IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 17-9045

ORDER AMENDING RULE 6.1 OF THE RULES OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION

ORDERED that:

- 1. The Court amends Rule 6.1 of the Rules of Judicial Administration, effective immediately. *See* TEX. GOV'T CODE § 74.024.
- 2. The Clerk is directed to:
 - a. file a copy of this order with the Secretary of State;
 - b. cause a copy of this order to be mailed to each registered member of the State Bar of Texas by publication in the *Texas Bar Journal*;
 - c. send a copy of this order to each elected member of the Legislature; and
 - d. submit a copy of the order for publication in the *Texas Register*.

Dated: May 2, 2017.

Eva M. Guzman, Justice John P. Devine, Justice

Rule 6.1 District and Statutory County Courts.

District and statutory county court judges of the county in which cases are filed should, so far as reasonably possible, ensure that all cases are brought to trial or final disposition in conformity with the following time standards:

- (a) Criminal Cases. As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal Procedure.
- (<u>ab</u>) Civil Cases Other Than Family Law.
 - (1) *Civil Jury Cases.* Within 18 months from appearance date.
 - (2) *Civil Nonjury Cases.* Within 12 months from appearance date.

(<u>be</u>) Family Law Cases.

- (1) Contested Family Law Cases. Within 6 months from appearance date or within 6 months from the expiration of the waiting period provided by the Family Code where such is required, whichever is later.
- (2) Uncontested Family Law Cases. Within 3 months from appearance date or within 3 months from the expiration of the waiting period provided by the Family Code where such is required, whichever is later.
- (cd) **Juvenile Cases.** In addition to the requirements of Title 3, Texas Family Code:
 - (1) *Detention Hearings*. On the next business day following admission to any detention facility.
 - (2) Adjudicatory or Transfer (Waiver) Hearings.
 - (a) Concerning a juvenile in a detention facility: Not later than 10 days following admission to such a facility, except for good cause shown of record.
 - (b) Concerning a juvenile not in a detention facility: Not later than 30 days following the filing of the petition, except for good cause shown of record.
 - (3) Disposition Hearing. Not later than 15 days following the adjudicatory hearing. The court may grant additional time in exceptional cases that require more complex evaluation.
 - (4) Nothing herein shall prevent a judge from recessing a juvenile hearing at any stage of the proceeding where the parties are agreeable or when in the

Page 3

Misc Docket No. 17-9045

opinion of the judge presiding in the case the best interests of the child and of society shall be served.

(<u>de</u>) Complex Cases. It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

Misc. Docket No. 17-9045 Page 4