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California 2016 LE, Family 
or HH 
member 

Must consider: 
threats or acts of 
violence to self 
or others in past 
6 months; 
violation of a DV 
PO in effect or 
within the past 6 
months; any 
conviction for 
any crime that 
prohibits 
purchase and 
possession of 
firearms; a 
pattern of 
violence acts or 
threats within 
the past 12 
months. May 
consider other 
evidence (prior 
arrests, reckless 
use of a firearm 
or brandishing, 
history of 
violating DV POs, 
recent 
acquisition of 
firearms, etc.) 

Temporary: 
21 days and 
reasonable 
cause 
Yearlong: 
clear and 
convincing 

Respondent 
can sell or 
transfer 
directly to a 
licensed 
firearm 
dealer; must 
issue a receipt 
and filed with 
the court 
within 48 
hours of being 
served the 
order 

Statute 
silent as to 
searching 
for the 
firearms; 
order states 
respondent 
has 24 
hours from 
service of 
order to 
relinquish 
guns and 
amo to LE 
(or 
sell/transfer 
to licensed 
dealer).  

Crime to 
knowingly file a 
false or 
intentionally 
harassing 
petition 

Requires 
surrender to 
specific LE 
immediately 
upon service of 
the PO or to LE 
within 24 hours 
or may 
sell/transfer to 
a licensed 
firearms dealer 
with receipt 
and file 
receipts within 
48 hours; 

33850 requires 
an application 
to CA DOJ to 
have firearms 
returned 
33865 requires 
a background 
check 
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Connecticut 1999 2 LE 
officers or 
1 state’s 
attorney 

Person poses a 
risk of imminent 
injury to self or 
others; person 
possesses one or 
more firearms; 
firearm is within 
or upon any 
place, thing or 
person 

Temporary: 14 
days and  
Probable 
cause 
Yearlong: 
clear and 
convincing 
evidence 
required 

29-36k 
Anytime while 
a person's 
firearms are 
seized, that 
person may 
transfer/sell 
such firearms 
to any person 
eligible to 
possess such 
firearms by 
giving written 
notice to the 
head of the 
state agency 
holding such 
seized 
firearms. The 
agency must 
deliver such 
firearms 
within ten 
days to the 
designated 
transferee 

The warrant 
permits LE 
to search 
within a 
reasonable 
time the 
person, 
place or 
thing named 
for any and 
all firearms 
and 
ammunition 

  29-36k 
requires a 
request be 
made to return 
firearms; only 
returned if LE 
confirms: 1) 
restraining 
order, 
protective 
order, or court 
removal order 
are expired; 2) 
person not 
otherwise 
disqualified 
from 
possessing a 
firearm; 3) 
legally entitled 
to possess a 
firearm 
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Florida 2018 LE only Respondent 
poses a 
significant 
danger of 
causing personal 
injury to self or 
others; court can 
consider (history 
of suicide, 
threats of 
violence, 
attempts or 
actual violence; 
previous 
convictions; drug 
abuse; previous 
gun crimes; 
recent purchase 
or attempt to 
purchase; etc.) 

LE must 
attempt to 
provide notice 
to family/HH 
members at 
risk; no fee 
required;  
Temporary:  
reasonable 
cause and 14 
days. 
 
Yearlong: 
clear and 
convincing 
evidence; 
order lasts 12 
months 

Once in the 
possession of 
LE, 
respondent 
may elect to 
transfer 
firearms and 
amo to 
another 
person. LE 
must allows 
such a 
transfer only 
if: 1) person is 
eligible to 
own or 
possess after 
confirmation 
of background 
check 
2)attests to 
storing such 
that 
respondent 
has no access; 
3) attests not 
to transfer 
back until 
ERPO ends 

Must 
surrender 
immediately
; LE may 
seek a 
search 
warrant 
from a court 
to search 
for firearms 
if probable 
cause to 
believe that 
there are 
firearms or 
ammunition 
owned 
which have 
not been 
surrendered
; 3rd degree 
felony to 
possess 
after PO;  
 

Court must 
provide form to 
respondent to 
request vacating 
the order; 
respondent may 
request 1 time 
to vacate the 
order; 
petitioner can 
request 
extension up to 
30 days before 
expiration; 3rd 
degree felony to 
make false 
statement 
under oath at 
hearing on PO; 
crime to make a 
false statement 
under oath  

Requires 
surrender to 
specific LE 
immediately 
upon service of 
the PO 

Weapons back 
immediately 
upon 
expiration of 
order with 
request from 
respondent 
and a 
background 
check; court 
required to 
send notice to 
Petitioner at 
least 30 days 
before the 
order expires 
notifying 
respondent of 
the impending 
end of the 
ERPO; LE must 
provide notice 
to family or HH 
members 
before the 
return of 
surrender 
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Indiana 2005 LE only A sworn affidavit 
describing the 
facts leading LE 
to believe an 
individual is 
dangerous and 
in possession of 
a firearm 

Temporary: 14 
days;  
Probable 
cause 
Indefinite: 
must prove by 
clear and 
convincing; 
order lasts 
indefinitely; 
Search and 
seizure 
warrant 
issued  
 

 Once in LE's 
possession, 
respondent 
may request 
the court to 
order LE to 
sell the 
firearm(s) at 
auction and 
return the 
proceeds to 
the individual 
 

Search and 
seizure 
warrant 
issued 

Person can 
petition the 
court for return 
of the firearm at 
least 180 days 
after the court 
ordered LE to 
retain the 
firearms. 
Individual must 
prove by a 
preponderance 
of the evidence 
that he/she is 
not dangerous. 

File a return 
with the court 
stating when 
the warrant 
served and the 
quantity and 
identify of any 
firearms seized;  

Only returned 
if prove by 
preponderance 
of evidence 
that no longer 
dangerous. 
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Maryland 2018 LE, Family 
or HH 
member, 
and 
certain 
categories 
of mental 
and other 
health 
workers 

Poses an 
immediate and 
present danger 
to self or others; 
identify number, 
types and 
locations of any 
firearms 

Interim: 
reasonable 
grounds and 
hearing on first 
or second day 
on which a 
district court 
judge is sitting 
after issuance of 
interim order; 
Temporary: 
Reasonable 
grounds and 
only effective 
for 7 days;  
Judge may 
extend 
temporary not 
to exceed 6 
months; 
Yearlong: must 
prove by clear 
and convincing;  
order lasts 12 
months; can 
only proceed to 
final order 
hearing if 
respondent 
appears, has 
been served or 
court has 
personal 
jurisdiction over 
the respondent 

If someone 
other than 
respondent 
owns the 
guns, LE 
shall return 
firearms to 
them 
provided 
they agree 
to prevent 
respondent 
from 
accessing 
gun 
 

Must 
surrender. 
LE may seek 
a search 
warrant 
from a court 
to search 
for firearms 
if have 
probable 
cause to 
believe that 
there are 
firearms or 
ammunition 
owned 
which have 
not been 
surrendered
; 

Interim, 
temporary or 
final order 
should include 
form advising 
rights (seek an 
attorney, 
grounds 
asserted, notice 
of the hearing, 
etc.); 
respondent can 
reschedule the 
hearing for no 
later than 30 
days after initial 
hearing; Crime 
to knowingly file 
a false or 
intentionally 
harassing 
petition 

Requires 
surrender; 
court can issue 
search warrant 
upon probable 
cause person 
failed to 
surrender or 
reacquired 
firearms; 

upon 
expiration of 
order LE must 
notify 
respondent 
they can 
request return 
of firearms and 
amo; with 
request from 
respondent 
and a 
background 
check; 
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Oregon 2017 LE 
Family or 
HH 
member 

Presents a risk in 
the near future 
to self or others; 
factors court can 
consider (history 
of suicide, 
threats of 
violence, 
attempts or 
actual violence; 
previous 
convictions; drug 
abuse; previous 
gun crimes; 
recent purchase 
or attempt to 
purchase; etc.) 

Clear and 
convincing 
evidence;  
respondent has 
30 days to 
request a 
hearing to 
contest the ex 
parte order; if 
requested, the 
hearing must be 
held in 21 days; 
no fee required 
Both parties can 
request 
extension or 
termination of 
order once 
within 12 
months; hearing 
required and 
person 
requesting has 
burden of proof 
 

Respondent 
can 
surrender 
firearms 
directly to 
LE, gun 
dealer, or a 
third party 
who can 
lawfully 
possess; If 
guns owned 
by someone 
else, LE 
must give 
guns to that 
person, but 
requires 
person to 
prevent 
respondent 
from gaining 
access 

order states 
respondent 
has 24 
hours from 
service of 
order to 
relinquish 
guns and 
amo to LE 
(or 
sell/transfer 
to licensed 
dealer).  
 
Continuing 
to possess is 
a Class A 
misdemean
or. 

 Crime to 
knowingly file a 
false or 
intentionally 
harassing 
petition 
 

The order 
states place to 
surrender 
guns/ammuniti
on; if owned by 
someone else, 
LE must give 
guns to the 
owner who is 
required to 
prevent the 
person from 
gaining access 

Must be 
returned upon 
expiration of 
order upon 
request and 
after 
background 
check 
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Vermont 2018 LE only or 
other 
state 
officials 

 Temporary: 
Preponderance 
of the evidence;  
Hearing on final 
order held 
within 14 days 
of issuance of ex 
parte order;  
Yearlong:  
Must prove by 
clear and 
convincing 
 
 

Can 
surrender 
firearms 
directly to a 
licensed 
firearms 
dealer or a 
third party; 
third party 
must 
execute an 
affidavit 
they are 
subject to 
civil 
contempt if 
allow 
respondent 
to have 
access 

Statute 
silent as to 
searching 
for  
firearms;  
order states 
respondent 
has 24 
hours from 
service of 
order to 
relinquish 
guns to LE 
(or 
sell/transfer 
to licensed 
dealer).  
 

Crime to 
knowingly file a 
false or 
intentionally 
harassing 
petition 

 Released upon 
receipt of a 
court order 
stating the 
firearms can 
be released; if 
failed to be 
retrieved 
within 90 days 
of court order 
releasing it, 
can be sold; 
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Washington 2016 LE, Family 
or HH 
member 

Identify number, 
types and 
locations of any 
firearms 

Temporary: Ex 
parte order lasts 
14 days; 
reasonable 
cause 
 
Yearlong: 
Preponderance 
of the evidence 

If someone 
other than 
respondent 
owns the 
guns, LE 
shall return 
firearms to 
them 
provided 
they agree 
to prevent 
respondent 
from 
accessing 
gun 

Surrender 
within 48 
hours; LE 
may seek a 
search 
warrant 
from a court 
to search 
for firearms 
if probable 
cause to 
believe that 
there are 
firearms or 
ammunition 
owned 
which have 
not been 
surrendered 

crime to 
knowingly file a 
false or 
intentionally 
harassing 
petition 

 Requires a 
background 
check before 
returning and 
confirmation 
from the court 
the ERPO has 
terminated or 
expired 
without 
renewal; must 
provide notice 
to family or HH 
member if 
requested; 
 

 


