## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 17-9100

## IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 17-011

## EMERGENCY ORDER AUTHORIZING THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW OF ARANSAS COUNTY TO CONDUCT PROCEEDINGS TEMPORARILY IN SAN PATRICIO COUNTY

## **ORDERED** that:

- 1. Hurricane Harvey struck the Texas coast on August 25, 2017. To date, Governor Abbott has declared a state of disaster in 54 counties, including Aransas County.
- 2. On information that the County Court at Law of Aransas County is hindered in conducting proceedings in that county because of disaster conditions, including the lack of electricity and Internet access, that may persist for an extended time, and at the request of the Honorable Richard Bianchi, presiding judge of the court, the court is authorized to conduct proceedings in cases filed in the court, except jury trials, in San Patricio County as if sitting in Aransas County, effective this date, and pending further Order of the Courts.
- 3. This Order does not preclude the court from also conducting proceedings in Aransas County as conditions permit.

- 4. This Order is issued pursuant to Section 22.0035(b)<sup>1</sup> of the Texas Government Code, and expires September 29, 2017, unless extended by the Courts.
  - 5. The Clerks of the Supreme Court and the Court of Criminal Appeals are directed to:
    - a. post a copy of this Order on www.txcourts.gov;
    - b. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State; and
  - c. send a copy of this Order to the Governor, the Attorney General, and each member of the Legislature.
- 6. The State Bar of Texas is directed to take all reasonable steps to notify members of the Texas bar of this Order.

Dated: August 30, 2017

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> "Notwithstanding any other statute, the supreme court may modify or suspend procedures for the conduct of any court proceeding affected by a disaster during the pendency of a disaster declared by the governor. An order under this section may not extend for more than 30 days from the date the order was signed unless renewed by the supreme court."

Hecht, Chief Justice Eva M. Guzman, Justice John P. Devine, Justice Brown, Justice

Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge

Revin P. Yeary, Judge

Michael Keasler, Judge

Barbara Hervey, Judge

Elsa Alcala, Judge

Bert Richardson, Judge

Kevin P. Yeary, Judge

Revin P. Yeary, Judge

David Newell, Judge

Mary Ilou Keel, Judge

Scott Walker, Judge