
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS 

 

════════════════════ 

Misc. Docket No. 15-9156 

════════════════════ 

 

════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

ORDER ACCELERATING JUVENILE CERTIFICATION APPEALS  

AND REQUIRING JUVENILE COURTS TO GIVE NOTICE  

OF THE RIGHT TO AN IMMEDIATE APPEAL 

════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

 

ORDERED that: 

 

During the 2015 legislative session, the Legislature passed S.B. 888, which amends 

Family Code section 56.01 to permit an immediate appeal from the decision of a juvenile court 

under section 54.02 waiving its exclusive jurisdiction and certifying the juvenile to stand trial as 

an adult. See Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., ch. 74 (S.B. 888). The Act also requires this Court to 

“adopt rules accelerating the disposition by the appellate court and the supreme court of an 

appeal of an order waiving jurisdiction under Section 54.02 and transferring the child to criminal 

court for prosecution.” Id. § 3, sec. 56.01(h-1) (codified at TEX. FAM. CODE § 56.01(h-1)). The 

Act takes effect on September 1, 2015. 

 

Pending the adoption of rules, the following procedures govern in actions under the 

Juvenile Justice Code, Title 3 of the Family Code, effective September 1, 2015: 

 

1. The appeal of an order under Family Code section 54.02 certifying a juvenile to 

stand trial as an adult is governed by the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure 

applicable to accelerated appeals. 

 

2. When a juvenile court certifies a juvenile to stand trial as an adult, the court must 

inform the juvenile and the juvenile’s attorney, orally on the record in open court 

and in writing in the certification order: 

 

a. that the juvenile may immediately appeal the certification decision under 

Family Code section 56.01; and 

 

b. that, by order of this Court, the appeal is accelerated under the Texas 

Rules of Appellate Procedure applicable to accelerated appeals. 
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3. Appellate courts should, so far as reasonably possible, ensure that certification 

appeals are brought to final disposition in conformity with the following time 

standards: 

 

a. Courts of Appeals. Within 180 days of the date the notice of appeal is 

filed. 

 

b. Supreme Court. Within 180 days of the date the petition for review is 

filed. 

 

The Clerk is directed to: 

 

1. file a copy of this order with the Secretary of State; 

 

2. cause a copy of this order to be mailed to each registered member of the   

 State Bar of Texas by publication in the Texas Bar Journal; 

 

3. send a copy of this order to each elected member of the Legislature; and 

 

4. submit a copy of the order for publication in the Texas Register. 

  

   

Dated: August 28, 2015.   
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      Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice  

 

 

        

      Paul W. Green, Justice 

 

 

        

      Phil Johnson, Justice 

 

 

        

      Don R. Willett, Justice 

 

 

        

      Eva M. Guzman, Justice 

 

 

        

      Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice 

 

 

        

      Jeffrey S. Boyd, Justice 

 

 

        

      John P. Devine, Justice 

 

  

        

      Jeffrey V. Brown, Justice 




