IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 94- 9175

ORDER APPOINTING GENDER BIAS REFORM IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE

The Supreme Court appointed a Gender Bias Task Force in 1991 to investigate the existence of gender bias in the legal system and to recommend measures for its reduction and eventual elimination. The first recommendation in the Task Force's 1994 Final Report is the appointment by the Supreme Court of a committee to implement the recommendations of the Task Force.

The committee appointed in today's order is charged with planning, overseeing, and monitoring implementation, subject to the Court's approval, of the recommendations of the Task Force as well as other policies and procedures for the elimination of gender bias in the Texas legal system.

The Supreme Court hereby appoints the following persons to the Gender Bias Reform Implementation Committee:

- 1) Charlie Baird, Austin
- 3) Jonita Boyd Borchadt, Denton
- 5) Coye Connor, Jr., Tyler
- 7) Stewart Gagnon, Houston
- 9) Richard Barajas, El Paso
- 11) Julie Oliver, Austin
- 13) Lupe Rivera, El Paso
- 15) Scott Smith, Austin

- 2) Marialyn Barnard, San Antonio
- 4) Lynn Carter, Austin
- 6) Berry Crowley, Austin
- 8) Patricia Hair, Houston
- 10) Hope Lochridge, Austin
- 12) Mary Sean O'Reilly, Fort Worth
- 14) Barbara Rosenberg, Dallas
- 16) Mari Kay Bickett, Austin

Supreme Court Liaison: John Cornyn, Austin

In Chambers, this _	18 th day	of October	er, 1994.
			Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
			Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice
			John Highten Justice
		•	Jack Hightower, Justice
			Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
			Lloyd Doggett, Justice
			John Cornyn, Justice
			Bob Gammage, Justice
			Craig Enoch, Justice
		•	Rose Spector, Justice

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 94-9175

ORDER APPOINTING ADDITIONAL MEMBERS TO THE GENDER BIAS REFORM IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE

The Supreme Court appointed a Gender Bias Task Force in 1991 to investigate the existence of gender bias in the legal system and to recommend measures for its reduction and eventual elimination. The first recommendation in the Task Force's 1994 Final Report was the appointment by the Supreme Court of a committee to implement the recommendations of the Task Force. An Implementation Committee was appointed by order dated October 18, 1994, and an additional consultative committee was also formed.

At the first joint meeting of these two committees, it was the consensus of the group that the two committees should be combined, and the Court agrees. Further, two members of the original committee are unable to serve. Today's order reflects these changes in the membership of the committee. The charge of the committee as expanded remains unchanged. It is charged with planning, overseeing, and monitoring implementation, subject to the Court's approval, of the recommendations of the Task Force as well as other policies and procedures for the elimination of gender bias in the Texas legal system.

The Gender Bias Reform Implementation Committee is as follows:

- 1) The Honorable Charles F. Baird, Austin
- 2) The Honorable Richard Barajas, El Paso
- 3) Carol Barger, Dallas
- 4) Leticia Barguiarena, Brownsville
- 5) The Honorable Marialyn Barnard, San Antonio
- 6) Mari Kay Bickett, Austin
- 7) Jonita Boyd Borchardt, Denton
- 8) Lynn Carter, Austin
- 9) Ellen R. Cohen, Houston
- 10) Coye Conner, Jr., Tyler
- 11) Lori Cook, Austin
- 12) Toya Circia Cook, Austin
- 13) Douglas O. Crewse, Plano
- 14) Lisa Todd Crewse, Plano
- 15) Berry Crowley, Austin
- 16) Brian East, Austin
- 17) Harriet Joan Ehrlich, Houston
- 18) Stewart Gagnon, Houston
- 19) Ann Graham, Austin
- 20) The Honorable Merrill Hartman, Dallas
- 21) The Honorable Wyatt Heard, Houston
- 22) Professor Amy Kastely, San Antonio
- 23) Hope Lochridge, Austin
- 24) Carolyn F. Moore, Lubbock
- 25) The Honorable Harriett Murphy, Austin
- 26) Julie Oliver, Austin
- 27) The Honorable Mary Sean O'Reilly, Fort Worth
- 28) Jacqueline Rixen, Austin
- 29) Iris Robinson, Houston
- 30) The Honorable Barbara E. Rosenberg, Dallas
- 31) Roger Rountree, San Marcos
- 32) Professor John J. Sampson, Austin
- 33) Audrey Selden, Austin
- 34) Professor Malinda Seymore, Irving
- 35) Norma Levine Trusch, Houston
- 36) Kathryn J. Tullos, Austin

Supreme Court Liaison: Priscilla R. Owen, Austin

As ordered by the Supreme Court of Texas in Chambers, this 23 RD day of February, 1995.

Danies R. Philles
Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice
Jack Hightower, Justice
Atthan Selt
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
Loh (ormy
John Cornyn, Justice
15/20 and
Bob Gammage, Justice
Col Soul
Craig Enoch, Justice
Rose Spector.
Rose Spector/Justice
Minilla G. Owen Priscilla R. Owen, Justice
riischia K. Owell, justice