IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 20-9027

ORDER ESTABLISHING ADMINISTRATION & BUDGET TASK FORCE OF TEXAS ACCESS TO JUSTICE COMMISSION

On April 26, 2001, this Court established the Texas Access to Justice Commission (the "Commission") with the mandate to develop and implement policy initiatives to expand access to and enhance the quality of justice in civil legal matters for low-income Texans. *See* Administrative Order 01-9065.

As the Commission continues to grow, evolve, and evaluate new opportunities and demands for its services, a dedicated task force examining the Commission's administration and budget is essential to ensuring the Commission's continued success.

The Court **HEREBY ORDERS**:

1. The Administration & Budget Task Force (the "Task Force") is created to study and make recommendations on the following matters:

- The extent to which the Commission is successfully carrying out its charge and whether the charge should be revised to accomplish the Commission's goals.
- The ideal division of initiatives and resources between the Commission and the Legal Access Division of the State Bar of Texas and any areas of overlap.
- The Commission's funding, including fundraising efforts/initiatives/sources.
- Commission staffing, including accountability measures, staffing models, retention efforts, and salary considerations.
- The Justice for All Initiative Statewide Strategic Planning Process that has been proposed and, if applicable, an appropriate budget for the project.

2. The Task Force shall meet periodically at the call of the Task Force Chair and shall submit recommendations to the Commission, the Supreme Court of Texas, and the State Bar of Texas no later than October 31, 2020. The first Task Force meeting shall occur no later than March 31, 2020.

3. The Task Force may create workgroups, as needed, to carry out its charges, and may make recommendations to the Executive Committee of the Commission regarding the need for reauthorization, additional reports, or changes to the Task Force's structure or membership.

4. The Administration & Budget Task Force's membership shall include:

- Lisa Hobbs, Commissioner of the Texas Access to Justice Commission
- Roland Johnson, Commissioner of the Texas Access to Justice Commission
- Michael Massengale, Commissioner of the Texas Access to Justice Commission
- Betty Balli-Torres, Executive Director, Texas Access to Justice Foundation
- Deborah Hankinson, Incoming Chair, Texas Access to Justice Foundation
- Lisa Tatum, Board Member, Texas Access to Justice Foundation
- Carlos M. Zaffirini, Jr., Board Member, Texas Access to Justice Foundation
- Don Jones, Assistant General Counsel & Division Director, State Bar of Texas
- Robert Doggett, Executive Director, Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
- Karen Miller, Executive Director, Texas Legal Services Center

5. Deborah Hankinson shall chair the Task Force, and Michael Massengale shall serve as vice chair.

6. The members of the Task Force shall serve through October 31, 2020, unless further ordered by the Court.

7. Task Force participation is voluntary in nature, and the State Bar of Texas shall pay any meeting and/or travel expenses in accordance with the State Bar of Texas's fiscal policies.

SIGNED this 21st day of February, 2020.

an L. Hecht, Chief Justice Na

(mm) t

Paul W. Green, Justice

/ Eva M. Guzman, Justice

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice

Boyd, Justic S

n P. Devine, Justic Joh

klock, Justice Jar

Surlay ce . Brett Busby, Justice

Jane N. Bland, Justice

Misc. Docket No. 20-9027

Page 3