## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 03-9023

## SUPREME COURT RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## **ORDERED:**

1. The Court's Orders establishing the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee, issued in Misc. Docket Nos. 99-9167 (September 7, 1999) and 00-9057 (April 4, 2000) are vacated, and the following Order is substituted:

The Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee, first created in 1940 and reconstituted at various times since then, assists the Supreme Court in the continuing study, review, and development of rules and procedures for the courts of Texas, taking into consideration the rules and procedures of other courts in the United States and proposals for changes from whatever source received. The Committee drafts rules as directed by the Court; solicits, summarizes, and reports to the Court the views of the bar and the public on court rules and procedures; and makes recommendations for change. The Court is not bound by the Committee's recommendations.

The meetings of the Committee are held after public notice and are open to the public. A record is made of all Committee proceedings. The Office of Court Administration serves as Secretariat for the Committee. The expenses of the Committee are paid from funds appropriated by the Legislature, or by the State Bar of Texas.

Members of the Committee are appointed by the Supreme Court, which shall from time to time determine their number, qualifications, and terms of service. A Chair appointed by the Court to serve at its pleasure calls meetings with the approval of the Court, prepares an agenda in advance of each meeting, and presides over the meetings. The Court and each Committee member are given the proposals, drafts, and other materials to be discussed at each meeting.

2. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee from the date of this Order until December 31, 2005:

Prof. Alexandra W. Albright	Austin	David Jackson	Dallas
Charles L. Babcock	Dallas	Lamont Jefferson	San Antonio
Pamela Stanton Baron	$\Lambda$ ustin	Hon. Terry Jennings	Houston
Hon. Levi Benton	Houston	Hon. Tom Lawrence	Humble
Hon. Jane Bland	Houston	Hon. Carlos Lopez	Dallas
Jeffrey S. Boyd	Austin	Gilbert I. Low	Beaumont
Hon. Scott A. Brister	Houston	John H. Martin	Dallas
Harvey Brown	Houston	Anne McNamara	Dallas
Prof. Elaine A. G. Carlson	Houston	Robert E. Meadows	Houston
Hon. Tracy E. Christopher	Houston	Richard G. Munzinger	El Paso
Nina Cortell	Dallas	Richard R. Orsinger	San Antonio
Alistair B. Dawson	Houston	Hon. Jan Patterson	Austin
Prof. William V. Dorsaneo II	I Dallas	Hon. David Peeples	San Antonio
Ralph H. Duggins	Fort Worth	Robert H. Pemberton	Austin
Hon. Sarah B. Duncan	San Antonio	Pete Schenkkan	Austin
William R. Edwards	Corpus Christi	Luther H. Soules	San Antonio
Hon. David B. Gaultney	Beaumont	Kent C. Sullivan	Houston
Frank Gilstrap	Arlington	Stephen D. Susman	Houston
Hon. Tom Gray	Waco	Paula Sweeney	Dallas
W. Wendell Hall	San Antonio	Stephen G. Tipps	Houston
O.C. Hamilton Jr.	McAllen	Robert A. Valadez	San Antonio
Hon. Andy Harwell	Waco	Charles R. Watson, Jr.	Amarillo
Michael A. Hatchell	Tyler	Hon. Bonnie Wolbrueck	Georgetown
Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa	McAllen	Stephen Yelenosky	Austin
Tommy Jacks	Austin		

- 3. The following persons are appointed *ex officio* members of the Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Court: a Member of the Court of Criminal Appeals designated by that Court; a lawyer designated by the Lieutenant Governor; and a lawyer designated by the Speaker of the House.
- 4. Charles L. Babcock of Dallas is appointed chairman of the Committee. Gilbert I. Low is appointed vice-chairman of the Committee.
- 5. The Court's liaison to the Committee is Justice Nathan L. Hecht. The deputy liaison is Justice Wallace B. Jefferson

## SIGNED AND ENTERED this 2nd day of April 2003.

Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
Vetteau L. Lelet
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
- Davil
Craig T. Enoch, Justice
Priscilla R. Owen
Priscilla R. Owen, Justice
Harriet O'Neill, Justice
Wallace B. Jefferson Wellace B. Jefferson
Wallace B. Jefferson ///
Michael H. Schneider
Steven Wayne Smith
J. Call Winnight
S. Dale Wainwright