## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 98- 9179

## ORDER APPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE JUDICIAL CAMPAIGN FINANCE STUDY COMMITTEE

## **ORDERED** that:

- 1. To determine whether the Supreme Court of Texas can improve the administration of justice by promulgating or amending rules that bear upon judicial campaign finance, the Court, pursuant to Article V, Section 31 of the Texas Constitution and Section 74.007 of the Texas Government Code, creates the Judicial Campaign Finance Study Committee.
- 2. The following persons are appointed to the Committee: Lisa Blue, Esq.; James E. Coleman, Jr., Esq.; Hon. Rex Davis; Wayne Fisher, Esq.; Hon. David Godbey; Michael A. Hatchell, Esq.; Hon. Katie Kennedy; Jorge C. Rangel, Esq.; and Harry Reasoner, Esq.
- 3. The Committee should include in its considerations: the 1998 American Bar Association Report on Lawyers' Political Contributions, Part II; the 1997 Report of the Texas Commission on Judicial Efficiency, Recommendation 19; and the 1993 Report of the Texas Ethics Commission.
- 4. The Committee may also recommend legislative initiatives in addition to or in support of rules changes. Any change in the judicial selection system that could be implemented only through a constitutional amendment is beyond the scope of the Committee's charge.
- 5. The Committee should confer by November 15, 1998, and select a chair, and should make a final report to the Court, orally or in writing, by February 1, 1999.
  - 6. The Court's liaison to the Committee is Chief Justice Phillips.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this	day of October, 1998.
	Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
	Raul A. Gonzalez, Pastico
	Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
	Sant
	Craig T. Enock, Justice  Wellow
	Rose Spector, Justice
	Priscilla R. Owen, Justice
	James A. Baker, Justice
	Greg Abbott, Justice
	Deborah G. Hankinson, Justice