Supreme Court of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 23-9081

Order Creating Judicial Administration Specialization Task Force

- 1. House Bill 2384, enacted by the 88th Legislature, directs the Court to adopt rules establishing a specialty certification for attorneys in the practice area of judicial administration. *See* Act of May 17, 2023, 88th Leg., R.S. ch. 716 (H.B. 2384, codified at TEX. GOV'T CODE § 82.101).
- 2. The Court therefore orders the establishment of a Judicial Administration Specialization Task Force to make recommendations to the Court regarding the rules. The following persons are appointed to serve as members:

Melissa Davis Andrews	Austin	Tim D. Newsom	Dallas
Hon. Mark Atkinson	Austin	Hon. Israel Ramon, Jr.	Edinburg
Chad Baruch	Dallas	Hon. Dean Rucker	Midland
Hon. Harvey Brown	Houston	Hon. Robert K. Schaffer	Houston
William Frank Carroll	Colleyville	Laura Bellegie Sharp	Austin
E. Leon Carter	Dallas	Hon. Steve Smith	College Station
Hon. Alfonso Charles	Longview	Kristal C. Thomson	San Antonio
Michael W. Eady	Austin	Robert E. Valdez	San Antonio
Hon. Ana E. Estevez	Amarillo	Jane M.N. Webre	Austin
John Gsanger	Houston	Ed Wells	Houston
Hon. Emily Miskel	McKinney	Hon. Ray Wheless	McKinney
Hon. Daryl L. Moore	Houston	Hon. Randy Wilson	Houston

- 3. The Honorable Harvey Brown is appointed as Chair of the Task Force.
- 4. The Honorable Ana E. Estevez is appointed as Vice Chair of the Task Force.
- 5. The Court's liaison to the Task Force is Justice Jane N. Bland. The Court's Rules Attorney, Jackie Daumerie, will serve as the Court's staff representative.
- 6. The Court of Criminal Appeals' liaison to the Task Force is Judge Barbara P. Hervey. The Court of Criminal Appeals' General Counsel, Sian Schilhab, will serve as the Court of Criminal Appeals' staff representative.

- 7. The Office of Court Administration's liaison to the Task Force is Megan LaVoie.
- 8. The Texas Board of Legal Specialization's liaison to the Task Force is Leo Figueroa.
- 9. The Task Force should submit proposed rules to the Texas Board of Legal Specialization by April 1, 2024.

Dated: October 4, 2023.

han L. Hecht, Chief Justice Nat

Vin

Debra H. hrmann, Justice

Je S. Boyd, Just ce

John Έ. Ď vine, Justice

D. Blacklock, Justice Ja

ett Busby, Justice

e N. Bland, Justice

Rebeca A. Huddle, Justice

Ú stice Evan A. ng lι