 1.14. Request for Settings - Non-jury Cases

a. At any time after the filing of an answer upon the
request of any party or the Judge’s own motion, the Court
Administrator, acting upon the direction of the Judge, shall set
the case for trial on the non-jury docket.

b. When requesting a setting for a non-jury trial, the
approximate length of time required for the trial shall be given in
order to facilitate scheduling.

c. The request for a non-jury trial setting may be made by
telephone or by mail.

Rule 1.20. Dismissal Dockets, Involuntary Dismissal

a. A dismissal docket shall periodically be made regarding
cases that have been idle for a substantial period of time. Notice
of such dismissals shall be pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure. Any request in response to a dismissal notice
must be made in writing and must be filed with the clerk and a copy
sent to the District Judge. Failure to appear ready at any setting
made following such request will result in immediate dismissal.

b. In each calendar month, the Court Administrator shall
prepare, and the Court Clerk shall mail to each attorney of record
(or if there be no attorney for any party, to such party) in each
domestic relations case (annulment, divorce, and modification of
custody, visitation and support) which has been on file more than
1 year, the following notice:

NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE ,
Pursuant to the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Local
Rules of the Court, the above cause will be dismissed for want
of prosecution unless a written request for setting is made
within 15 days of the mailing of this notice.

When, after such notice, a written request for setting is
made, the case shall be set for a day certain and shall be trled on
such day or shall be dismissed.

When a case is dismissed, the Clerk shall notify the parties
or their attorneys of such dismissal and the date of same.

Rule 3.13. Motion for Continuance

a. No agreed continuance by attorneys after a case is set is
permitted without approval of the Court. Except for a showing of
good cause for a continuance, the case will automatically be placed
Last on the jury request list.

PURSUANT TO RULE 141, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, IF A JURY
CASE IS SETTLED OR CONTINUED WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF TRIAL



SETTINGS, THE PARTIES MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY THE COST OF SUMMONING
AN UNUSED JURY PANEL.

b. No party shall be entitled to rely upon an agreement
entered into between parties or counsel to pass or continue a case
unless such agreement is reduced to writing and approved by the
Court.

Rule 3.14. Motion for Default Judgment

All requests for settings for default judgments shall be made
by telephone, in person, or by mail from the movant after the
appearance date of the defendant has passed. A hearing date and
time shall be set by the Court Administrator.

Rule 3.19. Pre-Trial Conferences

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference
pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court
may order such a conference if it appears from the Clerk’s file
that the case has remained inactive for 180 days. The court may
enter an order following each pre-trial conference which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Rule 3.27. Jury Charges, Witness List and Exhibits

Counsel for each party will submit a proposed Charge of the
Court, Witness List and List of Exhibits to the Court no later than
noon on the Wednesday prior to the jury week for which the case is
set for trial.

Rule 6.14. Appearance of Defendant and Counsel/Court Attendance
(Criminal) '

Immediately upon employment or court appointment, the defense
attorney shall give written notice thereof to the District Attorney
and the District Clerk stating the name of the accused, the
offense(s) charged and cause number, if known. The Clerk will note
the attorney’s name on the docket sheet and indicate whether he/she
is retained or Court appointed.

Rule 6.15. Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel (Criminal)

No attorney will be allowed to withdraw from a case without
there first being a hearing to determine the reason if the motion
is granted so the Defendant can fully be advised of his rights, and
the last known address of the Defendant is provided by the
withdrawing attorney.

A lawyer who has entered an appearance and becomes counsel of
record; by being retained, by signing a bail bond, or by
appointment may not withdraw as counsel of record except by
permission of the Court.



Rule 6.18. Docket Calls/Announcements (Criminal)

The State must appear at all docket calls to announce “"ready"
or "not ready." Unless an announcement of "ready" for trial is
made in writing or by phone not less than one (1) nor more than
seven (7) days prior to docket call, the defendant shall appear at
docket call. An announcement of ready is a representation to the
Court, signed by the defense attorney and the defendant that the
defendant is available for trial and has actually received notice
of the setting for which the announcement is made.

Rule 6.19. Continuance/Resetting Postponement (Criminal)

No case will be continued without a written motion for
continuance, unless the attorneys for both sides agree to a
continuance then only upon receiving a resetting date from the
Court Administrator.

Rule 6.20. Plea Bargains (Criminal)

The District Attorney shall advise the Judge, in advance of
trial, of the results of any plea bargain negotiations in a pending
criminal case.

Rule 6.22. Speedy Trial  (Criminal)

Justice demands the speedy disposition of all criminal cases.

All Felony cases should be set for trial no later than 45 days
after indictment or arrest whichever period is longer.

Cases not reached on the date set may be carried from day to
day at the discretion of the trial judge.

The trial preference for dbcketed cases shall be as follows:

Cases in which:

a. The defendant is incarcerated in the Gray County Jail.
b. A child is the victim.

c. A crime of violence is alleged.

All other cases will be tried in order of their age. The

oldest cases shall be tried first.
Rule 6.26. Witnesses/Evidence (Criminal)

Texas Rules of Criminal Evidence will govern matters
pertaining to witnesses and evidence. 1

Rule 6.28. Jury Trials (Civil and Criminal)

Jury arguments are to be conducted from the lectern and the



attorney should refrain from walking about in front of the jury and
sitting on tables, etc.

Rule 6.32 Judgments/Orders
Judgments will be prepared as required by Article 42.01 C.C.P.
Rule 10.13. Conduct/Decorum of Person in Court

(1) All persons in the courtroom during the pendency of any
hearing shall be attentive to the proceedings of this Court and
shall refrain from any action which is disruptive of the Court
proceedings. When court is in session, all persons shall quietly
be seated in the places provided. All men shall remove hats and
caps.

There shall be:

(a) No reading of newspaper or magazines during the court
proceedings;

(b) No bringing of bottles, paper cups, oOr Dbeverage
containers into the courtroom, except with the specific
consent of the Court;

(c) No bringing of edibles in the courtroom (at any time);
(d) No propping of feet on tables, chairs or benches;
(e) No sitting on tables, railing, desks or arms of chairs;

(f) No person shall walk through the courtroom while any
proceedings are being held (or in court session);

(g) No making noises or talking which interferes with the
court procedure; and

(h) No smoking.

(2) No person should by any facial expression, shaking of the
head or any other conduct, exhibit approval or disapproval of any
testimony elicited or any statement or transaction which has
occurred in the Courtroom.

Conduct Required of Court Officers -

In addressing the Court, lawyers shall rise and remain
standing at their positions at counsel table. They shall not
approach the Bench except with permission or upon request of the
Court. When the Court is addressing an attorney, that attorney
shall rise and remain standing until the Court finishes speaking.

Lawyers shall not lean on the Bench or appear to engage the
Court in a confidential manner.



All male attorneys shall wear coats and ties, and all female
attorneys shall wear equally formal attire while in attendance of
the Court, unless otherwise permitted by the Court.

Lawyers shall advise their clients and witnesses of the
formalities of the Court and seek their full cooperation. It is
not intended that the clients and witnesses shall wear coats and
ties, but may wear casual dress.

All counsel are admonished to respect the letter and spirit of all
canons of ethics including particularly those dealing with
discussion of cases with representatives of the press or radio and
discussion of the facts or law of the case with the Court outside
of the Courtroom and not in the presence of opposing counsel.

All remarks of Counsel to the Court shall be addressed to the
Court and not to the Judge as an individual.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE:

Please be informed that: You must supply a stamped self-
addressed envelope for copies or receipts to be returned to you.

Any fees or statement in regard to this schedule are subject
to change at the discretion of the District Clerk of Gray County,
Texas.

Adopted:

M. KENT SIMS
31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE

COURT PERSONNEL

31ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE COURT ADMINISTRATOR

M. Kent Sims ‘ Debbie M. Haning

806-826-5501 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)
" COURT REPORTER COURT BAILIFF

J. Larry Porton Wayne C. Carter

806-826-3455 (Wheeler) 806-826-5501 (Wheeler)

DISTRICT CLERK
Yvonne Moler
806-669-8010 (Pampa)



