## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 99- 9167

## SUPREME COURT RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## **ORDERED:**

1. The Court's Orders establishing the Supreme Court Advisory Committee, issued in Misc. Docket Nos. 93-0134 (August 30, 1993), 94-9030 (February 14, 1994), 94-9087 (June 21, 1994), and 94-9107 (August 5, 1994), are vacated, and the following Order is substituted:

The Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee, first created in 1939 and reconstituted at various times since then, assists the Supreme Court in the continuing study, review and development of rules and procedures for the courts of Texas, taking into consideration the rules and procedures of other courts in the United States and proposals for changes from whatever source received. The Committee solicits, summarizes and reports to the Court the views of the bar and the public on court rules and procedures, and makes recommendations for change. The Court is not bound by the Committee's recommendations.

The meetings of the Committee are open to the public, and a record is made of all its proceedings. The Office of Court Administration serves as Secretariat for the Committee. The expenses of the Committee are paid from funds appropriated by the Legislature, or by the State Bar of Texas.

Members of the Committee are appointed by the Supreme Court, which shall from time to time determine their number, qualifications and terms of service. A Chair appointed by the Court to serve at its pleasure calls meetings with the approval of the Court, prepares an agenda in advance of each meeting, and presides over the meetings. The Court and each Committee member are given the proposals, drafts and other materials to be discussed at each meeting.

2. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee from the date of this Order until December 31, 2002:

Prof. Alexandra W. Albrigh	t Austin	Tommy Jacks	Austin
Charles L. Babcock	Dallas	Wallace Jefferson	San Antonio
Pamela Stanton Baron	Austin	Joseph Latting Jr.	Austin
Hon. Scott A. Brister	Houston	Gilbert I. Low	Beaumont
Hon. Harvey Brown	Houston	John H. Martin	Dallas
Prof. Elaine A. G. Carlson	Houston	Hon. Ann Crawford McClure	El Paso
Carlyle H. Chapman, Jr.	Dallas	Hon. F. Scott McCown	Austin
Nina Cortell	Dallas	Anne McNamara	Dallas
Prof. William V. Dorsaneo	III Dallas	Robert E. Meadows	Houston
Ralph H. Duggins	Fort Worth	Hon. Samuel A. Medina	Lubbock
Hon. Sarah B. Duncan	San Antonio	Richard R. Orsinger	San Antonio
Linda Eads	Austin	Hon. David Peeples	San Antonio
William R. Edwards	Corpus Christi	Hon. Bill Rhea	Dallas
Cindy Ann Lopez Garcia	Harlingen	Luther H. Soules	San Antonio
O.C. Hamilton Jr.	McAllen	Stephen D. Susman	Houston
Hartley Hampton	Houston	Paula Sweeney	Dallas
Hon. Phil Hardberger	San Antonio	Stephen G. Tipps	Houston
Michael A. Hatchell	Tyler	Charles R. Watson, Jr.	<b>Amarillo</b>
Frank Hill	Arlington	Stephen Yelenosky	Austin

- 3. The following persons are appointed *ex officio* members of the Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Court:
- a Member of the Court of Criminal Appeals designated by that Court;
- a lawyer designated by the Lieutenant Governor;
- a lawyer designated by the Speaker of the House;
- a Chief Justice of a Court of Appeals designated by the Chief Justices of the Courts of Appeals of Texas;
- a justice of the peace designated by the president of the Texas Justice of the Peace and Constables Association;
- a clerk of a Court of Appeals of Texas designated by the Chief Justices of the Courts of Appeals of Texas;

- a district clerk and a county clerk designated by the president of the County and District Clerks' Association of Texas;
- a court reporter designated by the president of the Texas Court Reporters Association; and
- a member of the State Bar of Texas Administration of Rules of Evidence Committee, Appellate Section, Litigation Section, and Family Law Section designated by the chair of each such group, respectively.
- 4. Charles L. Babcock of Dallas is appointed chairman of the Committee. Gilbert I. Low is appointed vice-chairman of the Committee.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this 7th day of September, 1999.

Thomas R. Mully
Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
Vatteau G. Selt
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
Cy front
Craig T. Enoch, Justice
Privilla R. Ewen
Priscilla R. Owen, Justice
ton all a
MIMOLOMA
James A. Baker, Justice
James A. Baker, Justice  Greg Abbott, Justice
Greg Abbott, Justice  Lelinar J. Hankinson
Greg Abbott, Justice
Greg Abbott, Justice  Lelinar J. Hankinson
Greg Abbott, Justice  Lelinar J. Hankinson
Greg Abbott, Justice  Selsan J. Hankinson, Justice  James O. Mell