IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 91-0048

APPOINTMENT OF TASK FORCES TO CONSIDER CHANGES IN THE RULES OF PROCEDURE IN TEXAS COURTS

ORDERED:

To assist the Supreme Court in determining whether changes should be made in the rules of procedure in Texas courts:

1. The following persons are appointed as a Task Force on Sanctions to study, to consult with such other interested persons as may seem appropriate, and to report to the Rules Advisory Committee as soon as practicable what changes, if any, should be made in the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure governing the imposition of sanctions:

Charles F. Herring, Jr., Chairman

Lisa Blue
Herbert Boyland
Hon. Scott A. Brister
Carlyle H. Chapman, Jr.

Elizabeth A. Crabb Russell H. McMains Elizabeth G. Thornburg

Robert A. Valadez

2. The following persons are appointed as a Task Force on Discovery to study, to consult with such other interested persons as may seem appropriate, and to report to the Rules Advisory Committee what changes, if any, should be made in the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure governing the scope and conduct of discovery:

David W. Keltner, Chairman

Paul N. Gold
Mark L. Kincaid
Hon. Bonnie Leggat
James W. McCartney
David L. Perry

William Powers, Jr.
Dan R. Price
Eduardo R. Rodriguez
James B. Sales
Jonathan W. Vickery

3. The following persons are appointed as a Task Force on the Jury Charge to study, to consult with such other interested persons as may seem appropriate, and to report to the Rules Advisory Committee what changes, if any, should be made in the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure governing the jury charge:

Hon. Ann Tyrrell Cochran, Chairman

George W. Bramblett, Jr.

Michael A. Hatchell

Daniel K. Hedges

John G. Lewis

Richard R. Orsinger

Jorge C. Rangel

P. Michael Jung Paula Sweeney

4. The following persons are appointed as a Task Force on Revision of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure to study, to consult with such other interested persons as may seem appropriate, and to report directly to the Supreme Court as soon as practicable whether those rules should be recodified into a more coherent and easily usable body, either with or without substantive change:

William V. Dorsaneo III, Chairman

Alexandra W. Albright Fred Hagans
James W. Cannon, Jr. Hon. Lynn N. Hughes
David E. Chamberlain David Lopez
John C. Chambers Linda Turley

- 5. Luther H. Soules III, chairman of the Rules Advisory Committee, is appointed an ex officio member of each task force.
- 6. Hon. Nathan L. Hecht is appointed liaison from the Supreme Court to each task force.
- 7. Each task force should identify issues within the scope of its charge, research relevant materials, and report both recommendations and divergent views. The Court may, from time to time, modify the charge of each task force.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this $\cancel{1944}$ day of June, 1991.

Thomas R. Plullin
Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
Ral a Songder
Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice
Chan I I have
Oscar H. Mauzy, Justice
Come A. Cal
Eugene A. Cook, Justice
Je Wille
Jack Hightower, Justice
Votton C. Sicht
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
Lloyd Doggett, Justice
Lloyd Doggett, Justice
Lohn (omp
John Cornyn, Justice
Sol James
Bob Gammage, Justice